Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contains all a first novel shoud: violence, murder & comedy
I read this recently after a friend had recommended it sometime ago. I can only say I wish I'd read it sooner. This is a great first book, with all the fresh, dynamic offerings of great first novels such as Last Exit To Brooklyn (Selby), The Wasp Factory (Banks), and Less Than Zero (Ellis).
The basic plot is about the truly horrendous murder of a doctor in...
Published on 22 Jan 2003 by R. Fox

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but only just...
Another book bought on the recommendation of Amazon. The book got off to a superb start with a gruesome murder, but a lot of great humour from the investigating police. I also enjoyed the fact that I recognised all the places mentioned in the book even though they had ficticious names. This helped greatly in picturing the various scenes throughout the book. Throughout the...
Published on 30 Aug 2002 by GordonR


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good story, 8 Nov 2010
By 
P. A. Pendrey - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst what I heard of this audio tape story was very good it is regretted to say that the item, purchased through the Amazon market place was not as advertised. One of the four tapes making up the audio book was missing.
The seller was very helpful and did try to remedy the problem. However, this was unsuccessful and a full refund of my purchase was given.
I thoroughly enjoyed the story to the point where the tape was missing. It contains some strong language and is quite graphic, but there are moments of dark humour. I would recommend either the book or, if obtainable, a CD.
My own experience was a first and an unfortunate one, hopefully it is one which will not occur again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable holiday read, 19 Jun 2005
By 
Steve Cuss "Cusster" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
Yes this is a good read and a very intelligently structured plot and well drawn characters but I found much of the dialogue very "first draft" and there to move the plot along without actually being in character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP, 30 April 2005
By 
C. A. Mckee (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
Quite simply, read this book! Its complex plot is broken down nicely by crazy/sadistic humour. If you are interested in crime/thriller books, then this is a bit of a change. There is a beautifully fluent transition between the tradegy of death and the stupidity of the main character's actions...
Its cheap, its ace, just read it and be surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Preachy but promising, 14 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
Liberal left-winger with a taste for pacey modern thrillers? If you also enjoy improbable, big-budget action movies, you have enough in common with the author to try this debut novel. It has three faults. There's a tendency to preachy exposition about the evils of private industry and the political right. There's a terrible piece of business about computer hacking half way through. And the violence isn't quite as shocking as the publishers would have you believe (sorry!). Otherwise this is an up-market action adventure that falls somewhere between the TV adventures of Inspector Morse and Die Hard the movie - popcorn entertainment with a thick veneer of intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trying to shock, 29 April 2005
By 
G. Thulbourn (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
A reasonable read; keeps you tied in figuring where it is heading. Slightly unnecessary, and unrealistic, gruesomeness. Tries to score major political points about the NHS being 'privatised' and modern free market culture.
Supposedly has people laughing out loud, but seems more ironic to me. Don't think it will have me rushing back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant first novel, 25 May 2002
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
This book will get you hooked on Christopher Brookmeyer. You will belive there are hospital trusts out there that are run in such a corrupt manner.
Look around you next time you go to hospital and see if the money is being spent on nursing or the management suite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars gross, 10 April 2013
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
seeing lots of good reviews for Brookmyre, i was excited to get the chance to read this.

all the worse to have expectation dashed. Mostly revolting images and stupid depictions of a grissly murder in the first chapter were tolerated and i moved on to chapter two. the hero was introduced in a similarly exaggerated sense.
then i just lost it . overwhelmed by the arch characterisations, heavily punctuated with swearing and profanity.

when the villain arrives it is all too much for me. the book is binned.

having grown up on Chandler and Ross Macdonald this was unsubtle crap. i suspect that within months it will seem very dated indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 23 Aug 2010
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
Book in condition descibed but a bonus as signed by author.
postal fantastic - received within 2 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice book cover., 25 Aug 2005
By 
MSC (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
Not sure what this book was meant to be, crime or humour, unfortunately it fell somewhere between the two.
The plot line was weak, to the point of being unbelievable, the characters were only 2 dimensional, the political jokes (or was it posturing) was 10 years out of date. I disliked Margaret Thatcher as much as anyone, she wasn't funny when she was in power and isn't funny now.
Although the story was set in Edinburgh the only Scottishness in the book some of the dialogue in the first few chapters otherwise it could have been set anywhere in the UK.
By the end I was just reading the book to just finish it. Nice book cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quite Ugly One Morning
Quite Ugly One Morning by Christopher Brookmyre (Paperback - 3 July 1997)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews