Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not really the book it was hyped up to be but nonetheless excellent
Tom Holland is one of my favorite authors and I am also fascinated by the rise of Islam. I was therefore very excited when the publicity started for this volume. It was hyped as some sort of daring expose of Islam's roots - a dangerous and exciting topic.

There was a long delay before the hardback came out and when my pre-ordered copy arrived I dived in...
Published 10 months ago by W Greenhalf

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting.....
I had been looking forward to this book for ages, and it seemed the publication date was subject to continuous revival backwards!
So finally having grabbed a copy of it and then awaiting an opportunity to actually read it, I have rather mixed responses to it.
Firstly, hats off to Tom Holland for grappling with what is not an uncontroversial field with few...
Published 21 months ago by Gerald T. Walford


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Important subject matter; poor scholarship, 25 Aug 2012
By 
P. S. Braterman "Chemistry Professor" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great disappointment. Not the standard os scholarship that the subject matter requires. I started reading this book with high hopes, found a number of what seemed to me to be errors, set out to find informed reviews, and came across this extremely well-informed review:

[...]

which fully confirmed my suspicions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flawed research, 29 April 2013
This review is from: In The Shadow Of The Sword: The Battle for Global Empire and the End of the Ancient World (Paperback)
Islam's real origins?

Check out the following links for opinions by University academics:
standard.co.uk/arts/book/islams-real-origins-7640194.html
independent.co.uk/hei-fi/entertainment/fear-and-fury-another-unholy-row-about-islam-8134412.html?origin=internalSearch

An academic refutation of these old expired ideas by a professional historian are to be found in chapter 3 of the book 'Discovering the Quran: A Contemporary Approach to a Veiled Text by Neal Robinson.'

Discovering the Qur'an: A Contemporary Approach to a Veiled Text
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poorly researched and written. More concerned with making money and a name for Tom Holland., 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an appalling book. There is no structure, no timeline, and the author just jumps about with his biased, anti-Islamic ramblings. Avoid at all costs.

I wanted to give it zero stars but amazon insists on at least one star for this awful drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate origins of Islam- ignoring all Arab historical information, 30 Aug 2012
Really disappointed, I was expecting a through examination of the beginnings of Islam, looking at all sources from this time. This book just appears to contain woolly time lines and views biased scrappy data. Could we have a fact based alternative view?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anti monotheistic diatribe?, 3 April 2014
By 
Michael Coleman "micole" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Shadow Of The Sword: The Battle for Global Empire and the End of the Ancient World (Paperback)
This book attempts to rubbish the foundations of the Moslem faith and at the same time lands a few punches on Judaism and Christianity. The book is not particularly well written and the research is noy htorough enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Under the Shadow of the Sword, 16 July 2012
In The Shadow Of The Sword: The Battle for Global Empire and the End of the Ancient World

Tom Holland has developed the story of Christianity at a great length in this book. I was wondering what about some story line of the title of this book?! He seems to be more interested in the miracles of Christianity at the time of Roman Emperors when the Christianity was being debated on several fronts from 3rd to 5th century AD. Rather disappointed at the misleading title of this book the story of which doesn't kick in untill one is totally bored with the story of Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Limited number of downloads, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Richard Barrett (Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did you know that Amazon limit the number of times some books can be downloaded to Kindle? Kindle app responds with a "License limit exceeded" response; no indication of what the limit is or how to "return" currently unused copies on my older devices.

This book (In the Shadow of the Sword) is one of those and I am fairly hacked off that I cannot download this book to my new iPad Mini in order to re-read it. And I am damned if I will pay to "buy" it again.

I cannot see a declaration of this on the book's product page. Had I seen that restriction in the first place I might well not have bought it.

Good book but once bitten, twice shy as far as this book's publisher and author are concerned, for future purchases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak, 1 Sep 2012
The book questions the existence of Mecca, when the author is clearly not a scholar on the region. Valley of Baca was mentioned in psalms 84- "How lovely is Your dwelling-place, O Lord of Hosts. I long, I yearn for the courts of the Lord; my body and soul shout for joy to the living God ... Happy are those who dwell in Your house; they forever praise You. Happy is the man who finds refuge in You, whose mind is on the [pilgrim] highways. They pass through the Valley of Baca, regarding it as a place of springs, as if the early rain had covered it with blessing ... Better one day in Your courts than a thousand [anywhere else"; I would rather stand at the threshold of God's house than dwell in the tents of the wicked; bakkah being the older name for mecca in the quran, the source of water being zamzam, and to reinforce the connection the verse metions baca as being a place of pilgrimage and whether or not you believe in the Bible it is accepted that it is older than the Quran and hence Makkah was in existence well before the Quran. Other pre-Islamic records of Mecca are found in Pre-Islamic Arabic poetry e.g Imru al Qays who existed a century before the Prophet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 89 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Totally inaccurate from an academic point of view, see other low comments for details, 11 Sep 2012
-Totally inaccurate from an academic point of view with the book varying from regurgitating age old refuted arguments, see other low comments for details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 295 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of contradictions and apprehensions-complete waste of time, 11 April 2012
Firstly, the title is misleading and does not represent the book or it's storyline.

As the author attempts to take a clinical view of authenticity of documentation and records of Sunnah and Ahadiths, it's start by spelling 'Sahih al-Bukhari' INCORRECTLY. I found the written has taken on a task to bitterly gone to the limits of his ability to turn the picture extremely dark and full of contradictions. There are plenty of evidences and places to be visited personally to clear one's head from such doubts. The author somehow tries to implement his grasp of the history and material but completely failed once was was through first 50 pages!!

I would not recommend it to any one as its misleading and can easily put you on wrong ideology.

My first and last read from this author. Hardly find any good references for the author- DONOT KNOW WHY TIME PUT IT AS MUST READ!

MISLEADING AND FULL OF CONTRADICTIONS & APPREHENSIONS- may be author needs to clear his head up before writing or try to find work that's within his grasp.

Regret buying it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews