Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Thoroughly recommended.
I was not a huge Elvis Presley fan when I started reading the first volume of Guralnick's superb biography of "The King".However, once I started the book, I was both entralled and it sent me to the records. For me, there can be no higher praise for a music biography. Guralnick tells the story of Elvis's upbringing, his early career and finally his entry into the...
Published on 4 Oct 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not in good condition
This product arrived on time and was sent through the letter box when I opened the packaging the product was damaged and the front cover was damaged and so was the back cover and a few pages, it was a present for my nan she was pleased with it but was a bit disgusted the condition of it and felt like I was giving her a rubbish present
Published 1 month ago by shell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Thoroughly recommended., 4 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley (Paperback)
I was not a huge Elvis Presley fan when I started reading the first volume of Guralnick's superb biography of "The King".However, once I started the book, I was both entralled and it sent me to the records. For me, there can be no higher praise for a music biography. Guralnick tells the story of Elvis's upbringing, his early career and finally his entry into the US Army. It portrays him as a shy and genuine adolescent who went on to change the music business and inspire millions.
As well as looking at Elvis's early life and career, Guralnick turns the spotlight onto other remarkable characters in the story, such as Elvis's parents; Sam Phillips, the founder of Sun records; Dewey Phillips, the Memphis DJ; Elvis's bandmates; and of course the svengali manager 'Colonel' Tom Parker.In this account of Elvis's rise, we are also given an interesting account of the mechanics of the music business and the growing importance of American radio and television at this time. Guralnick manages to offer a portrait of Elvis that cuts through many myths, as well as a fascinating insight into his first concerts and early recording sessions at Sun Studios in Memephis. This is a superb, definitive account of Elvis's rise to fame.Overall, a highly recommended biography that I found difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - a genuine biography of Elvis, 28 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley (Paperback)
I have bought many books, in the past which claimed to 'tell the true story of Elvis Presley - only to be bitterly disappointed to find that the books just reiteratered the myths surrounding Elvis and told little of the man himself, but at last, reading this biography, I feel as if I have actually learned something. The book gives an appreciation of what life was like for Elvis during his early career and helps the reader understand the effect this must have had on him. I have already put in my order for Careless Love: The Unmaking of Elvis Presley which is the follow on book from this - giving Elvis's story from the Army onwards
- can't wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Train to Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley, 27 April 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley (Paperback)
I have never read a biography of Elvis before and, searching around, this seemed to be the one which most fans were praising as a serious look at the man and what made him who he was. It is a huge volume and only the first of two books to cover his life, but, to be honest, it could have been even longer. The story was so interesting that you are happy to invest your time and go along for the ride. This enormous biography takes Elvis from his birth in 1935, through his gradual rise to stardom and on to the death of his beloved mother. The author meticulously lists every live concert date, every record and every film made, but that is not all the book is about. As well as explaining how and why Elvis became the huge star he became, it explains who he was. The gentle boy who loved his mother and who never seemed to be anything other than caring (if a little fickle) with his many girlfriends, who was spiritual and clean living - warning his mother against the horrors of drink when she had a beer late at night, who seemed so lonely he ended up with a local entourage to protect and keep him company, was also, undeniably, a very ambitious man. Ambitious not only because he loved music, but because he had risen from poverty and had no intention of going back there, although more because he wanted to care for his parents, with whom he had a very close relationship, than for any personal gain. Also, a man who seemed to prefer to leave any difficulty to the Colonel and slip out from the requirements of personal responsibility at times - not acknowedging the bitterness of Scotty Moore and Bill Black for example, until they resigned in anger at how they were treated financially. This really is THE Elvis biography and continues with Careless Love: The Unmaking of Elvis Presley, which I am really looking forward to reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read it!, 30 Aug 2002
By 
Ms. D. Meylanova (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley (Paperback)
(Speaking as a fan) I have read several books about Elvis, and many articles, but I have never found anything that increased my understanding particularly. This book does, to a greater degree than I could have expected. When I'm confused by off-the-point/embarrassed/obsessed fans, incomprehending sceptics etc etc, this book helps me out - it is quite of the highest standard in depth of understanding, humanity and literary quality. I'd give it six stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' Read!, 11 July 2011
This review is from: Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley (Paperback)
This is an amazing book, charting the rise of Elvis from birth until
1958. Guralnick paints such an insight into Elvis' world, so that you really do feel as if you are watching from outside of the bubble, listening and watching all these amazing events unfold.
It also provides untold historical detail about Sun records, and all of the other acts that were evolving around the same time as Elvis. It made me realise just how out of the box Elvis was for his time, and how he shaped the future of music and rock n roll forever.

The King really shines through when reading, I couldnt put this book down, and cant recommend it enough. A must for not only Elvis lovers, but for all lovers of real music in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will find no better book than this on Elvis, 8 July 2004
This review is from: Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Peter Guralnick captures the feel of the times and the excitement of elvis' rise to success with effortlessly readable prose. He obviously talked to everyone who was anyone in elvis' life, and gives us the benefit of countless small insights as a result of what must have been years of research. I can't praise this book enough. Even if you're not an Elvis fan please give it a try - you won't be disappointed. ( and no, I don't work for the publishers!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, 29 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley (Paperback)
As Bob says, you can feel Elvis breathe when you read this book...
It is the most detailed and fascinating book I have read on ANY subject.
Peter Guralnick is an amazingly compassionate writer, to the extent that you cannot help but love Elvis when you read Last Train to Memphis.
Buy it... you will not be disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 12 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley (Paperback)
THE biography of the early years of that amazing man from Tupelo. Written by a sympathetic fan, who acknowledges Elvis' faults but doesn't exaggerate them - neither does he overhype his greatness.
Relive the moment that Elvis crystallised his rockabilly style after many hours of fruitless work in Sun Studios; the long road tours; the hassle from the authorities; the grief at the loss of his mother. It is all here.
A better biography of the man will never be written. Elvis (probably) is dead - but he lives again on these pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite brilliant, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Friend of Dorothy (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley (Paperback)
This and the second volume, Careless Love, constitute the best biography I've read of a major star. The author is so thorough that you almost feel you've lived Elvis's life - or at least been there at his side. I agree with another reviewer that the pages on Elvis's childhood and early career are a little slow, but it's worth sticking with them because the rest of his life was lived at supersonic speed.

And this is not a partisan, fan's-eye view of Presley. It's a cool, almost cerebral, treatment that will satisfy readers who want something more profound than a rundown of The King's greatest hits. I really admire Peter Guralnick and salute him for this superb biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absorbing account of the "King's" early career, 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley (Paperback)
Elvis Presley's musical career pre-dates me by one generation though I've always been aware of his legacy and, of course, his early rock'n'roll hits are central to the development of youth culture and popular music in the mid 20th century. The man will still be an icon a hundred years from now.

Guralnick's biography takes the reader into every aspect of Elvis's childhood, adolescence and subsequent meteoric rise to fame and fortune by the time he reached his early 20s. The book is brimming with intimate details about Elvis's passion for country, blues and gospel, his burning desire to sing and perform, his devotion to family and friends and ambition to make it in Hollywood. Guralinick details every minutae of Elvis's Sun Studio recordings with Sam Phillips and subsequent RCA releases, as well as the relentless tours and TV appearances where his wild eyed, hip swinging antics shocked middle class America but left millions of their kids screaming for more. What comes through is how Elvis's modest origins, religious sensibilities and stable family life more or less kept him away from the vices that afflicted so many other showbiz celebrities of that era. The book ends with the death of his mother - to whom he was devoted - just before he went into the army in 1958, which was probably the main turning point in his life; from then on Elvis's life became darker and much more complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley
Last Train To Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley by Peter Guralnick (Paperback - 2 Nov 1995)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews