Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book that tipped
In the Tipping Point Malcolm Gladwell provides an overview on the phenomenon of social epidemics, the underlying reasons that make things tip. The book is well researched with academic contributions entangled with interesting narrative that illustrates the theory. I would have rated the book five stars if not for two issues. Firstly, the book is almost totally lacks...
Published on 5 Feb 2006 by Niklas Kari

versus
94 of 100 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Tipping Point
'The Tipping Point' is another entertaining, yet laboured book from Malcolm Gladwell. Like 'Blink' you get an interesting premise, explained very well at the beginning of the book, followed by 150 pages going over the same ground in greater depth. Once you've grasped the initial concept and had it proven with a few examples, you don't really need to go over it much...
Published on 1 May 2008 by Spider Monkey


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Paperback)
excellent work.. easy to digest and absorb.. more please Mr Gladwell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. P. Douglas (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Paperback)
Not as fun as some of his other books. Still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Provocative and enjoyable, 12 Feb 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with all the other positive reviews - this is a fascinating book about social trends and the spread of ideas. My only reservation is that I thought it dragged a bit in the middle - how much discussion of "Sesame Street" can a person take!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gladwell Makes Abstract Concepts Understandable, 14 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Paperback)
If Malcolm Gladwell wrote about geometry, not only would I finally understand it, I would actually care. The genius of his writing style is that he takes issues that are incredibly hard to define, and provides mere mortals like myself with the ability to grasp them.

In this case, Gladwell attempts to pinpoint the moment when something goes from being relatively unknown to being something that everyone is talking about. A recent example of a tipping point would be Twitter zooming off the charts when Stephen Fry got stuck in an elevator and tweeted about it. This book was written in 2000, pre Twitter, YouTube and Facebook - three sites that have gone into the stratosphere, seemingly overnight. Malcolm Gladwell would have had a field day with them, and you can see the secrets of their success forecast in the sequences regarding similar companies.

Gladwell's commentary includes various themes - children's television, Paul Revere's ride, teen smoking and several other examples which demonstrate the spread of information. The segment on Connectors, Mavens and Salesmen is particularly fascinating.

Malcolm Gladwell has given me a whole new way to look at the people with whom I interact each day. I may not be able to predict Tipping Point in the future, but I should be able to look back and see the signs in retrospect, thanks to this brilliant, elegantly-written book. This was the first Gladwell book I've ever read, but it most assuredly will not be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Paperback)
Why isn't this available on Kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book by this author, 15 Nov 2009
By 
Mariusz Skonieczny "Author" (classicvalueinvestors com) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Paperback)
This is another great book by this author. He shows readers how little things or people can make a huge difference in our lives. They can create a social epidemic. I really like it when he analyzed three different types of people - connectors, mavens, and salespeople and how they effect change. Connectors are people who have extensive networks of individuals. Mavens are the ones with knowledge, such as teachers. And salespeople persuade us to take certain actions. A certain product can have tremendous success if it is associated with famous individuals. No wonder companies, such as Nike, hire top athletes to endorse their products. I also liked the example of how the crime in N.Y. subways was reduced as a result of arresting those who cheated on paying fares and painting the cars to cover graffiti.

This book is excellent for people who are interested in becoming more effective, especially those in marketing. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

- Mariusz Skonieczny, author of Why Are We So Clueless about the Stock Market? Learn how to invest your money, how to pick stocks, and how to make money in the stock market
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good book...A great idea - now part of business vocabulary, 20 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Paperback)
The phrase "The Tipping Point" has entered the business vocabulary. It is a great idea and this book is well written and very interesting - but even though it is a short book - it is overlong. The idea is explained in the first few chapters...and then it just repeats itself. A great book all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
By 
M. Protokova - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Paperback)
quick delivery, as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a thought provoking read, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Paperback)
A thought provoking read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value!, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Paperback)
Great Value! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference
The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference by Malcolm Gladwell (Paperback - 14 Feb 2002)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews