Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brookmyre's best
Ingenious, amusing, entertaining. I've read all his books and the style and humour have always outweighed the diatribes against politically obvious targets. This time he gets the balance just right and the plot twists are brilliant, particualrly in the original bank robbery. His best, i think, although it's a tough fight against One Fine Day...
Published on 13 Jan 2004

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great First Half
I gave this three stars just because it's CB and so is immensely readable, but it was almost hard to finish. It starts out great, with one of the all-time best bank robberies, then it goes astray and nothing much works. The romance never seems believable, not for a second, and all the soul-searching dialogue between the two main characters seems like the kind of thing CB...
Published on 6 Aug 2006 by expatina


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Brookmyre Read, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sacred Art Of Stealing (Paperback)
The first forty pages of the book can be hard going but are very necessary for your later pleasure. It made me laugh out loud.
I save Brookmyre for holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual Amazon deliver a fast and efficient download of another classic Christopher Brookmyre story, full of twists, turns and brilliant plotwork
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sacred Art of Brookmyre, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sacred Art Of Stealing (Paperback)
Brilliant. Perfect. Clever. Hysterical. Possibly (dangerous now) his finest, even considering One Fine Day in the Middle of the Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real favourite, 30 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Sacred Art Of Stealing (Paperback)
I love this book and have re-read it several times, each time discovering some new entertainment in the twists and contortions of this wonderful plot. By turns this book is surreal, romantic, stomach-churningly awful, nail-bitingly suspensful and then when you least expect it, laugh-out-loud funny.

This is the second book in the Anqelique de Xavia set, following on from 'A Big Boy Did It and Ran Away' and laying down some plot lines for the later book 'A Snowball in Hell'. In this book the petite but punchy Anqelique is in recovery mode, coping with repercussions from a recent terrorist attack and looking for some R&R. What she gets instead is a bank heist, and that's just the beginning of the fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 30 Dec 2010
By 
P. J. Ramsay (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sacred Art Of Stealing (Paperback)
A really great read. Great plot, great characterisation and a great ending.
Not as funny as I was lead to believe, and the history lesson in Scottish football was mind-crushingly dull, but this is more because of the subject matter than his writing, (and didn't appear to have much to do with the plot). Sounded more like the author trying to get something off his chest about the Rangers v Celtic feud. I actually had to skip a few pages here which is something that I normally would NEVER do.
That's a minor gripe though, it's an excellent book and I'll be searching out some more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic relationship amid crime and strong language, 5 Dec 2010
By 
J. R. Johnson-Rollings (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sacred Art Of Stealing (Paperback)
Brookmyre's seventh novel is a sequel to 'A Big Boy Did It And Ran Away', although the focus is now on police officer Angelique de Xavier, who was only the lead supporting character in the earlier novel. She's suffering with the consequences of her actions, but is still the person called in when an unusual bank robbery kicks off.

The first thing that should be noted is the liberal spread of strong language, however the use of Scots dialect has been dialled down which makes the prose easier to read than in some of his previous novels.

The plot is captivating and surprisingly believable, with the appealing angle that you end up rooting for someone who is ultimately a baddie. The scale of the plot is certainly on the level of films like 'The Thomas Crowne Affair' with an ingeniously complicated plan by the criminals that doesn't become completely clear until the very end.

There are a couple of chapters which have a strikingly different style, one the very first, which after reading I was a little concerned that I would not enjoy reading the book - fortunately I read on though and got to the good parts which make up by far the majority of the text.

The key to this book though is the relationships between the characters, which are developed exceptionally well and provide the impetus to turn what could have been a run of the mill cops and robbers story into a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sacred Art of Stealing, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Without doubt Mr Brookmyre's best novel. Very good. Helps to have read the previous novel but a cracking story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I bought everything else he ever wrote on the strength of this book., 19 April 2010
By 
R. Evison "Rufus Evison" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the least serious of Brookmyre's books. As what he writes is humour I should clarify. Many of his books are hilarious with a serious theme. This one is hilarious with less of the theme.

Everything that goes on is completely plausible (unlike Hiassen to whom he is often compared). This is because the characters in the books are all people you can believe you might actually meet. The clever plot twists are the result of cunning and planning and when you are re-reading the same book (as you will wish to do) they are still as good even though you know they are coming.

Christopher Brookmyre has made it on to my very short list of authors who might be worth meeting and this is my favourite of his books. He has an intelligent approach to rationality and yet is prepared to rant when the emotion should be strong.

If you are easily offended by strong language or scottish accents this is not the book for you. In fact if you are easily offended at all Christopher Brookmyre is probably not the author for you. if you are looking for something deep and meaningful Brookmyre could probably write it and probably won't.

If, rather than deep and meaningful, you want fast paced, funny, intelligent with a strong plot and good characters then you probably already read Brookmyre's books and need no review at all.

Rufus

P.S. I am always pleased when these authors do not make mistakes about how to force entry or socially engineer their way in. So far Christopher Brookmyre has done his research and understood the less than legal basics. He also has a fair grasp on some of the conjuring.

P.P.S. For those who find some of Brookmyre's books too gory this one seems as if it might be but isn't, so do read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My best read of 2009, 22 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sacred Art Of Stealing (Paperback)
This book is such a cracker. Great plot. Excellent characters. Funny, funny, funny. Edge of the seat thrilling. Very rude.
For me this was one of those books that cause you to lose sleep because you can't put it down and when you finish you want to start all over again.
Lovely stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a joyous read, 28 Oct 2009
By 
M. Watson "Mark Aged 42" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sacred Art Of Stealing (Paperback)
This is a 5 star read, make no mistake. All the usual Brookmyre elements are there, plus an are they/aren't they couple. The first meeting between cop and the robber is a masterpiece, I just wonder who would play these parts in a TV adaption!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sacred Art Of Stealing
The Sacred Art Of Stealing by Christopher Brookmyre (Paperback - 4 Sep 2003)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews