Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable
The Charming Quirks of Others is the 7th in the Isabel Dalhousie series by Alexander McCall Smith. Isabel has quite a bit on her plate: getting another edition of the Review of Applied Ethics published; looking into a poison-pen letter making accusations about applicants for the principal's position of an illustrious boys' school; dealing with a pretty cellist who has...
Published on 27 Nov. 2011 by Cloggie Downunder

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The charm runs out of steam
I got this out from the library and really hoped to enjoy reading it over the weekend. However, I found that I had to force myself to read on. The plot is simply too thin, and I do get irritated with Isabel for having so much money that she can afford to buy a Raeburn painting, and, presumably, most anything else she wants. Call it envy!
I agree with a previous...
Published on 21 Nov. 2010 by H. Petre


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 20 April 2013
By 
Mr. M. R. Rix (england devon ottery st mary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charming Quirks Of Others: 7 (Isabel Dalhousie Novels) (Paperback)
wife loves this author and all his books and has yet to tell me of a duff read or boring story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ne, 17 Jan. 2015
By 
Ms. J. Harris "poppy" (croydon england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
McCall sMITH never writes a bad one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charming Quirks Of Others: 7 (Isabel Dalhousie Novels) (Paperback)
his best yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, good read, 14 April 2011
I received a speedy service from the seller. The book was in excellent condition, and I was able to enjoy a good read from my favourite author. Great book, did not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Charming Quirks Of Others, 21 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Charming Quirks Of Others: 7 (Isabel Dalhousie Novels) (Paperback)
Delivered fast, safe and sound. It's a book with a front and a back and has pages and everything .... my wife yet to read all the words but it looks as though they are all there, firmly attached to the pages and in the right order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Charming Quirks Of Others: 7 (Isabel Dalhousie Novels) (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It Ain't Me, Babe, 12 Nov. 2010
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"The Charming Quirks of Others," might, I suppose, be classified as a British mystery. It's by Alexander McCall Smith, author of the internationally popular "The No. 1 Ladies' Detective" series, which is, I believe, set in Africa, although I am just now about to start reading the first/my first in the "No. 1" series with my mystery book club, so I'll soon know for sure. But I have seen it on television!! However, "Charming Quirks" is in the author's Isabel Dalhousie series, and is, like the author, set in Edinburgh, Scotland, where the author is professor emeritus of medical law at the University of Edinburgh.

Isabel, a woman who enjoys life among those of high economic/social status is the new owner, editor, chief cook and bottle washer of the "Review of Applied Ethics." As such, you'd better believe she is capable of making judgments of moral ethics, and does so, all the time, in this book. She and her current, years' younger boyfriend, the musician Jamie, father of her 2-year old son Charlie, decide to marry within its pages. She is also asked to look into a somewhat tricky situation: the choice of a successor for the headmaster at a local boys' school. The field has been narrowed down to three men, but the committee to make the choice has received an anonymous letter that accuses an unspecified man on the short list of unspecified misdeeds in his past that would tend to disqualify him. So Isabel, clearly a discreet sort, has been asked to look discreetly into the situation.

This is actually the first book by the author that I have read, and I must say, I find it a very mild, very odd sort of mystery. We never so much as set eyes on two of the three men on the list, and never do find out that much about them. And the situation is clearly not a matter of life and death. The series, apparently, shares its Edinburgh setting with the Detective John Rebus series by Ian Rankin, best-selling Scottish progenitor, and king, according to American author James Ellroy (LA Confidential), of the tartan noir school of British mystery writing. We hear, in both series, about the shopping in Princes Street, some of the same hotels and public buildings, the Firth of Forth. But can this book be called a work of tartan noir, a school that might be defined as written by Scots, producing unusually dark and violent mysteries, leavened, somewhat, thankfully, by the darkest of Scottish humor? Hardly. The socio-economic class of Smith's heroine places it firmly within the mystery series centered on upper class twits, such as the Campion and Inspector Lynley series. In fact, I don't know the intended audience for this series, but to quote the American poet/singer/songwriter Bob Dylan, it ain't me, babe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Charming Quirks Of Others: 7 (Isabel Dalhousie Novels)
The Charming Quirks Of Others: 7 (Isabel Dalhousie Novels) by Alexander McCall Smith (Paperback - 4 Aug. 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews