Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2001
Having seen George Alagiah as a first-rate foreign affairs correspondent and then news reader for the BBC, I was delighted to find he could also write. This is a good mix of biography and factual review of events in certain African countries, seen from the perspective not only of a journalist but also of an "insider". Most books on Africa are written either by Europeans or Africans themselves and the fact that Alagiah originally comes from an Asian developing country gives a different edge to his comments. His analysis of the situation in Somalia as well as the Congo are particularly strong. There are also thrilling accounts of his escapades as a journalist in Africa, which should delight many a would-be correspondent. I would recommend this book highly and anyone in the least bit interested in Africa, journalism or indeed the personal story of a boy/man, who has been through many upheavals and come through successfully, will find it well worth their while.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2001
Being a South African, I am more than just averagely interested in books on Africa. I knew George Aligiah from news reporting on UK TV only - I had no idea of his roots or his African adventures.
I found his writing exceptionally easy to read and personal. He writes of HIS experiences, and makes no apologies for not trying to write a full history of a situation. He lets you know of the wonders of Africa, as well as some of its horrors, and gets the balance right.
I finished the book wanting more, and feeling prouder of Africa than I had in a long time. Don't miss it!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2004
This is, quite simply, a brilliant book. George Alagiah leads the reader through a history of modern Africa from a personal, involved and genuinely compassionate point of view. He details his own upbringing, first in Ceylon then in Ghana, where his family moved when he was 5. He then goes on to give fascinating and thought provoking accounts of his journalistic experiences in many different African countries. The accounts of his dealings with various regimes, armies, and above all ordinary people cannot fail to move the reader. He is not afraid to speak his mind, criticising various movements and leaders, both from Africa and the Western world. This book succeeds in making the amazing continent come alive, with stories of its people, its promise and its problems told by one of its proudest sons. Alagiah's understanding of African politics, culture, family and social life offer the reader super insights that any author without such a personal experience would surely struggle to do. Read it!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2006
This is probably the best book I have ever read. No other book has challenged, entertained and captivated me so much since I don't know when. Being an expatriate of Ghana, and having lived in England for the past ten years, this book has compelled me to get more involved and interested in African affairs today enough to want to make a difference. In his unassuming and matter-of-fact way of writing, George Alagiah has brought very sharply into question the apathy that silently plagues ex-pats like myself when it comes to making a stand for Africa in the face of corruption and caring enough about the plight of our less fortunate brothers and sisters caught in the cruel grip of poverty.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2002
His experience seems to encourage him to express what he believes is important to be shared about this continent.
The truthfullness of his expression brings the reader to compassion and encourages his interest for understanding...
Through the simplicity of words he is able to express the complexity of african nature but also the hope which lies beneath it. In some way, without excusing any atrocities, nor embellishing any symbolic hope, he truthfully makes Africa a continent to be proud of.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
A wonderful book. Very well written, covers many countries but leaves you to make up your own minds on them. A fantastic traveller, you wont want to put it down. Have read it several times and am intending on reading it several more. A must for your bedside table. You will want to become more involved in that continent after reading this. Don't hesitate on getting this. worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Excellently written, it made the difficulties of Africa's development and all its problems much easily understandable. His descriptions show a real love of the continent. His observations and explanations can be extrapolated into an understanding of some of the real issue and problems in today's Middle East.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
This is one book you cannot rush through...every page you turn, wants you to absorb every word and meaning.Very beautifully written which great language power and excellent vocabulary.Educational to say the least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I have always admired the frank and clear reporting style of George Alagiah, and his book educated me on the recent history of African loitics and its many wayward leaders
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
Excellent . Full of facts .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)