Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contains all a first novel shoud: violence, murder & comedy
I read this recently after a friend had recommended it sometime ago. I can only say I wish I'd read it sooner. This is a great first book, with all the fresh, dynamic offerings of great first novels such as Last Exit To Brooklyn (Selby), The Wasp Factory (Banks), and Less Than Zero (Ellis).
The basic plot is about the truly horrendous murder of a doctor in...
Published on 22 Jan 2003 by R. Fox

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but only just...
Another book bought on the recommendation of Amazon. The book got off to a superb start with a gruesome murder, but a lot of great humour from the investigating police. I also enjoyed the fact that I recognised all the places mentioned in the book even though they had ficticious names. This helped greatly in picturing the various scenes throughout the book. Throughout the...
Published on 30 Aug 2002 by GordonR


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Darn good read, 5 April 2006
By 
A. Carr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
This book is quite simply a breath of fresh air.
The first chapter alone sets the scene for what will become the trademark conspiracy-ladden world that is Brookmyre's. Quite simply if you are not laughing in disbelief by the end of the first chapter you should check your pulse.
Yes some of the themes now seem a little dated but they are still very relevant and we all like reading about how the great have fallen.
Simply - wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a ride!, 26 Dec 2004
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
Not for the faint hearted - this story sure packs a punch. Quite simply one of the wittiest, sickest, slapstick, intriging, black and brilliant books I have read for a long time.
Christopher Brookmyre's writing style is fresh and rich and sick and twisted as this plot meanders through the underbelly of NHS schemes and political agenda's that play out in the colourful backdeop of Edinburgh.
The first chapter had tears of laughter rolling down my cheeks as it described the most disgusting scene - but so brilliantly written that it seemed glorious.
Pure genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story that just keeps getting better as it moves along!, 10 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
Bought this book 'cause it has such a colorful cover while attending the Fringe in Edinburgh. Started reading it on the plane back to the US and could not put it down - damn near didn't go back to work until I'd finished it. Great story - even with the gore, which certainly adds to the character studies. I've just ordered all his other books via amazon 'cause I can't get them in the US. If they're half as good as this one, WOW. Good work, sir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly one of the best books ever!, 23 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
An excellent, funny, superb book, which had me hooked from the first line!!!! A great debut! I have read Mr Brookmyre's other book country and it is also superb, but this is still the sharp original and i will ask to be buried with this book, it might give heaven a laugh!!
I heartily recommend this book to every god damn human being on the planet!!
Oh and if Mr. Brookmyre or any TV Execs are reading this it would be a smash movie and the only man good enough to do Jack Parlabane justice has to be john Hannah!! Come on do it for me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first novel, moving from farce to thriller, 1 Jun 2005
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
Christopher Brookmyre's first novel won instant critical acclaim. It's a fast-paced, off-beat thriller which begins as a farce and develops a critical political agenda as the storyline unfolds. Written against a background, or at least a legacy of Thatcher's Britain, Brookmyre explores the world of privatised medicine, hospital trusts, and the onslaught on the National Health Service launched by the Iron Lady's regime.
The hero of the novel is an investigative journalist by the name of Jack Parlabane, newly returned to Edinburgh from a spell in Los Angeles. There's a certain irony in the choice - Brookmyre was himself a journalist, but investigative journalism was fast disappearing in the face of the cult of celebrity and newspapers and magazines devoting themselves to the profits of pap, pulp, and conspicuous consumption ... not to mention adverts for privatised medicine.
Parlabane, however, sets about investigating the murder of his neighbour, aided by a couple of female sidekicks. At least half the characters in the book bear the names of famous fictional detectives or villains, so there's an element of homage here. There's also a real element of anger - the NHS was being as violently assaulted as the murder victim, and Brookmyre makes a point that elements of the medical profession were quite happy to collaborate in this. He delivers a stinging commentary on the career structure of medicine, in which status and profits come before patients and care ... and politicians and hospital administrators pretended they weren't just barrow boys in expensive suits - "You wanna cheap liver, guv?"
Edinburgh also comes in for a bit of a bashing in places - it's a city which has been colonised by the English middle classes and which has lost (many in Scotland would say sold out) much of its Scottish identity. There's a distinctly Scots angle to Brookmyre's writing, even if his use of Scots language is kept to a minimum - every Scots writer has to make a decision about writing in English or Scots, the decision being heavily constrained by the fact that no publisher is going to publish anything which can't be marketed to an English-speaking audience.
A funny, entertaining, and page-turning novel, it is marred in places by too much exposition. It follows a plot-driven dynamic rather a character-driven one, but it's definitely a very good read and a novel which will have you looking for more ("Country of the Blind" is the next title).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully crafted comedy, 20 Oct 2013
I was laughing out loud from literally the first sentence. Beautifully crafted comedy. First class.

Natasha Holme
Author of 'Lesbian Crushes and Bulimia: A Diary on How I Acquired my Eating Disorder'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a good read!, 8 Sep 2013
This I a fantastically written book and a very good start to the series.

I was recommended to read this by a friend, I've not stopped thanking them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio Version Is Fantastic!, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Tara Jordan (Roanoke, Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Audio CD)
This is a review specifically for the audio version of this book. I enjoyed the story itself, but when coupled with the terrific talent of David Tennant as the narrator, the great story becomes spectacular on audio! David is an extraordinarily talented audio book reader who effortlessly creates distinct voices for each character in the story. His accents are wonderful, his delivery and timing are spot-on, and he leaves you wishing that there were twice as many CD's in the package!
.
As for the story, it's a wonderful murder mystery with a gritty feel to it. It does get a bit graphic in some parts, so if you're squeamish, that's something to note. Otherwise, it's a really intense, gripping journey through the world of police investigation and the National Health system.
.
I highly recommend this audio book. I've listened to it several times now, and I love it all over again each time. I hope you enjoy it, too!
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick sense of humour, 26 Mar 2009
By 
P. Innes (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Paperback)
This was the first of Brookmyre's books that I read. He has a very sick sense of humour which appeals to me. It's nice to read a book that is close to your home town and helps the imagination. As soon as I finished reading this I went out and bought All fun and games until someone loses an eye - again very funny. I am now hooked on Brookmyre!!

If you want very realistic plots these books probably arent for you as some are far fetched but will give you 'big belly laughs'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars QUITE UGLY ONE MORNING, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. P. G. Dawes (Telford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quite Ugly One Morning (Audio CD)
Tartan Noir is the best description I have seen for this writer & this book.Very gory but interesting,David Tennant is excellent as the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quite Ugly One Morning
Quite Ugly One Morning by Christopher Brookmyre (Paperback - 3 July 1997)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews