Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars slow to start with but worth sticking with it
I'm a big fan of Brookmyre and yet again, he pulls it off with an inspired read.
A dark satirical look at modern day Scotland and, although the plot may seem far-fetched at first, in actual fact its worryingly believable!
I did find it quite slow to start with but it was well worth persevering with it as the pace soon picked up and the story had me on the edge...
Published on 29 Jun. 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A pot-boiler by a writer going off the boil?
A big Brookmyre fan, I was first in line for a copy of Boiling a Frog. Great disappointment! He's too good a writer to write a positively bad book, but this one is nowhere near up to his previous stuff. The story sounds good in synopsis, but takes ages to get going and lacks the usual eclectic and convincing mix of characters. Prison scenes dull, political intrigue...
Published on 13 Feb. 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A little different, but I think you'll still love it., 29 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Boiling A Frog (Paperback)
A thoroughly entrancing book. It may begin slowly and you might think 'this is going no where' but as always there is something just below the surface. Glorious character development, and some 'interesting' Scotish conversations (deed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this author, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boiling A Frog (Paperback)
Yet another masterpiece by Christopher Brookmyre - I just love anything by this author and this did not disappoint.

Make sure you read Quite Ugly One Morning before reading this if you want to get the full benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Parlabane is at it again, 18 Mar. 2013
By 
C. Robinson "Avid Reader" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The wisecracking Glaswegian journalist gets himself in hot water this time round.
His first day in prison had me crying onto my kindle screen.
Fooaltiye... it's a wee stoater o a book, is so tae!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As usual, Brookmyre gets it spot on, 25 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Boiling A Frog (Paperback)
Maybe not quite as enthralling as his other novels, this still managed to make an 8 hour train journey seem like 10 mins. I regret buying the hardback, as I now have ages to wait for his next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
P Carr (NW Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boiling A Frog (Paperback)
I'm hardly ever disappointed by Chris Brookmyre, and this was as good as any. A cracking story, with the usual quota of insight which always make his books more than just a good yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flashes of genius, 18 Oct. 2002
By 
Thomas Douglas "TD" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Boiling A Frog (Paperback)
This book is my first Brookmyre outing, and while it didnt quite hit the spot, it shows sufficient talent for me to have added a few more of his books to my reading list.
Dastardly and dark political plot, combined with prison drama and cynical observations.
When the humour is good, it is very very good - I dont often laugh out loud when reading, but I did with this one. And there is some nice dry humour in there too.
Where it grated was with some rambling sections on character development. And they didnt really develop the characters - it was as if he suddenly remembered he should do some fleshing out and dropped in 5 pages on character X, repeating the exercise with character Y in the next chapter.
But not to worry. Entertaining, funny, and good enough to have me looking forward to his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun fantasy, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not Brookmyre's best, but still really good. I'm currently rereading the Parlabane books, and it does work better when read straight after the first two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boiling a frog, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boiling A Frog (Paperback)
Well written, creative and challenging, but it offends in a number of places if your support a specific political party or are of a certain faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brookmyre at his best, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
A. RAWICZ-SZCZERBO (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A typical Brookmyre novel with plenty to enjoy : action, nice twists in the plot overlaid with his distinct humour ! Read on and Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to do with frogs!, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boiling A Frog (Paperback)
Very, very funny. It takes a while to get your head round the passages written in "Glaswiegen" but it's well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boiling A Frog
Boiling A Frog by Christopher Brookmyre (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2002)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews