Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TALE OF A DYSTOPIC SUBURBAN AMERICANA
"Be careful what you wish for. You might get it".
Wise words that came to acquire a new meaning as the baby-boomers' children were entering the 70's. Bell-bottoms and mutton-chops were the cutting edge of fashion; Nixon's lies (and not his Kissingerian real-politics and crimes against humanity) were what finally cost him his office; polyester was more expensive and...
Published on 28 Jan. 2008 by NeuroSplicer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Among Moody's Best ... but Not Quite
I love Rick's writing, but I also note his tendency for verbosity. This is his most nostalgic and personal story, with deeply insightful and moving moments flowing like a river. Ang Lee's movie did it amazing justice. Read, see and judge.
Published on 26 May 2012 by matt andrews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TALE OF A DYSTOPIC SUBURBAN AMERICANA, 28 Jan. 2008
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ice Storm (Paperback)
"Be careful what you wish for. You might get it".
Wise words that came to acquire a new meaning as the baby-boomers' children were entering the 70's. Bell-bottoms and mutton-chops were the cutting edge of fashion; Nixon's lies (and not his Kissingerian real-politics and crimes against humanity) were what finally cost him his office; polyester was more expensive and desirable than natural fibers; America was fighting another youth-grinding senseless war - and (for the first time) loosing badly. The swinging sixties came and gone and left behind only discontent and drug habits; New Heaven, Connecticut was Suburbia having everything it had wished for; every morning waking to the American Dream - only to find it hollow and wanting. And there was an ice storm brewing in the horizon. Would its whiteness make everything pure again? Would its crystals make things clearer?

I picked the book after of greatly enjoying Ang Lee's MASTERPIECE movie. I agree with most other reviewers: the movie was much more tight and effective - and, in the end, a crisper experience. I can understand how RICK MOODY's writing, with its long-winded phrases, rich likenings and not so subtle metaphors, may seem a bit dated to the 1.3sec zapping generation. However, I think that a slow, joyful reading is needed to do justice to this book.

RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... the lemonade, the sustenance, the opportunity of the day..., 25 July 2011
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Storm (Paperback)
"Love was scattered on the winds. It exceeded its targets," writes Rick Moody in this atmospheric but somewhat jaded and pessimistic family story. It involves teenagers fumbling their way towards maturity (can Mikey make it home through the ice storm?), and adults drawn into the `swingers' world in suburbia. It was published in 1994, made into a film in, I believe, the late-1990s, and is set in the 1970s, in Nixon-era America. I vaguely remember seeing the film late one night on TV and enjoying it's sophistication while not caring much about anyone but the younger actors, (in the book, fourteen and thirteen), who seemed badly served by their self-involved parents. Sigourney Weaver, Joan Allen and Kevin Kline starred.

It is a witty, sometimes brilliant book, if occasionally self-conscious in its verbosity, but that's a minor flaw. It is very good with the atmosphere of middle America in an era where some people seem to have learned that there is more to life than marriage with 2.4 children, but not what the cost of attaining that "more" that is somewhere out there could be. It did not quite manage to make me care about the two marriages depicted, both of which seemed doomed. Nevertheless, this is a well written and well-realised novel with some useful and entertaining things to say about life, love, sex and the pursuit of happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 27 Mar. 2007
By 
CJ (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ice Storm (Paperback)
Don't believe this cover - this book certainly isn't a comedy although it has a few humorous moments. In reality it is a gripping read of relationships falling apart and the impact on the families - all coming to a head with the dramatic events on the evening of the ice storm. I saw the film first and loved it. I'd also recommend the book for a slower more in depth exploration of a moving story where you can connect with each of the 8 central characters. I'm looking forward to watching the film again.

Why not 5 stars ? A little slow at times during the first half before really gripping in the second half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seen the film - now read this, 20 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ice Storm (Paperback)
It's amazing what the film left out of this tale about the swinging 70's -in depth character descriptions bring the people we love to hate (in the film) to life. This book is fairly fast moving and just as enjoyable (if not moreso) than the film. Sexy, surprising you name it this book has it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars american suburbia in the 1970's, 9 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ice Storm (Paperback)
in this novel moody depicts a nuclear family being torn apart in 1970's Connecticut. This book is a great read, and moody's eye for detail makes it very enjoyable. the characters are very well defined and the insight into the family is incredible. from mother to son, to father to mistress, moody really connects with each character and the ice storm finale is tremendous. a really great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Among Moody's Best ... but Not Quite, 26 May 2012
This review is from: The Ice Storm (Paperback)
I love Rick's writing, but I also note his tendency for verbosity. This is his most nostalgic and personal story, with deeply insightful and moving moments flowing like a river. Ang Lee's movie did it amazing justice. Read, see and judge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ice Storm (Paperback)
Boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good but only for one reason!, 19 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This is an excellent screenplay, however, in my mind, only for one reason. One of the actresses is the greatest- Katie Holmes, she is in this and that's why it's great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ice Storm
The Ice Storm by Rick Moody (Paperback - 5 Feb. 1998)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews