Customer Reviews


425 Reviews
5 star:
 (211)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grotesque and yet compelling
Having read some of Banks' SF, and then started reading his fiction as well, I still shied away a little from reading "The Wasp Factory". It says much that the bad reviews as well as the good are included on the sleeve, and while it may sometimes not seem as extreme as you might have been lead to believe that's more through the changes to our society and what is...
Published on 28 Jun. 2001 by R. Weir

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror makes it remarkable but almost unbearable.
The Wasp Factory was originally published in 1984 and was the first novel by Ian Banks.

Told in the first person by key character 16 year old Frank Cauldhame, a thoroughly disturbed and sick young man, Frank has spent his life on a small island isolated from most of the rest of the world.

'The Wasp Factory' is Frank's account of his childhood and an...
Published 4 months ago by JK


‹ Previous | 133 34 3543 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iain Banks novel- The Wasp Factory, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iain Banks sadly has passed away recently.
Everybody should have at least one or two of his brilliant novels on their bookshelves.
Try this one- his first novel from 1984 and see what you think.
'A Gothic horror story of quite exceptional quality ... macabre, bizarre and quite impossible to put down.' The Financial Times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wasp factory by Iain Banks, 13 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wasp Factory (Kindle Edition)
I first read the wasp factory when it was published and actually have my original copy but after the death of Iain Banks I decided to read it again but bought the kindle version.
Iain Banks was an amazing writer. I loved the wasp factory but my favourite book - I have a copy signed by the writer - is the crow road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrific, shocking and really rather good., 11 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wasp Factory (Paperback)
Iain Bank's debut novel has few flaws. The story is original; the characters are intriguing and the ending is unexpected. It is a comparatively short novel but this does not detract from it's impact. What would have been worse was if it was padded out, just to make it longer. Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wasp Factory (Kindle Edition)
yet to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring, 24 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Wasp Factory (Paperback)
a very monotonous boring book. it sets out to shock . it doesn't. it sets out to be unpleasant. and it is unpleasant-in a kind of pointless way. the supposed twist in the book was guessable from very early on. could have been cut down to a short story easily .I am amazed it got published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What went wrong?, 10 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wasp Factory (Paperback)
This book looked very promising; not least from the number of recommendations I'd received over the years, but somewhere it all went a bit wrong. It started out as an interesting and dark exposure of the life of the odd main character and narrator, failed to build on the mystery and suspense and instead opted for unnecessary descriptions of the almost daily sickening events and past actions. I think it was Tarantino that said something is only gratuitous if it's done badly. This was gratuitous. Add to this an over-contrived plot and a lack of direction and you end up with a book that tries too hard at the wrong things even if it does make up some ground in the writing style and the twists and turns of the story. Don't get me wrong, I liked the book for what it is and it has to be commended for originality but it's a long way from the classic it's often touted as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind Bending, Weird, Strange and compelling, 2 Dec. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wasp Factory (Paperback)
A book about a young boy growing up in a dysfunctional family. Whilst some descriptions are perhaps too graphic for some tastes, it is certainly not a 'sick' book as described by one reviewer. It is instead a compelling read. (The back page should NOT be glanced at before completion)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immensly Disturbing, 26 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wasp Factory (Paperback)
I had heard about this book for ages and finally decided to get it out of my local library. I read the first page not expecting much but I really got into the book. I recommend this to anyone and hope you enjoy it as much as I did. By the way don't read the back until you reach it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark but brilliant, 16 Sept. 2004
This review is from: The Wasp Factory (Paperback)
This is indeed a very disturbing book, but it is also a very powerful one and, perhaps most of all, it is a very funny one. I would recommend it to anyone who likes to be surprised by what they read, I enjoyed it so much I'm immediately starting on Dead Air by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a book that keeps you guessing all the way through, 5 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wasp Factory (Paperback)
The book was a written like it was a sort of game by letting littel bits of information seep through. It seemed like there were two stories going on at the same time eg the stories of his physco brother coming home and the narrators tale. but it kept you guessing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 133 34 3543 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wasp Factory
The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks (Paperback - 27 Jun. 2013)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews