Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A second "Agincourt"?'
Juliet Barker's 'Conquest' aims to provide a coherent narrative of a remarkably dramatic, but strangely neglected, era in Anglo-French history. This is no easy task. In contrast to her best-selling 'Agincourt', which essentially focused on a single campaign waged over a few months, 'Conquest' spans more than three decades. With this time-frame, it's a formidable challenge...
Published on 29 Oct. 2009 by An Englishman abroad

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Conquest
Juliet Barker's book "Conquest" carries on where her previous book "Agincourt" left off. It is an extremely thorough history of the rise and fall of the English Kingdom of France. Trouble is I just found it extremely dull.

Unlike "Agincourt" the book lacks any specific focus, instead it plods methodically through each year chronologically, making sure to...
Published 19 months ago by Neil Lennon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fleur de lis, 11 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Conquest: The English Kingdom of France in the Hundred Years War (Paperback)
An insightful account into the last few years of Henry V conquest on mainland Normandy/France, his death, the subsequent regal council which lead a mostly successful campaign, to the slow downfall upon Henry VI coming of age.

The author his really got into the mind set and motivations of the main characters (something i felt was lacking in her Agincourt book). The total war that dragged on for so many years is covered vividly and is captivating. The book reflects the huge enterprise that Henry V embarked upon with success and how his son lost it all and was far removed from his fathers character. Due to the neglect and general disinterest from Henry VI, general infighting and jockeying amongst the english hierarchy and the death and old age of the old campaigners it wasn't long before the english where on the back foot.

Intriguing period of history, brilliantly delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - In part the story of an unsung hero John Duke of Bedford, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conquest: The English Kingdom of France in the Hundred Years War (Paperback)
Found this fascinating; what happened after Agincourt a story rarely told and although Henry was still the King and key strategist up to his death in 1422, it was his brother John Duke of Bedford who picks up the mantel of strategist and continuing Henry's dream of a joint kingdom ruled from England. He does this with sound political and strategic plans and solid negotiating with key allies, notably the Duke of Burgundy. What's the book gives you is the gradual loss of interest in England and fund not being provided to carry on with Henry's plans and his dream. And finally how his son wasn't the warrior his father or for that matter his grandfather was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really fantastic book. It offers a different slant on a familiar subject. I found it complemented other books I have read, but from a purely British viewpoint. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hundred Years War research, 27 July 2010
By 
Mr. D. W. Judd "Music Man" (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conquest: The English Kingdom of France in the Hundred Years War (Paperback)
Have only just started to read this book (Conquest - The English Kingdom of France in the 100 Years War by Juliet Barker) and so far have found it very interesting. It will help me enormously with my Family History research as I have an ancestor who was involved in the 100 years war and another who was at Agincourt in 1415. I shall now be able to put some "meat on the bones" as it were with my family research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conquest: The English Kingdom of France in the Hundred Years War (Paperback)
Great book but you will need to make notes and read it loads of time because O.M.G. there is a lot of info in it. but very well written I am going to read it again when i get the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what an insight !, 10 May 2013
By 
Pc Storm (The Hague, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as a european citizen, it's amazing to learn again and again how much 'discussions' and redefinitions of borders etc have taken place in a history, that is not even that far away....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conquest: The English Kingdom of France in the Hundred Years War (Paperback)
A tv programme prompted my interest in the period and so I've been spending money on books about the British war in France. Stirring times, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernard Cornwell illustrated!, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
Biggles (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
What a terrific book, enormously informative and gives a superb sense of European context surrounding the wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars history, 22 Dec. 2009
Well worth reading.A mine of information for anyone interested in history [as I am].Must buy her previous book 'agincourt'.
Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conquest: The English Kingdom of France in the Hundred Years War
Conquest: The English Kingdom of France in the Hundred Years War by Juliet Barker (Paperback - 3 Jun. 2010)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews