Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I've read many of Tom Holt's fantasy books, and seriously enjoyed them, so I thought I'd take a chance on one of his 'historical novels'. Olympiad didn't dissapoint. It has the same humour that makes his other books so good, but it takes a more realistic approach. Holt's talent for setting the scene so well in the mind is amazing. The characters all have distinctive...
Published on 2 Feb 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but not as much as his other work
This is an entertaining book, well worth a read if you are interested in the ancient Greek world and want to imagine better just what it might have been like to live in those times. There are funny moments and the race at the end of the book is a really memorable vignette. However, the story line is a bit rambling and if you're expecting chapters on the games themselves...
Published on 9 July 2011 by The Collector


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Olympiad (Paperback)
I've read many of Tom Holt's fantasy books, and seriously enjoyed them, so I thought I'd take a chance on one of his 'historical novels'. Olympiad didn't dissapoint. It has the same humour that makes his other books so good, but it takes a more realistic approach. Holt's talent for setting the scene so well in the mind is amazing. The characters all have distinctive personalities and the interaction between them is very funny. It's a well written book and I would urge readers of his other books (and anyone else who enjoys a brilliant read) to get Olympiad, and enjoy many happy hours reading what I believe to be Tom Holt's best book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very witty, historically interesting and sarcastically funny, 25 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Olympiad (Paperback)
This book is very witty and funny. It starts of by explaining the reason for the first olympiad (pure funny nonsense), and chronicles the inept recruiters who are supposed to convince game players to participate in these games. These recruiters are Great storytellers (well actually Tom Holt), but inept recruiters, getting into trouble all along the way (having an obstinate sister and uncle and rivals doesn't help them much), when speaking about it to a sceptical phoenicean years later, who interjects observations from a totally different culture, highlighting the sometimes idiotic premises on which we base our day to day assumptions. It is by far Tom Holt's best book in the last 3 years. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but not as much as his other work, 9 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Olympiad (Paperback)
This is an entertaining book, well worth a read if you are interested in the ancient Greek world and want to imagine better just what it might have been like to live in those times. There are funny moments and the race at the end of the book is a really memorable vignette. However, the story line is a bit rambling and if you're expecting chapters on the games themselves you'll be disappointed as the story is about how the idea of a sporting competition became a reality rather than amusing episodes from the Games themselves. I love the author's irreverant slant on the ancient greeks but I think he does it better in The Walled Orchard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very witty, historically interesting and sarcastically funny, 14 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Olympiad (Hardcover)
This book is very witty and funny. It starts of by explaining the reason for the first olympiad (pure funny nonsense), and chronicles the inept recruiters who are supposed to convince game players to participate in these games. These recruiters are Great storytellers (well actually Tom Holt), but inept recruiters, getting into trouble all along the way (having an obstinate sister and uncle and rivals doesn't help them much), when speaking about it to a sceptical phoenicean years later, who interjects observations from a totally different culture, highlighting the sometimes idiotic premises on which we base our day to day assumptions. It is by far Tom Holt's best book in the last 3 years. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not his best, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympiad (Kindle Edition)
Have read a lot of Tom Holt's books and find them either very good or just ok this unfortunatly fell in the just ok catergory wouldn't put me off reading any other title's by Tom Holt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Olympiad
Olympiad by Tom Holt (Paperback - 1 Feb 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews