Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the essence
This is a detailed account of Amelia Earhart and her flying career. There will undoubtedly be many contested details and disagreements about how accurate Mary Lovell's account is. If you are interested in the blow-by-blow description of actual flights, discussed in useful but not over-complicated detail, this is a good account to read. It seems that there are several...
Published on 5 Mar 2012 by rowebury

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Saw the movie
I wanted to be inspired but I'm finding it a bit dry having already seen the movie. Maybe skip it if you've already done the same.
Published 8 months ago by doublemac


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the essence, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amelia Earhart: The Sound of Wings (Paperback)
This is a detailed account of Amelia Earhart and her flying career. There will undoubtedly be many contested details and disagreements about how accurate Mary Lovell's account is. If you are interested in the blow-by-blow description of actual flights, discussed in useful but not over-complicated detail, this is a good account to read. It seems that there are several different ideas of what the 'Earhart phenomenon' amounted to. Which is not surprising since she was at the centre of one of the earliest 'publicity campaigns' designed to 'brand' and market a personality and an image to suit public demand (in this case, the inter-war image of 'pioneering America'). Although this aspect is not dealt with at length in this book, it is nonetheless a well-written and fascinating account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Where am I?", 17 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amelia Earhart: The Sound of Wings (Paperback)
The words Amelia uttered when in 1932 she landed in a UK field after her solo Atlantic crossing. The man nearby was very accurate: "In Gallegher's pasture." -"Have you come far?" "From America," she replied, and stunned the Irishman. Here's the amazing story of the girl from Kansas who was determined to fly, and at a time when pilots were mostly brave, daring, and male. Many of them died in their far-from-perfect aircraft. Although AE was just one of the girls who flew in the 30s (Elinor Smith flew at age 16!) she was the most famous, being loved and supported by a powerful promoter, George Putnam, who made Amelia's ambitious adventures possible. The movie is partly taken from this book, but the book tells the whole story, over 400 pages of detail. Of course the final part of the world trip is fascinating - the Howland Island mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb read, 12 Nov 2011
By 
LJDIMES "Movie Lover" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amelia Earhart: The Sound of Wings (Paperback)
A few years ago, I researched details of Amelia as I was doing a marquetry portrait of her along with her plane and route for her Atlantic solo flight. As I had shown interest in her,a friend gave me a copy of the hardback version of Mary's book and I couldn't put it down! She has very cleverly included a biography of the fascinating George Putnam within the book, as from 1927 Amelia's life and fate was intrinsically linked with his. The author has not skimped on the early life of Amelia either, the details of this period also fascinating. The notes and appendices show how much research the author has done and how she incorporates fact and rumour into a very cohesive and accurate narrative.This is, however, not a dry factual account, but a lively, enjoyable read about one of the most charismatic of aviators - you can feel the warmth that the author has for her subject coming through. I have also reviewed the film "Amelia" and you can see my comments on that.
( I must also read some of Mary's other books! )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Saw the movie, 23 July 2013
By 
doublemac (Isle of Wight UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amelia Earhart: The Sound of Wings (Paperback)
I wanted to be inspired but I'm finding it a bit dry having already seen the movie. Maybe skip it if you've already done the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amelia Earhart By Mary S Lovell, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amelia Earhart: The Sound of Wings (Paperback)
love the book well written did not want it to end I must read more about her and her husband G Pullman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3440930)

This product

Amelia Earhart: The Sound of Wings
Amelia Earhart: The Sound of Wings by Mary S. Lovell (Paperback - 6 Aug 2009)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews