Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glamour & Excess: The road to hell
Danny Sugerman's book is simply fantastic . He portrays so well the "glamour" of sex drugs and rock 'n' roll that you almost wish you were him.
That is up until it all starts going wrong and your friends start dying and you are told you've only a week to live if you carry on your 'glamorous" lifestyle.
A book that you will smile about when you think about it and...
Published on 7 Feb. 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tales of Glamour and Excess
The book chronicles, in graphic detail, the decadence of the LA rock and roll lifestyle, lived to its most degrading and shocking extremes.
Published 18 months ago by rutazzurra


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the most amazing books I have ever read in my entire life, 7 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
This is one of the most amazing books I have ever read in my entire life. I will admit at the beginning there was perhaps a bit too much time dedicated to his early childhood but I suppose if you are interested in that part of his life that is a good thing. He was so honest throughout the book admitting all of his shortcomings. T It was so exciting hearing all about Iggy Pop and the doors. I wanted to know more about Tiffany as she seemed like such an interesting individual who lived such a difficult life. It is an absolute must read!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old favourite, 20 Oct. 2008
By 
Julie Barnard (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
I just finished reading this book for the second time. I read it years ago and recently found it whilst having a "clean-out".

I have to say that I felt incredibly uncomfortable the whole way through, however I couldn't stop reading. This book really provokes emotion and is shocking, in that some people actually live their lives as heroin addicts!

This book is highly recommended and is undoubtedly one that you wont be able to forget easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had profound effects, 12 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
I just finished this book and wish, as other the other readers have said, to read again and again. This book is uplifting, profound, deep, full of advise, depressing, sad and insanely funny. Danny Sugerman not only compels you and involves you in his story telling but he also chews you up with him. I think that anyone who likes clubbing, is excessive and loves music will just find so much to relate to and be inspired by in this book. I'll beg all of those 'diamonds' out there to read this book and glow with excitement! This book is just so encouraging, follow your heart everyone and live your lives, not someone else's....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read., 26 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
This is simply one of the best books I've ever read. If you've read books like BlowBack and Marching Powder this is definitely for you. Couldn't put it down start to end. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately in my top 5 favorite books ever!, 22 Jan. 2010
By 
D. Mills "dmnz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
I'm a huge Doors fan and I was really worried when I started reading Wonderland Avenue that it wouldnt live up to what all my friends were building it up to be, but it far exceeded my expectations, absolutely loved it. Just started reading No One Here Gets Out Alive, can only hope this is anything like as good!
Would highly recomend this to any Doors or Iggy fan, word of advise however, if you start, do NOT quit the book part way through, the end is so crucial to the body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tales of Glamour and Excess, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
The book chronicles, in graphic detail, the decadence of the LA rock and roll lifestyle, lived to its most degrading and shocking extremes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, enjoyable and almost unbelievable., 28 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
Wonderland Avenue is the biography of Danny Sugerman, prodigal playboy and erstwhile manager of The Doors. The book covers his childhood, teenage years and twenties and is a tale of excess beyond any other I have read, perhaps excepting "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas".
Estranged from his mother and stepfather at an early age, Sugerman quickly became involved in the LA club scene. He remarks that club doormen knew he was under age but allowed him entry because "he drinks his weight in booze every night." Regular alcohol abuse soon led to extreme alcohol abuse and thence into the familiar downward spiral from one hallucinogen to another, with ever-increasing intensity. Added to the mix are Sugerman's adulation of Jim Morrison, erratic friendship with Iggy Pop and unswerving principle that heroin smoked is a class above heroin injected.
Sugerman's life was ruined by heroin, and he is at pains to point out this out. Anyone who reads Wonderland Avenue will understand not only how he became hooked on heroin but also why he decided to go straight. His current all-consuming fear of heroin is rooted in his recognition of how close he really came to total destruction. Wonderland Avenue's last chapter simply lists all the book's characters and their current status. Ninety percent are dead, mostly as a result of their addictions.
Wonderland Avenue evocatively captures Sugerman's excitement and awe at being part of the happening rock scene, an awe so fundamental that even as narrator Sugerman's wonder at it all still shines clearly through. He also manages to impart some sense of the collective arrogance that underpinned his and his friends' behaviour, and one is also left amazed that so much illegality can go unnoticed and unpunished for so long. Sugerman's lifestyle was sociopathic, extravagant, lavish, uncompromising, and above all self-indulgent, and in Wonderland Avenue he manages to elicit at the same time a sympathy for his ultimate fall and an envy at how much fun he had getting there. As Sugerman himself says, "Shine on, you crazy diamonds".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it when you're young, it'll stay with you., 6 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
I was 18 when I first came across this gem. In fact it was probably the first book I read because I wanted to rather than being forced to. I was hooked from the start and have returned several times to remind myself of the dangers of excess. Apart from the rock connection, the story is a blatantly honest accout of how to loose it at a very young age and live. Anyone intreagued by the mysteries of drugs would probably think twice after reading this. Read it at an early age and learn quickly what will take others many years to realise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rock and Roll Book Ever, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
If you love the Doors this is a must read you will not be disappointed its a cover to cover read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Break on Through, 26 Sept. 2003
By 
will barnes (London England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
Danny Sugerman is tremendously talented writer and I think his talent is rewarded most of all in Wonderland Avenue.Written almost as an autobiography the book takes us through Sugerman's rebellious adolescent years constantly at war with his oppressive stepfather through his infactuation with the whole attitude of rock music and in particular Jim Morrison and the Doors.
From then it is as clear an insight as you'll ever get in to what was truly an epoch defining era.An era and a movement that Sugerman was clearly in awe and in love with.Its this love that leads him down some dark paths with some tragic and deeply touching moments,coupled with the comic narrative that is present throughout makes this book a true classic and a stark and brutal look at the sex,drugs and rock and roll culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books)
Wonderland Avenue: Tales of Glamour and Excess (Abacus Books) by Danny Sugerman (Paperback - 17 Jan. 1991)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews