Customer Reviews


363 Reviews
5 star:
 (279)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon
Mma Makutsi has some happy news which may affect the future of the No 1 Ladies Detective Agency but she seems reluctant to talk about it. Business at the agency seems quite slack but Mma Ramotswe has two puzzling cases to tackle. A new beauty salon has opened but it seems no one wants to visit it and someone is spreading lies about it. A lawyer wonders whether someone...
Published 17 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a minor adjustment
This is another well-written novel within the series and, as always, there are episodes of charm, colour and nostalgic brilliance for all to enjoy. The developments in the lives of Mme Ramotswe and her friends continue to bring a big grin to my face and 2 cases investigated were interesting and fun. However, they felt very rushed towards the end, as if McCall Smith had...
Published 18 months ago by Daniel Park


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon, 14 Dec. 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mma Makutsi has some happy news which may affect the future of the No 1 Ladies Detective Agency but she seems reluctant to talk about it. Business at the agency seems quite slack but Mma Ramotswe has two puzzling cases to tackle. A new beauty salon has opened but it seems no one wants to visit it and someone is spreading lies about it. A lawyer wonders whether someone connected with a will she is administering is really who they say they are. Precious Ramotswe's husband - Mr J L B Maketoni - wants to be a good husband and decides to go to evening classes on the subject.

Can the characters adjust to new circumstances and can solutions be found for the current cases? This is a thoughtful and heart-warming story which demonstrates the author's marvellous knowledge of human nature. The writing is simple and down to earth but none the worse for that.

I enjoyed reading this fourteenth episode in the No 1 Ladies Detective Agency series and it is interesting to see how the characters are growing and changing - even Charlie the apprentice mechanic - seems to be showing signs of maturity. Even the prickly Mma Makutsi is becoming just a little more mellow. Simple situations, interesting and entertaining characters and human nature at its best and at its worst - the perfect ingredients for a satisfying story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Story, 27 Oct. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a delightful and worthy addition to the series, returning to the characters who continue to maintain integrity, kindness and forgiveness as paramount attributes of human nature even under difficult circumstances. A radically changing world has not yet reached Gaborone, Botswana, and the book captures the daily concerns of the protagonists perfectly. Mma Precious Ramotswe is still unassuming and perceptive with the aid of her Clovis Andersen book of detective principles, needed with her experience in the cases she has to deal with in this volume. A lawyer client asks her to look into an inheritance problem. Mma Soleti has just bought and opened the Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon and engages Mma Ramotswe to investigate a major obstacle she has encountered. The other development concerns 'associate detective', Mma Makutsi who eventually takes maternity leave.

These are really activities (apart from the maternal issues) that take second place to the unhurried pace of life and the laid back dry humour and wit reflected in the marvellous dialogue that occurs particularly between the two lady protagonists and the gracious Mr J.L.B. Matekoni; words and body language that need care to avoid misinterpretation but when this does happen the results are often even more amusing.

There is nothing complex in this book and the tales are of ordinary resourceful characters who collectively provide the reader with such pleasure and enjoyment with a feel-good factor, thanks to the author's excellent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read each book in the No. I Ladies Detective Agency and I feel I have a vested interest in all the characters in the book. This latest book has, as always, been a fun read and I love the bits of wisdom that are said by some of the characters especially our Precious and not forgetting Grace Makutsi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs a minor adjustment, 17 Nov. 2013
By 
Daniel Park "danielpark99" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is another well-written novel within the series and, as always, there are episodes of charm, colour and nostalgic brilliance for all to enjoy. The developments in the lives of Mme Ramotswe and her friends continue to bring a big grin to my face and 2 cases investigated were interesting and fun. However, they felt very rushed towards the end, as if McCall Smith had been asked to heavily edit the book in order to reduce its size and so there was a certain hollowness to the close of the book which was rather upsetting. If it needed editing, why not just a minor adjustment?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps your interest, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many of McCall Smith's recent books have been quite similar but this one sees a change of emphasis and a welcome return to writing that is engaging and interesting. The characters have moved on and it was amusing to see how Charlie was able to change so dramatically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing the magic sparkle, 15 Nov. 2013
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I feel a little like a voice in the wilderness, but I was distinctly underwhelmed by the latest outing in this much loved series. Much like Precious Ramotswe herself over the course of the story, I felt like something was missing. It had the air of having been written to fulfil a contractual obligation for another instalment rather than having arisen from a central idea. I have rated it three stars, which to me is not a negative review, but a neutral one. It's not a terrible book at all, but nor does it sparkle with the wit and energy that other books in the series have had.

As the book opens, Mma Ramotswe is about to discover that her long term offsider Mma Makutsi is expecting a child. The baby arrives without much delay, which means that Mma Makutsi is absent for much of the novel. Mma Ramotswe has two cases to investigate: a series of threats against the proprietor of a new beauty salon, and a question over the identity of the heir to a large inheritance. The arrival of a baby also gives Mma Ramotswe and Mr J.L.B. Matekoni reason to think about their own family and the dynamics within it. There is also an appearance by Phuti Radiphuti's meddlesome aunt, which I enjoyed.

This is a sweet book, but as I mentioned above, it didn't really come to life for me. Usually I read the books in this series quite quickly, but I kept losing interest in this one. Both of the mysteries were quite predictable and for whatever reason the charm was largely absent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could use a different title, 22 Oct. 2013
I too am a big fan of both the author and this series, but I was a little disappointed with this book, simply because of the title that was chosen for it. I don't want to give away anything for people who haven't read it yet, so will try to be a bit 'guarded' in my criticism. The book itself was as great as all the others in this series and I don't have any criticisms about the story itself. But since the main focus of the book is not reflected by the title, I think the publisher should have given it a different title. The focus of the largest part of the book is not on the beauty salon, and the 'problem' regarding the salon is swiftly resolved only at the very end of the book in a rather quick way. It's almost as if, after writing the rest of the book, the author realized he had to hurry up & resolve the question and did it as quickly as possible. I think he could have worked the salon into the story a bit more in order to warrant having given the book this title. But Precious and her 'associate' and all the other characters are as lovable as always, and I did enjoy the book immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency) (Paperback)
Although I enjoyed this book it was not one of the best reads in the series. I have also noticed that the quality of print and paper used is not as good in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good relaxing read, 1 Jan. 2014
By 
May Rose (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An easy book to read. I was a bit disappointed that many of the pages contained information from the other books, new to a new reader of these books but just repetitive for me who has read them all.
Therefore there was not a lot of room left for enough new stories for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reflective and feelgood at its best!, 3 Nov. 2013
By 
Anne Karin Kandal "annkan" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The last couple of "Ladies' Detective Agency" books were somewhat disappointing - as if the writer didn't really have any more ideas and just wrote to continue the series. There were too many longish passages about Botswana and cows and the late Obed Ramotswe.
In this book, however, he's "back to standard"; Obed and the cows are still there, but in more moderate portions (and they belong there, of course ! ) And the two Mmas, Ramotswe and Makutsi, have both "come to life" again.
As always , it's not really the plot that makes the book, but the descriptions of the persons, their reflections and their relationships to each other.
The introduction of Mma Makutsi' s baby is a good idea and gives room for more development. The same can be said about Mma Ramotswe's decision at the end of the book ; to invite her "assistant" to become a co-owner of the bureau. And I mustn't forget apprentice Charles' change in attitude when meeting the new baby...I
I am already looking forward to the next book. If something deserves to be called "feelgood", it's McCall Smith's books about Mma Ramotswe & co - and I mean that entirely positively !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency)
The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency) by Alexander McCall Smith (Paperback - 18 Feb. 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews