Customer Reviews


326 Reviews
5 star:
 (273)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read
This book has over 800 pages and even its own index, but don't let that scare you off. It is far from being a boring historical report on the events surrounding his life. If you want to know what he did, go to an encyclopedia and read such a historical report. If you want to know Nelson Mandela, to know his way of thinking, to feel every emotion as he feels it, to really...
Published on 3 Jun 2007 by somevietnameseguy

versus
34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will the real Nelson Mandela step forward
This book is awesome in its coverage of such a historical event. It is an important read and everybody needs to understand the horror of the regime and the humility of the man. It reads as a clear diary stepping you along his long path helping you understand the changing picture and direction. Unfortunately it is the fact that it reads as an outline of events that is...
Published on 12 Jun 1999


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read, 3 Jun 2007
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela (Paperback)
This book has over 800 pages and even its own index, but don't let that scare you off. It is far from being a boring historical report on the events surrounding his life. If you want to know what he did, go to an encyclopedia and read such a historical report. If you want to know Nelson Mandela, to know his way of thinking, to feel every emotion as he feels it, to really get a picture of the pain he and the oppressed felt, read this book.

As the book progresses, the development of Mandela's character and his way of thinking is made apparent to the reader. Every emotion that Mandela feels is shared with the reader in a deeper way than in most autobiographies, as alongside his personal struggles, there is the struggle for freedom that can incite strong feelings of injustice and sympathy in anyone. This is definately an emotionally and politically heavy book, but there are several moments of light-heartedness where Mandela expresses certain past events with an irony or humour. As he looks back on certain bad experiences, he can laugh about it.

This is a man that everyone should learn about, and this is certainly the book to read in order to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory reading for all, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Laurence Dann "LD strategy" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela (Paperback)
I recall vividly the Christmas eve, sitting under the shade of farmhouse
trees near Sea View, in the Eastern Cape of South Africa when I read this
tomb of a book a few years ago. Instead of later going inside to prepare a
festive meal, I continued reading, riveted to the very end.

Having grown up in South Africa, many of the events, names and faces mentioned
in the book were a summary of the history of my own surroundings. The book not
only shocked and interested me, but left me with an overwhelming debt of gratitude
for the bravery and risks Nelson Mandela took (and many others around him) for the
benefit of others. He taught not only his nation, but the world to be forgiving and
fearless. To use our hearts and minds to ensure society is just, free and fair.

How Nelson Mandela managed to keep his own organisation functioning purposefully in a
sensible direction, when so many where oppressed, harmed and disadvantaged is a
leadership conundrum I will struggle to resolve. His charisma and dedication to the cause
will have him immortalised and his fans loyal for generations.

The book takes the reader from his humble, yet important roots from a rural childhood,
to his early days in Johannesburg and then on to become a Freedom Fighter. On the run
as the Black Pimpernel, the Rivonia Trials, the Dark Years on Robben Island and then
Talking with the enemy were the most interesting sections of the book for me.

Reading the book in one lengthy sitting exhausted me emotionally. The enormity of
Madiba's gift to all of us is huge. Man's inhumanity to man, where wonderful people
were discriminated against is hard to fathom. Apartheid is an evil that will be reflected
in history as one of the very worst atrocities.

This book does in parts go into details that people such as myself, having lived in
South Africa, would savour but could prove at times to be long winded for others. That
said, it is more than worth the effort. At the very worst, this is a fascinating and
interesting book. At best, it should be mandatory reading for all of us. I recommend
it extremely highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 22 July 2006
By 
C. Ferranti-Donavellas "Tv Teen" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela (Paperback)
I will admit that as a twenty year oldguy i have not really read a whole book in my entire life..with other media like television stealing my mind, books have not really appealed to me. I dont know why i bought this book, but i can tell you that from the first page i becam glued!!! I read it at every oppurtunity i had from when i had breaks at work...to when i was goin to sleep. This book has a hook in every chapter that makes you want to read on. My friends and I knew nothing of Nelson Mandela ebfore i read this book, apart from this image that he was a hero. I now understand why, and idolise this man who dedicated his life to give the people of South Africa the right to live. This book covers everything from his early childhood, through to the ANC, His imprisonment at Robben Island...right up to the freedom that he achieved. I am not a professinal crtic, and i have no real great words in my mind that could the describe this book to its fullest...so all i will say is its AMAZING, and that if you havent read this book...do...it will make you think twice about the world we live in and understand the goodwill in people throughout this world...my next task is to read up on Winnie Mandela..who would of thought i would become a book freak!!! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 25 Oct 2001
This review is from: Long Walk to Freedom (Hardcover)
This is a long book, but extremely worthwhile in its insights into South Africa as well as to Nelson Mandela himself. I got a real feeling from this book of what it feels like to live in a society where the state is constantly tightening the screws on your rights and freedoms. The contrast between the way that Mandela is treated outside the country (as a scholar and statesman) and at home (as a dangerous terrorist and member of a racial underclass) comes over most strongly.
Mandela's tales of prison life (of 27 years) also give an insight into the way that the political mind works. Where many would have succumbed to desperation and terminal introspection, Mandela is still compelled to debate, to organise, to protest and to educate. Finally, Robben Island was widely considered an "ANC University", and the authorities were still afraid of Mandela and his colleagues even after they had been in prison for two decades.
A fascinating personal history of one the key conflicts of the 20th century, and a must for students of democracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic/compelling!, 18 July 2005
By 
Mrs. J. Ruddell (Waterlooville, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk to Freedom (Hardcover)
What a read! I like many people of my age (50's) had heard about N.M. thoughout my life. Whilst he was a man I greatly admired, I knew little about his early life and felt I wanted to know why such a good man felt the need to turn to violence. A useful insight in todays world. I started the book wanting to know more about him but was a little daunted by the books length and feared it would be 'heavy going'. How wrong I was, I can honestly say it is one of the best books I have ever read. Factually compelling and at the same time so easy to read. I still have 80 pages to go and I am reading them very slowly just because I don't want this book to end. Buy it....it is the story of a really remarkable man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible & inspirational, 27 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela (Paperback)
Having grown up in the 70's and 80's I was aware of Nelson Mandela, that he had been in prison and released. I was not aware really what it was all about. This book is a fantastic story told in a great way, with reality hard to imagine for someone in the UK. Whatever reason you are looking at this page, make sure you read this book - modern history has never been so interesting (especially if you think that 'thats not for me'). Inspirational says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiring Figure, 5 Mar 2008
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Audio CD)
This is an excellent audio CD. Read by Danny Glover its tells the story of Nelson Mandella in Nelson's own words.

Starting from the very humble beginnings its tells of Nelsons journey from his tribal start through his joining the ANC, his reasoning into why he started a small army set upon sabotage, his arrest, trial and release.

What comes to front of your mind is Nelsons unbelievable belief in what he is doing. He has a vision in mind for how he wants South Africa to be and nothing can shake this. All of his actions are taken in alignment with this belief. As he has, he is willing to give his life for his people and he is willing also to die for his people.

The story has many fascinating inside some personal such as his family life and marriages, and some quite deep insight into how a man becomes a leader.

The only downside to this audio CD for me , was the sometimes monotonous and uninspiring voice of Danny Glover (Lethal Weapon) a strange choice for such an inspiring speaker, and the difficulties I particular had with the pronunciation of South African names and places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond any story, 28 Nov 2004
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela (Paperback)
This book is beyond any books your are most likely to read. It may seem scary and more like a burden to read at first, but as soon as you read the first page, Mandela's story is unforgettable.
It is eloquent, personal and vivid. It has as much excitement, action, emotion and thrilling material as the greatest work of fiction, yet it is too real too be unreal...if I am not making any sense just do yourself a favour and read the book.
It will give you the kind of inspiration and hope in humanity that no 'fairy tale' or 'work of imagination' ever could. Anyone and Everyone can read this book and take something from it...I'm fourteen and I feel like I have learnt something more useful than most of the things I am taught in school!
Nelson Madela is one of history's few great leaders and if you are in the position to be able to read his story, read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional man, 19 Oct 2006
By 
A. K. Stewart (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom (Audio CD)
What a remarkable man. From humble origins in an african village, he is a man with exceptionally strong values and sense of justice. Although the details of South African politics was sometimes a bit dull. It astounded me how much self sacrifice this man made, for what he felt so strongly about. It reminded me a little of Che Guevara and how the human spirit of care and empathy can rise up into a powerful force for change. There is a sadness though - all that he sacrificed in life and love... but for the people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Natural Story-Teller, 6 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Long Walk To Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela (Paperback)
Mandela combines the gift of a natural story-teller with a lawyer's skill in presenting his tale, and from the evocative pictures drawn of his childhood in a rural tribal settlement to the impulsive adventures of youth in Johannesburg, there is an unerring sense of destiny. The image of the run-away youngster gives a telling hint of the spirited courage Mandela would need later when he took on the mantle of political pioneer in a national cause.
The sense of destiny is also there in the long years of imprisonment when Mandela's patience and tolerance are fully tested by the cruelties of long-term confinement. His accounts of rare visits from family and friends, equally rare letters, read and re-read, plus living with memories and photographs of people and places last seen up to two decades before, all have an authentic and poignant ring. Far from being dull or monotonous, the account of the years in prison is absorbing, as Mandela has a gift for bringing alive some colourful anecdotes.
Mandela manages to smooth over some events such as the circumstances of his arrest, his deteriorating relations with Winnie, and whose idea it really was to open negotiations with de Klerk, since I remain unconvinced he could have really been operating outside of previously agreed ANC criteria. However quite enough information is provided to make a full story, and nothing can detract from Mandela's towering achievement in delivering a fledgling democracy without an accompanying and much-feared bloodbath.
The many references Mandela makes to being a "freedom fighter," and his backing for the use of arms in the struggle against apartheid, could read uncomfortably in the light of more recent global terrorism concerns, and it is clear that only someone with his natural integrity could have harnessed those energies to such a constructive outcome.
Heroism, adventure, the fulfilment of destiny following a long period of adversity, plus a measure of the politician's polish in smoothing over the awkward passages, all combine to make Mandela's autobiography a great read. His fluent use of the English language alone makes the book worthwhile , and having finished it I found myself missing the companionable authority of the author's tone. The book as whole helped me to glimpse the workings of the mind of a great statesman at some key historic moments. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Walk To Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela
Long Walk To Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela by Nelson Mandela (Paperback - 12 Oct 1995)
13.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews