Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but slow going in parts
In common with several other reviewers I found the early detailed explanation about the origins of the war useful and interesting . However ,as the book progressed the level of detail on the diplomacy surrounding the war seemed to far outweigh the military history so the major battles seemed to be dealt with in a slightly perfunctory manner and then there were overly long...
Published on 12 Jan 2011 by Ageing Cynic

versus
1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars intercountry adoption theme
this book is based on a song Happy Adoption day ( with music provided) which is a good idea and has an attractive message however it is based on transracial inter-country adoption with the child coming home by aeroplane, it would be perfect for those situations and probably for very young children for whom the postive message of the song would be the main message but for...
Published on 3 July 2011 by Ms. J. C. Wilkings


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but slow going in parts, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856 (Paperback)
In common with several other reviewers I found the early detailed explanation about the origins of the war useful and interesting . However ,as the book progressed the level of detail on the diplomacy surrounding the war seemed to far outweigh the military history so the major battles seemed to be dealt with in a slightly perfunctory manner and then there were overly long chunks about the attendant diplomacy which I found slow going at points which was a shame as whenever the book got back to events on the peninsula itself it was a gteat read

Felt a bit like the author had decided that readers would already have read about Sebastpol, Balaclava, Raglan, Nightingale and the Light Bridgade and therefore rather rushed these bits. If the author could have married the detail in this book to the brilliant excellent writing about Crimea that appears as part of Victoria's Wars: The Rise of Empire it would be an easy 5 star candidate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable History of the Crimean War, 19 Oct 2000
By 
I found this new account on the Crimean War by Trevor Royle to be a very enjoyable and easy to read book. The story was well written and the narrative just seemed to flow along, taking the reader on an exciting trip through history. Although, as previously mentioned, the author does not spend a great amount of time on describing the battles of this conflict, he does manage to cover most aspects of this terrible war. I did find out a number of things that I had not previously read in other books and his descriptions of the battles were still well presented. Throughout the book the author utilised personal accounts from a number of the participants and these seemed to fit the narrative quite well.
Trevor Royle has taken the time to give the reader a detailed account of the events leading up to the Crimean War and for once this was as enjoyable to read as the actual details of the conflict. I was fascinated by the story and at no time did I find the book boring which sometimes happens when an author starts talking about politics. I thought that maybe more maps could have been supplied but those featured were detailed enough to follow the story. A number of black and white photographs were also utilised to assist the reader follow the story. However I feel that more photos of the conflict could have been used especially since this was one of the first wars to receive so much media attention, a point mentioned many times by the author.
The book is over 500 pages long and a number of the less known battles and conflicts, both on land and sea, are covered by the author. I found that his defence of Lord Raglan was well presented and deservedly so when consideration is taken of the period and state of society from which Raglan emerged. Overall this is a well-presented and enjoyable account of this terrible conflict and I found it to be as good as Christopher Hibbert's 'The Destruction of Lord Raglan' and Alan Palmer's 'The Banner of Battle'. I would recommend this book to any person who enjoys a decent history book or just a good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 18 Sep 2010
This review is from: Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856 (Paperback)
This is a good piece of work on the subject and covers the political and diplomatic side of this period very well and with such dry subject matter is written well enough to be an interesting and informative read.

The thing that lets this book down is the coverage of the fighting on the ground, command and control etc. here for me it is a bit of a flop, the Battle of Balaclava being completed in a few pages, very sad indeed.

If you are looking for an in depth read (that is easy to follow and interesting) of the politics and diplomacy surrounding this period this may well be the premier book in its class, if however you are looking for coverage of the war on the ground (and perhaps even at sea) you will have to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read ., 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856 (Paperback)
an excellent read for the history lover, in very good condition and at 55p you can't go wrong would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lively and engaging account of a largely overlooked war, 16 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856 (Paperback)
Trevor Royle has perhaps pigeon holed himself as a military historian with his works on the English Civil War and the Wars of the Roses, it is a shame because it denies him the recognition due as an excellent all round historian. His work on the Crimean War has a great deal to recommend it; it is in the first instance very accessible to all levels of reader. Secondly it works really hard to provide good access to primary source material whilst not letting this overwhelm the narrative. Third the book offers a much better contextualisation of the war then many other works, covering the war in the Baltic, in Asia Minor and the political manoeuvrings in Vienna, Washington and Berlin alongside the internal politics of Britain and France. Fourth Royle places the war chronologically between Waterloo and Ypres and really seeks to identify the "Janus-like" quality of the war that ended the era of Waterloo and heralded the warfare of the First World War.
Royle's style is very much a narrative and he works primarily through the individuals involved, this forms the basis for an engaging account. Whilst he does cover foreign developments, the work is very anglo-centric (which perhaps accounts for its accessibility). Royle is perhaps gentler than some historians working on the subject, avoiding the debate that surrounds the charge of the light brigade and in general provides a positive portrayal of Raglan as a man at least who in common with so many others hadn't caught up with the developments in warfare. Royle is more critical of the infrastructure of the army in the period than anything else. The inclusion of the other theatres of war also added significantly to the readability of the book.
I'd recommend this book to anyone with an interest in the period and who has been put off by some of the drier histories of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856 (Paperback)
An excellent gripping account of the Crimea story. It is well-paced and thorough. Useful maps included too which help understand the geography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To Life, 8 Oct 2009
By 
A. Traher "atraherlit" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856 (Paperback)
Bought this title in anticipation of a visit to the Crimean Penninsular. It is a thoroughly readable book with lots of diplomatic and military detail. I like all that but it may be too much for some.

As I visited Balaclava, Sebastapol and the various sites the accuracy of the narrative was demonstrated again and again.

By chance the week I was there was the 255 year anniversary of the BAttle of the Alma River. Some local enthusiasts staged a re-enactment. Most of the spectators were disappointed but I could see how accurately they were staging the piece of the battle that they had chosen.

Brilliant
Made my Holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excelelnt overview of all aspects of the conflict., 11 Oct 2002
This review is from: Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856 (Paperback)
This is a comprehensive account of the Crimean War that is as complete on the diplomatic and political machinations and context as on the military operations. The latter are competently covered, not just in relation to the Crimea itself but as regards Turco-Russian operations prior to involvement of the Western powers and actions in Rumania, the Baltic, the Caucuses and even the Far East. In general the civilian players are covered in greater depth than the military ones - this is not a significant disadvantage since there is already a large and accessible literature available on the latter (readers new to the topic will enjoy Cecil Woodham-Smith's classic "The Reason Why" and Christopher Hibbert's "The Destruction of Lord Raglan.") Despite the complexity of the diplomatic manoeuvrings before and during the war Mr.Royle covers this aspect entertainingly, imposing considerable clarity on a convoluted story. The only criticism of the book is the dearth of good maps, which are essential for a work of this nature, A few inadequate ones are supplied but in these days of computer-assisted graphics the reader has a right to expect something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and Enjoyable, 14 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856 (Paperback)
I'm not interested, in general, in war stories. But the Crimea is an epic, and I found myself owning a 4-clasp Crimea medal, so had to find out more. This book is throughly researched and is pretty good at bringing home the planning tragedies, the victories, and the misery of conditions at the Crimea.

I've now got a few books on the Crimea War, and this is probably the best overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful celebration for a special day., 15 Oct 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: Happy Adoption Day! (Hardcover)
You can call me biased.
We've listened to John McCutcheon's song of the same name and enjoyed that a lot. Then a friend sent us this wonderfully illustrated children's book. That was bad enough. But to receive it the day we got back from China with our new baby girl capped it all.
The family illustrated is a mixed family, which is good. You might be tempted to criticize the book because it simplifies the subject matter. Don't. Just enjoy it as a celebration of a very happy family event and share it with all kids, adoptive and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856
Crimea: The Great Crimean War 1854-1856 by Trevor Royle (Paperback - 2 Nov 2000)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews