Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique!, 26 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Betty Blue (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
Told from a guy's perspective, this is a love story with a difference. The unnamed narrator (called Zorg in the film version) meets Betty, a beautiful and fiery character. She takes him away from his simple but mundane life after discovering manuscripts for a book he has written. After burning his bridges they embark on a journey through France making friends along the way. It says it was translated into English by H Buten but, sadly, it was translated into American. I found this perplexing and felt that some of the minutiae of the European culture on display was lost. Even the title, Betty Blue, is a testament to this because the original title, 37.2 Degrees in the Morning (a poignancy that I can't explain here without revealing a plot spoiler) doesn't translate to the American Fahrenheit system. What were the publishers thinking? Apparently this book is the only Philippe Dijian novel to be translated into English - I'm not surprised - he must be livid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the film - and that's hard to beat, 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Betty Blue (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
Philippe Djian - what an author!
A fantastic film - see it to believe it.
The book? Even better - brilliant! A book I found hard to put down. Anyone who had felt true love for another inspite of everything that is going on around them will understand this book - live it, and breathe it. Fantastic!
Why, oh why, oh why are there no more books translated into English! I will have to learn French!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 18 Feb 2013
This review is from: Betty Blue (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
This is such a lovely, inspiring book, if with a heart-breaking ending. So pleased to see it has only got five star reviews, because that is what it deserves. May I suggest seeing the director's cut of the film. About three hours long, it covers the book completely, with relatively few changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but tragic. Couldn't put it down., 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betty Blue (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
Brilliant but tragic, definitely one of the best books I have ever read and will no doubt read again at some point. The film is of course awesome too, but the book gets you so much more emotionally involved. A real life love story that most people who live in the real world can relate too. Couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written. Great story., 18 May 2010
By 
B. Holland (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Betty Blue (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
Well worth reading. I hope they translate more of Philippe Dijan's novels. I was very surprised that this is the only one in English so far. Do please contact me if you know of any other books of his in English, my French isn't that good. This one was clearly translated by an American but if you can get past the few americanisms that creep in you will thoroughly enjoy this. Only watch the film Betty Blue - Director's Cut [1986] [DVD]after you've read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All consuming passion., 14 Aug 2009
This review is from: Betty Blue (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
This is an amazing read and the desciptions of all the characters and places are extroadinarily colourful and vivid. You really do feel your there in the intense sweaty heat of the summer as the narrator falls in love with an all consuming passion.

Betty must be the most passionate and firey person on the planet and she turns our heros life upside down. When she finds he has written an unpublished manuscript she drags him from his small town existance accross the country on a mission to get it published.Never taking no for an answer Betty gets them into all sorts of trouble but also makes him feel incredibly alive.

There is an abundance of Life,zest,emotion and tragedy in Betty Blue. Once picked up i couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one's a treat!, 13 Nov 2000
This review is from: Betty Blue (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
It's a long time since I came across a book with such a 'voice' as this one. Believe the hype..'I couldn't put it down'...I couldn't. Achingly sensitive and a truly original writing style. I haven't seen the film, but it's got a lot to live up to. Pity I can't find any other books translated by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic story of true love, 7 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Betty Blue (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
This is quite simply the best book I've ever read. I completely adored the film - rated as one of my top five films of all time. But the book is even more vivid and compelling. An absolute must-read. PLEASE translate more books by this wonderful author!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely Amazing., 2 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Betty Blue (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
What an amazing book. This is a story that will always remain with you. You really feel for this couple and understand the emotions involved in their love. Betty is a wonderful character, so full of passion. This passion, which proceeds to map out her entire life. This book has everything: laughter, tears, romance and emotions. An unforgetable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wallpaper the inside of your head with the pages of this .., 29 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Betty Blue (Abacus Books) (Paperback)
I allways come back to this phenomenal book like a mentor,theres lines from it locked inside me that after 2 years STILL come back to me like the words of some cool older brother who you never see anymore..Im like everyone else..I GOTTA learn French now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Betty Blue (Abacus Books)
Betty Blue (Abacus Books) by Philippe Djian (Paperback - 7 Dec 1989)
10.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews