Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The novel with everything
This book has everything: comedy, drama, mystery, love, ghosts, madness, tragedy, brilliant characters, many separate but interwoven stories, plus a philosophical/emotional investigation into the beginning and end of the universe, time, death and the star dust we're all made of. Compassionate, funny, brilliant.
Published on 28 July 2005 by Avis Sheridan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Immature light comedy
I've long enjoyed Peter Ackroyd's work - he has a talent for well researched, atmospheric, intriguing historical novels. Not here. Ackroyd displays limited knowledge of the key themes of the work: for instance, in astronomy you can't declare a star was 'in the east 3000 years ago' when the world spins every 24 hours and there are other clumsy errors which an editor should...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Mark R. N. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Immature light comedy, 8 July 2010
By 
Mark R. N. Jones (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Light (Paperback)
I've long enjoyed Peter Ackroyd's work - he has a talent for well researched, atmospheric, intriguing historical novels. Not here. Ackroyd displays limited knowledge of the key themes of the work: for instance, in astronomy you can't declare a star was 'in the east 3000 years ago' when the world spins every 24 hours and there are other clumsy errors which an editor should have noted. Such technical niggles might be ignored if the rest was up to scratch, but there is instead a vaguely mystical message about time with a supporting cast of dubiously comic characters (two butch lesbians, a gay antique dealer, yokels, new age feminists). I persevered but it was an effort. Was this an juvenile work released on the back of his later reputation?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What on earth?, 26 Feb 2009
By 
N. Semmens (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: First Light (Paperback)
This is the only one of Peter Ackroyd's novels that I have read and I found it disappointing. The characters are caricatures, from the farmer and his sagely simple son to the unconvincingly ignorant and unsympathetic Lesbian from The Ministry. The metaphysical aspects are vague and inconsistent, the relevance of the star Aldebaran (a name given to it by Arabic speakers, of whom there were precious few in Bronze Age Britain) to the "Old Barren One" forced beyond reason. If you want satirical bucolic lampoon, Stella Gibbons did it far better in "Cold Comfort Farm". The skeleton of a much better novel lies within these pages; a shame that Ackroyd perhaps did not have the time or the vision to produce it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Passes the time, 18 July 2013
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: First Light (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
We expect a lot from the man who wrote 'Hawksmoor' and 'London, A Biography'. We expect, in fact, a lot better then this. If this were a first novel by an unknown writer, I suspect it would have sunk without a trace. It is reasonably entertaining in a pot-boiler sort of way, but it is severely below par for the master.

The characters vary, and some are caricatures; others fail to round out into real people. The research is lacking. If you are going to set a book in a particular expert field - a field in which there are a lot of very well-read and interested amateurs - you had better get it right. No-one knows better than Ackroyd how to bring a world to life, to pull us into the spell of time and place, but here he stumbles. Dorset is never conjured up in the smoky reality which London assumes beneath his pen (OK, word processor) and the description of Neolithic archaeology and archaeologists is embarassingly inept. One comes across so many howlers before one is far into the text that archaeology buffs had better leave this one severely alone. Probably astronomy buffs, too. Not a subject I know much about, but even I know that a light year is a measure of distance, not time.

Curiously enough, this isn't the first time I've seen an author come severely a cropper using archaeology as a setting. This is odd, because unlike some expert fields, there is an awful lot of popularised stuff out there, easily accessible. An author doesn't have to spend weeks in the British Museum library, they just have to turn on a television. Ackroyd should have known that many of his readers, lured to the book by a setting they were interested in, would be in a good position to know whether he'd got it right. Was this arrogance or just sloppiness?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The novel with everything, 28 July 2005
This review is from: First Light (Hardcover)
This book has everything: comedy, drama, mystery, love, ghosts, madness, tragedy, brilliant characters, many separate but interwoven stories, plus a philosophical/emotional investigation into the beginning and end of the universe, time, death and the star dust we're all made of. Compassionate, funny, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 8 Oct 2007
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: First Light (Paperback)
Contrary to many others books by Peter Ackroyd this one isn't set in London, but that doesn't diminish its merits in the least. If you've read and liked other books by Peter Ackroyd, or if you like intelligent historical novels in general you can't go wrong with this one.

Ackroyd is a master at creating a mood of suspense and untold secrets, the book is driven on by a very-well crafted plot, and peopled by captivating characters. Very very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Light (Abacus Books)
First Light (Abacus Books) by Peter Ackroyd (Paperback - 5 April 1990)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews