Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not The End Of The World, Christopher Brookmyre - Inventive thriller goes with a BANG!
It's very rarely a writer comes along who manages to do what Christopher Brookmyre has done. He's managed to invent a genre all of his own, which can only be called `Tartan Noir', and writes thrillers which are attention grabbing, inventive, funny and, er, thrilling.

There's a nice inventive set-up in this pacey thriller. There's a porn film convention in LA,...
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by Victor

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable page turner.
This books opens well, introducing us to a couple of great characters in Freeman and Kennedy. It just seems that Brookmyre stretched himself over too many characters.
His target is organised Christianity which he rips into with some great results, but it is an easy target and he does labour it.
The ending is a touch anti climactic, but the character of Steff...
Published on 4 July 2001 by admckee@btinternet.com


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not The End Of The World, Christopher Brookmyre - Inventive thriller goes with a BANG!, 12 Oct 2009
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Not The End Of The World (Paperback)
It's very rarely a writer comes along who manages to do what Christopher Brookmyre has done. He's managed to invent a genre all of his own, which can only be called `Tartan Noir', and writes thrillers which are attention grabbing, inventive, funny and, er, thrilling.

There's a nice inventive set-up in this pacey thriller. There's a porn film convention in LA, and a set of archly conservative Christian evangelists holding their own convention across the road. In the middle is Larry Freeman, a police man trying to keep them from each other's throats whilst also trying to solve the mysterious disappearance of four marine scientists. The story also follows photographer Steff Kennedy, on assignment to photograph the film convention, who gets caught up in the religious plot to rid the world of filth. Or is there something more to it?

This is a great read. It has all the hallmarks of a Brookmyre novel, seemingly very disparate plot threads that seem completely unconnected at first, but then weave together in a great way that leaves you thinking `of course!' There are greatly drawn characters, the back story of each is well explained, and you never feel that they are two dimensional or clichés. You really feel an empathy for them. There is a slew of wonderfully inventive and grisly murders, a broad streak of very black humour and the usual stance against religious stupidity. Not for the faint hearted or closed minded!

A great thriller that will keep you gripped and laughing right to the end. A proper page turner, I can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the End of the World, 9 April 2006
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Not The End Of The World (Paperback)
"Not the end of the world" is my second dip into the writings of Christopher Brookmyre and once again I can happily report that I have been both delighted and well entertained by this peach of a book.
Steff Kennedy is the Scottish photographer who finds himself in Los Angeles reporting on the American Feature Film Market, a large exhibition where all the small B-Movie makers gather together to peddle their sometimes questionable wares. Just to complicate matters the evangelical American League of Decency led by the ex-Presidential candidate Luther St John has also decided to set up camp just across from the AFFM festival and stage their own gathering of religious led celebrations.
This headache is the problem of LAPD sergeant Larry Freeman who has the inevitable job of looking after security. When a mysterious ship is found just off the coast with all crew missing things look like they may not be destined to run all that smoothly. When the boat is then subsequently linked to Luther St John things look like they are definitely not going to be running smoothly.
Like the other book of Mr Brookmyre's I have read, "Country of the blind" he likes to take a subject and then take it to task in his own special way. Here the subject that gets the full treatment is religion and especially that of the American TV Evangelists. The caustic and unforgiving way he takes full advantage of the subject makes for a most entertaining and sometimes laugh out loud read.
The characters are also superbly crafted and the reader will soon feel an affiliation with the good guys and a deep dislike of the baddies. The rather clichéd relationship that develops between Steff and Maddy is pretty carbon copy but is none the less enjoyable for that and the reader is firmly rooting for them the whole book through. I found the background given to the characters fully worthwhile and thought this was a useful addition to rounding these characters off.
Christopher Brookmyre is an author who demands the reader's full attention when reading the book. You can't pick one of his books up and casually flick through a few hundred pages at a sitting. Still when the story is an engaging as this one that's no bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the end of Christopher Brookmyre, 31 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Not The End Of The World (Paperback)
'Not the End of the World' is set in 1999 and tackles some weighty issues such as religion, belief, the encroaching millennium and pornography! A militant Christian has taken it upon himself to hold a dubious film festival to random by placing a bomb on a boat. Meanwhile, a Scottish photographer has just fallen in love with an ex-porn star that in turn has just been told that she has to kill herself to save the lives of 88 other people. Can the police stop the madman before it gets too late and what about the three missing nuclear warheads?

Brookmyre has produced a complex and exciting novel that has at least 4 main characters each being involved in the story in a different way. He fleshes out these characters in an outstanding way giving what happens to them more weight than if we did not care about them.

With a central love story that I enjoyed and exciting set pieces, parts of this book are excellent. It is a very moral tale and discusses the fact that some people believe in religion so much that they are willing kill for its cause. The failings are few but a slow first third did not help and also the spectacular set pieces some times got confusing.

However, 'Not the End of the World' is one of Brookmyre's best books I have read and left me thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brookmyre couldn't put it down situation., 12 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Not The End Of The World (Paperback)
Once again Brookmyre had me in knots, his plots are great, and as an ex-patriot Glaswegian, his use of the Glasgow patter must have kept my next door mates on the oil rig awake, and me in tears. Keep it up Chris, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of his best, 4 Oct 2007
This review is from: Not The End Of The World (Paperback)
I came to Christopher Brookmyre rather late in life (nine of his books already in paperback, and the tenth about to be published), but I have read all eleven in the past twelve months or so, and have found this to be one of his best. I have read his books in chronological order, so this was one of the first, and the first that wasn't about Jack Parlabane. Having recently finished his first two books, I started this with a little trepidation - it seemed odd to start off with that there was no sign of Parlabane (though he does get the briefest of mentions as being a good friend of lead character Steff Kennedy) - but I soon settled into things, and discovered that, actually, things were better without him.

There are times when the plot gets slightly TOO far-fetched (hey, it's a Brookmyre), but it still manages to stay just about this side of plausible, which certainly can not be said of one or two of his later offerings (I'm thinking All Fun & Games as a for instance). I have read comments about "Americans with a British accent" being a problem, but it certainly wasn't for me. Far harder, I think, for American authors to pen British characters.

As time has gone on, presumably Mr Brookmyre has found it harder and harder to come up with plausible plots (the latest Rubber Ducks episode being the lowest point yet), but then, we are talking fiction here, so does it really matter how implausible the plot is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absurdly clever, 16 Oct 2003
By 
Mme Roslyn Mor "rosmor3" (Fontainebleau, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not The End Of The World (Paperback)
My review title could apply to all of the five Brookmyre books I've had the pleasure to read to date. It is rare to find an author who writes with such incisivness, mixed with black humour, gutter language and the ability to create credible backround and protaganists, while embarking his readers on a crusade which they accept with tears and laughter in spite of themselves. All his writing is a question of degree. And having experienced the subject matter of this book at firsthand, I'm even more impressed. Satire and irony used in Brookmyre's language prove beyond doubt that the pen is mightier. Yes, it's absurd, but the world we live in is absurd, terrorists are terrible but they are also absurd (Country of the Blind) bank robbers are dangerous, they steal, but they are also absurd.( Sacred Art of Stealing).
In this instance, bible bashing is on the line. But his capacity to make laughing stock out of so many preconceived ideas,albeit disguised in the form of a humourous whodunnit, raises him for me to the status of a fine novelist whose talent and broadness of vision can only be recommended. He is unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guns 'n' Religion. It's what it's all about isn't it?, 28 Jan 2002
This review is from: Not The End Of The World (Paperback)
Brookmyre had me hooked after the first, after the second if the shop keeper had stood in my way there would have been a great need for a mop and a lawyer. Setting it in LA and linking with a character the other novels mentioned (I missed it until the very end where it was kindly pointed out by the author. Boy did I feel dumb) inspired idea. You can see the Bill Hicks influence sometimes. Taking on organised religion. I can't think of anything more pleasant to do on a sunny afternoon. He keeps them coming and I will keep on reading. You should too. If you haven't got into CB yet. There is no excuse now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brookmyre is a TRUE comic genius, 7 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Not The End Of The World (Paperback)
What can I say about "Not the End of the World" that hasn't been said already? The novel had me screaming with laughter and empathising with the main character at the same time. Fast, furious, witty? Yes. But that doesn't even begin to do justice to this work. I have just started reading "One Fine Day In The Middle of the Night" and if I don't put it down soon my wife will divorce me! As long as I get visiting rights to my growing collection of Brookmyre books I'll be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable page turner., 4 July 2001
This review is from: Not The End Of The World (Paperback)
This books opens well, introducing us to a couple of great characters in Freeman and Kennedy. It just seems that Brookmyre stretched himself over too many characters.
His target is organised Christianity which he rips into with some great results, but it is an easy target and he does labour it.
The ending is a touch anti climactic, but the character of Steff Kennedy is great and it is when he is the focal point that the book is at its strongest.
Worth a read, but his Parablane books are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read in years!, 10 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Not The End Of The World (Paperback)
It's not often you'll find an author quite as perceptive as Chris Brookmyre. It's even less often that you'll read a book which makes you laugh aloud every other page, but this book is it. A pacy bundle of tension, comedy and at times high drama, this goes straight into my top 5 books of all time. Let's hope that Brookmyre can continue his output and quality for years to come - Scots and non-Scots alike will be chuckling at some of his contemporary culture references months after they finish the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not The End Of The World
Not The End Of The World by Christopher Brookmyre (Paperback - 17 Jun 1999)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews