Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great man's view of his world
I recently travelled to South Africa via New Zealand and it was in Auckland that I decided to bring an end to my own ignorance regarding South African politics.
This book is definately a "cannot-put-down" affair that is beautifully written in a simplistic yet very profound way, passing the task of conveying the trials and tribulations of apartheid with flying...
Published on 28 Feb 2003 by Mr Ravin Mistry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book but the kindle version is bizarrely split in two
I read this in paperback many years ago. It's a must read for everyone interested in people, justice and forgiveness.
Published 16 months ago by PD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom Vol 2: 1962-1994: Triumph of Hope, 1962-1994 v. 2 (Paperback)
A very easy read, which delves into the mind and actions of a man who cared not only for the dignity, respect and lives of his peoples, the oppressed, but also for the souls of the oppressors. The book ends with the line '..I can rest only for a moment, for with freedom comes responsilities, and I dare not linger, for my long walk is not yet ended.' This book has reminded/motivated me to not give up. Truly inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Buy, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this, in book form, a long time ago, since then read it again on my Kindle, and it was still amazing. For anyone who is interested in the history of South Africa, it is a no brainer..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting life, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't believe that South Africa and the rest of the world thought their government had a right to treat their own people in this way and only a couple of decades ago. Shocking, thank you Nelson for sharing your story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A long wait to read this book, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have long wanted to read this book. But I am almost ashamed that it took the great man`s passing to prompt me to finally read it. Having said that I am so glad I did. The experience of his life is not one to be taken lightly. Reading this book I have realised just how much effect he had,not just on South Africa, but across the whole world. So much of what is written can be applied to today and there are many quotes that today's leaders would do well to take on board. Today's problems relate more to the religious divides than to the colour of one's skin but are just as relevant. The world has lost a great historical figure but his legacy lives on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hero, legend and an inspiration to all. Brilliant book, well written, could not put it down from the moment that I picked it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A life up with all the Saints who ever lived, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written with all the insight of a most perceptive person.He has uncovered the driving force of a most brilliant and complicated individual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long walk to freedom is more than political memoirs, it is a guide for life time to every human being, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspiring, educative, source of political thoughts and communication skills. It is legendary, heart breaking at the same time reconciling. A must read book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reveals why inequality of opportunity harms us all and the importance of fighting it, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This an easy and compelling read, apart from getting my head round the African names. It provides a sense of the times, the inclusiveness of the ANC's approach and the challenges that they had to overcome in their quest for fairness. It also gives a sense of the South African culture as the basis of the way forward. I have yet to read part 2 but I am looking forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An important book to read, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having lived in SA from 1979 - 1986 in oblivion to all that was going on it was really interesting to understand it all from Mandela's view point. There are always other sides to these stories but it is important to know the roles the various people played during this part of history. The fact that there were numerous organisations was confusing but this did not detract from the gist of the account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars . . This book is to me beautifully life changing. mandela writes vividly about his life. A man full of love & reconcilli, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
you must read it. I've grown as a result of reading it. You will grow by reading it too.,Not as. I have grown But as you need to grow.That's Mandela.It is beautifully written. Mandela & all the people he meets come fully to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Walk To Freedom Vol 2: 1962-1994: Triumph of Hope, 1962-1994 v. 2
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews