Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder on a Summer's Day
This is the fifth book in the Kate Shackleton mystery series set in nineteen twenties Yorkshire. Kate, a young widow, is a private detective specialising in missing people. She receives a phone call from her cousin, James, who works for the India Office and who wants her to find a missing Maharajah without making too much fuss about it. Not the easiest of tasks and Kate...
Published 9 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A slow read
Good on period detail and atmosphere. Am a Kate Shackelton fan and as usual she writes very well but this time the plot did not sustain my interest.
Published 3 months ago by Elspeth Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder on a Summer's Day, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the fifth book in the Kate Shackleton mystery series set in nineteen twenties Yorkshire. Kate, a young widow, is a private detective specialising in missing people. She receives a phone call from her cousin, James, who works for the India Office and who wants her to find a missing Maharajah without making too much fuss about it. Not the easiest of tasks and Kate finds the secrecy aspects of the case somewhat irksome.

I enjoyed this well written and interesting mystery. It brings a forgotten era vividly to life and also shows ordinary people going about their lives. I thought the descriptions of the Maharajah's relatives' entourages were very good and I could imagine the tents and the gorgeous silks, carpets, and clothes. I liked the way the characters interacted and I like Kate herself and the way she works.

This series can be read in any order or as standalone novels but if you read them in order then you can follow Kate's development and the way her job has grown. The first book in the series was Dying In The Wool: Number 1 in series (Kate Shackleton Mysteries)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. D. L. Kelly (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder on a Summer's Day: Number 5 in series (Kate Shackleton Mysteries) (Paperback)
I think this was the best so far of books about Kate . I enjoyed the setting because I know Bolton Abbey well - an interesting read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Jan 2014
By 
This is the best in the series so far. I can't wait for the next one. The storyline really draws you in. The characters are really believable and once again I did not guess till very near the end who the murderer was and why. The history factor running alongside the story is very well intertwined and adds to the storyline a lot of believability. I cannot praise this writer strong enough her books are really well written and I highly recommend this series and this book in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings the 1920's Era to Life, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Colbert (Blackburn, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder on a Summer's Day: Number 5 in series (Kate Shackleton Mysteries) (Paperback)
What a delight to be back in the company of First World War widow and amateur sleuth Kate Shackleton in this tale of murdered Maharajahs, a feisty fiance, a missing diamond and royal rivalries all in the heart of the beautiful Yorkshire countryside.

This is the 5th book in the series -- I've read and enjoyed the first two -- Dying In The Wool: Number 1 in series (Kate Shackleton Mysteries) and A Medal For Murder: Number 2 in series (Kate Shackleton Mysteries).

Tasked with finding a missing Maharajah, Kate is the perfect person to question people without them realising they're being questioned, she draws people out, they trust her and she's very persistent. She's an extremely likeable heroine and I enjoy the way she thinks things out carefully and deliberately.

While out shooting the Maharajah had shot and killed a white doe, an act of sacrilege in this superstitious village and some people were not surprised when he was found dead, but who was the killer and why would anyone want him dead?

Frances Brody's delightful writing brings the era of the 1920's to life, the plot was entertaining with some twists and turns and suspects aplenty. I did not guess the killer's identity.

Even though I haven't read all the books in this series I still found it easy to follow Kate's progress and mentions are made throughout the book to Kate's situation so I think this could be read on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A slow read, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good on period detail and atmosphere. Am a Kate Shackelton fan and as usual she writes very well but this time the plot did not sustain my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good murder mystery set in the twenties, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder on a Summer's Day: Number 5 in series (Kate Shackleton Mysteries) (Paperback)
A good read for those of us who love a murder mystery without too much blood and gore and with a sense of humour! well set and researched into the period between the two world wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well written, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this author improves book by book. She portrays the area and its inhabitants very well and interweaves an alien culture with great subtlety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kate Shackleton, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very believable heroine. If you are a fan of The Hon Daisy Dalrymple I think you will be a fan Kate Shackleton. Very well written and interesting plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the Kate Shackleton books are interesting, well written and reliable credible plots, evocative of the era they portray so well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder on a summers day, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent story lots of twists and turns a good read, I will definitely read more of Frances Brody`s books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder on a Summer's Day: Number 5 in series (Kate Shackleton Mysteries)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews