Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dream a Little Dream
Iain Banks first novel, The Wasp Factory, was published in 1984. In the years since, he's won critical acclaim, topped best-seller lists and has even written Science Fiction books under the cunning nom-de-plume 'Iain M. Banks'. He's also seen this book, "The Crow Road", adapted for television by the BBC in 1996. "Canal Dreams" is his fifth non sci-fi book and was first...
Published on 1 May 2006 by Craobh Rua

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awkward thriller
Canal Dreams concerns a cello player scared of flying, who during a trip through the Panama Canal unwittingly ends up caught between revolutionaries and American special forces operatives. The basic scenario of this thriller is a good one, and the plight of the hostages stranded in the Panama Canal should result in a tense novel, but for some reason Canal Dreams never...
Published on 3 Nov 2005 by Jane Aland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awkward thriller, 3 Nov 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Canal Dreams (Paperback)
Canal Dreams concerns a cello player scared of flying, who during a trip through the Panama Canal unwittingly ends up caught between revolutionaries and American special forces operatives. The basic scenario of this thriller is a good one, and the plight of the hostages stranded in the Panama Canal should result in a tense novel, but for some reason Canal Dreams never really comes to life. Probably the main culprit is the heroine Hisako, whose status as both a concert cellist and a martial artist able to kill with one strike is a little unlikely. Banks seems keen to explore what happens to people under extreme pressure – do they go meekly to their deaths or fight? It’s a good angle for a novel, but unfortunately due to her background Hisako is a very cold unemotional character who never really connects with the reader, and for all the pyrotechnics the action scenes never really come to life. Canal Dreams isn’t a bad book – there are plenty of nice moments in Banks writing to keep the pages turning, but compared to his other novels this is a rather flat and unengaging work. For Banks completists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dream a Little Dream, 1 May 2006
This review is from: Canal Dreams (Paperback)
Iain Banks first novel, The Wasp Factory, was published in 1984. In the years since, he's won critical acclaim, topped best-seller lists and has even written Science Fiction books under the cunning nom-de-plume 'Iain M. Banks'. He's also seen this book, "The Crow Road", adapted for television by the BBC in 1996. "Canal Dreams" is his fifth non sci-fi book and was first published in 1989.

The book's central character is Hisako Onoda, a world-famous cellist. As the book opens, Hisako is en-route from Japan to Europe, where she's due to perform in a series of concerts. However, as she's terrified of flying, she's making the journey by boat. Having travelled to Honolulu on the Gassam Maru, she then boarded the Nakodo - which was due to take her to Rotterdam via the Panama Canal. Unfortunately, due to `civil unrest' in the region - armed conflict between guerrilla fighters and government forces - the canal has been closed. Fro the moment, the Nakodo and two other ships are essentially trapped on Gat¿n Lake. Although they are hoping for the all-clear to continue their journey soon, the conflict I, unfortunately, coming closer.

There are elements of a thriller to "Canal Dreams", but the strength of the book lies in telling Hisako's story. She is a very well-developed character, though her past in only gradually given away - the book jumps backwards and forwards, looking at some of the key events of Hisako's life. It's a method that may take a little getting used to - especially if you haven't read anything by Banks before. However, for me, I felt it really added to the enjoyment of the book. Hisako's travelling companions aren't so well developed, and little is told of their lives, thoughts or motivations. However, as "Canal Dreams" doesn't set out to tell their stories this really isn't a problem - and I would absolutely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fragile heroine pitted against the worst of human evils, 12 July 2014
This review is from: Canal Dreams (Paperback)
I have read all of Iain Banks Books, and unusually perhaps this one I have always enjoyed.

Canal Dreams tells the story of Hisako Onoda a Japanese Cello super star prodigy who when invited to play the major capitals of Europe refuses to fly, and instead chooses to take a ship from Japan. She travels as a passenger aboard across the Pacific, through the Panama canal then to the Atlantic and Europe. In the early chapters there is some mention of guerilla in Costa Rica, but this in no way prepares us for what comes next.

As she enters Panama the country is already descending into war, but caught in her world of music and plans for Europe Hisako is barely aware of this, and sleepwalks onwards despite entreaties to leave the ship and take the plane. So Hisako is still on board when the oil tanker Nakado when trapped with two other ships in the Panama Canal, becomes the subject of an attack.

I won't say more about the story, just to say this is the opening, and the tale itself is one of human frailties vis human cruelties. the female character Hisako, as with all of Iain Banks female protagonist is carefully drawn and immediately compelling. the action is as cruel and relentless as any terrorist film.

With flashbacks to Hisoka's youth in Japan and a detailed knowledge of the engineering and layout of a super tanker, this book offers both exotic locals and interesting technological details.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Physically draining!, 29 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Canal Dreams (Paperback)
As with all of Iain Banks' novels, I sat straight down and started reading avidly. This is a very different novel at the start to his other works, at first I was thinking it a weak novel, but then I found that I was being lulled into a sense of peacefulness, but still half expecting something to happen.
When it happens, Banks managed once again to take over every emotion possible, and left me feeling completely drained. This is a masterpiece of writing, if it gets you the right way.
My advice - read it from cover to cover without stopping for anything - if you dip in and out, you'll loose the mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to Banks's best, 11 May 2003
By 
Jonathan Waterlow (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canal Dreams (Paperback)
It’s often easier to approach an Iain M. Banks novel than one without the middle initial. At least with the “M” present and correct you know what genre you’re going to be reading, whereas his so-called “mainstream” work seems to take place in every conceivable genre plus a few he has created for himself.
Unlike novels such as “The Bridge” or “Walking on Glass”, “Canal Dreams” is based completely in reality. Unlike “The Crow Road” or “Dead Air”, you’d be forgiven for forgetting this fact. The story concerns a famous Japanese cellist who becomes involved in a hostage situation on board a ship unable to escape from the Panama Canal. Essentially, this book is a thriller, but because it’s Iain Banks, you get the suspicion that there’s a lot more going on under the surface than you’re actually aware of. Which is often a good thing, but in this case I couldn’t really make head nor tail of it.
I suspect, though, that “Canal Dreams” was more a satirical take on politics at the time of its publication, making it – at least to a degree – a little irrelevant here and now. Of course, you can just read this as a thriller, but to get more from this book perhaps you need to be older than me. Well, that’s enough of my naysaying – “Canal Dreams” is a very clear, often shocking, illustration of the way life can treat you in very unexpected ways, and just how fragile our lives truly are. Banks keeps the events described realistic right up until the end… without giving away what happens, just bear in mind that the central character’s final actions are completely impossible.
There’s a great deal of tension felt when reading this book – Banks could (and does) do anything at any moment, which enhances the sense that life can and will throw anything your way whether you like it or not. High-octane is probably the best way to describe “Canal Dreams”, and in the end that’s probably all that can be fairly said of it. Simply put, this is an entertaining, well-written read, but intrinsically shallow compared to the more cerebral efforts usually on offer from Banks.
Worth a read, but don’t expect it to keep you thinking for long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good - as expected, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canal Dreams (Paperback)
This is a good book. Start out slowly and building character. And then explodes with action and surprises. I do not want to spoil it. But it is enough to say that this is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Different Travel Guide, 9 April 2013
By 
Pete D (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canal Dreams (Paperback)
I have always wanted to travel through the Panama Canal. The book started off well as a travel guide but after that got much more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work, but still a decent read, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canal Dreams (Paperback)
Interesting setting and scenario for the book. Not sure I found the main character entirely plausible and there seemed to be no credible explanation for what gave her the drive to commit the violence she was required to in the last third of the book. There were several unexplained threads too - why was the proposal of marriage by the celebrity important in any shape or form was a mystery.

Having said all that I generally enjoy Banks's work and I enjoyed this one too, despite having no dynamic twist that you normally associate with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unconvinced To Say The Least, 27 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Canal Dreams (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Iain Banks' work, but unfortunately this one just didn't do anything for me. Although it's a reasonably small book, getting through it was a real struggle. It just isn't a page turner I'm afraid.

I can't really go into much more detail than that. If you're a Banks fan, I'd say read it, but don't expect great things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Darkly dreamy, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: Canal Dreams (Kindle Edition)
Another classic from Iain Banks- evocative prose, dark twists and in Hisako, a fearsome heroine. I didn't put this down until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canal Dreams
Canal Dreams by Iain Banks (Paperback - 6 Jun 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews