Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars544
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2016
Harrowing but so good. The story flowed really well and gave me so much understanding of the war and what the prisoners went through in the Far East
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Gripping book very descriptive words.Totally recommend!! Very sad at times and happy in others which is amazing with what these men went through .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
The horrendous journey that Alistair went through is depicted graphically in this book..the starvation and punishment still with him to this day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Amazing book, not perfectly written but a stunning story! get it and read it, hard to believe one guy had such an amazing life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
Not flowery, just a heartfelt remembering of a horrific time in a mans life. A very worthwhile read, and very moving in places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
The most breathtaking book I have ever read!
A first hand, no holds barred, account as a POW in the East in WWII
Wow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Such a good book, couldn't believe the horrors those men went through, and he even managed to tell the story with a dark humour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
I cant imagine how this man and people like him survived this ordeal. Everyone should read this and nobody should ever forget the horror of war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
A must read which at this time of the year highlights why we should never forget the sacrifices of our Servicemen during the second World War .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
Wow. Have just been left speechless by this book which should be compulsory reading for every secondary school child in the UK. Fantastic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)