Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 3 Jan 2013
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom Vol 1: 1918-1962: Early Years, 1918-1962 v. 1 (Paperback)
This is one of these books that in my opinion everyone should read. It tells the remarkable story of Nelson Mandela's personal struggle to see that every South African had an equal say in the running of their country (democracy in other words). He is truly an amazing man and reading this book made me feel very grateful for people such as Mr Mandela. He has literally given his entire life for the benefit of his fellow countrymen and the least we can do is to read about his sacrifice and marvel at his achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insight, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brings to life with deft and concise descriptions his thinking during this time and explains how he became who he is today. Powerful and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insperational, 13 Nov 2012
What a truly Amazing and inspirational story once I started reading "A long walk to freedom" I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long to to Freedom, 28 Oct 2012
This book is an excellent read. It shows how much Nelson Mandela devoted to ending aparthied in South Africa through the 50s & 60s. I would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 21 Oct 2012
A must read for all, we have all got so much to learn from this man. The world would be a better place if we did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long Walk To Freedom Vol 1: 1918-1962: Early Years, 1918-1962 v. 1, 18 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom Vol 1: 1918-1962: Early Years, 1918-1962 v. 1 (Paperback)
This book was purchased because I was unaware that Mandela's autobiography was in 2 volumes and had unwittingly bought Vol 2 first! I was delighted with the condition of the book and the short time in which it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Story of a Freedom Fighter, 4 Sep 2011
This book is the story of a freedom fighter, from his childhood till his mid forties. It shows that the person is not born as a freedom fighter, it is his life, the environment he lives in, and the oppression he goes through which contribute to shape his life as a fighter. This book also shows that freedom may require the use of many tactics to be gained. Sometimes, non violence by itself does not work others it is the only way to freedom. The experience of Mandella can be applied in similar contexts today. For sure, it needs customization to the situation and the enemy, it needs further study, but in general many lessons learnt and success tactics can be applied to countries where oppression is widespread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously good read, 23 July 2011
I have recently visited South Africa, staying in Cape Town, and I visited Robben Island where Nelson Mandela was imprisoned. The book tells his life and is a good read. You need to understand that it is a serious book but it is well written and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Walk to Freedom, 22 April 2011
It has taken me a long time to get around to reading this book. I don't know why it took so long! This is one of the best auto biographies I have read. Truthful, fascinating piece of history that I had a sketchy understanding of. I can't wait to get onto the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
By 
David Todd (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom Vol 1: 1918-1962: Early Years, 1918-1962 v. 1 (Paperback)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Walk To Freedom Vol 1: 1918-1962: Early Years, 1918-1962 v. 1
Long Walk To Freedom Vol 1: 1918-1962: Early Years, 1918-1962 v. 1 by Nelson Mandela (Paperback - 21 Nov 2002)
8.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews