Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious stories from a slyly witty Mrs. Thirkell
Angela Thirkell is little known but writes with elegant and sly wit, describing the improbable inhabitants of High Rising, including the irrepressible Tony, mostly set in 1930's England. Some of the stories are set elsewhere but the deft touch of Mrs. Thirkell in rendering the absurdities of modern life into comedies of manners is unexcelled. Like spun sugar the stories...
Published 6 months ago by Carol C. Stone

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very disappointing collection of short stories
This is a very disappointing book, even for a fan who has read and reread all of her other books. First of all, it's mis-titled. It's a book of 8 short stories published in various magazines between 1928 and 1942, most of which have nothing to do with Christmas.The stories that do involve High Rising with Tony Morland and George Knox as key characters seem to be...
Published 26 days ago by Susan B. Hanley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious stories from a slyly witty Mrs. Thirkell, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Carol C. Stone (Berkeley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
Angela Thirkell is little known but writes with elegant and sly wit, describing the improbable inhabitants of High Rising, including the irrepressible Tony, mostly set in 1930's England. Some of the stories are set elsewhere but the deft touch of Mrs. Thirkell in rendering the absurdities of modern life into comedies of manners is unexcelled. Like spun sugar the stories melt on the mind and leave it hungry for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very disappointing collection of short stories, 6 July 2014
By 
Susan B. Hanley (Honolulu, HI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
This is a very disappointing book, even for a fan who has read and reread all of her other books. First of all, it's mis-titled. It's a book of 8 short stories published in various magazines between 1928 and 1942, most of which have nothing to do with Christmas.The stories that do involve High Rising with Tony Morland and George Knox as key characters seem to be caricatures of caricatures. And "The Private View" I found incomprehensible. I really enjoyed only two: "Shakespeare Did Not Dine Out," which spoofs dinner parties in his plays, and "A Nice Day in Town," which is about the frustrations of life in England in 1942 when you could buy almost nothing and none of the fish seemed fresh.

I bought this book having been warned by Amazon reviewers that it was short and not her best work. But being a fan, I bought it anyway. And I'm sorry I did. Most of the stories read as if Thirkell was contracted to write for a magazine and had to come up with something to meet a deadline. If you must own everything AT wrote, then I guess like me you will buy it. But if you have never read anything of hers, please, please do not start here. Get one of her earliest novels which are simply delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas at High Rising, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seven short stories and an essay about dinner parties in Shakespeare's plays make up this amusing selection of Angela Thirkell's writing. Both my mother and grandmother loved reading this author and I have read some of her work many years ago. It is good to see that her work is starting to be available again in e-book format and may thus reach new audiences.

These stories feature Tony Morland at various ages as well as his mother, Laura - a novelist, and the irascible biographer, George Knox. Love him or hate him, Tony Morland, the archetypal know it all school boy provides several amusing incidents in this lively collection of stories originally published in the nineteen thirties and forties.

My particular favourites in this collection are the first story - `Pantomime' and `A Nice Day in Town'. In `Pantomime' George Knox is full of the Christmas spirit and decides to take a party of children to the pantomime with predictable results. `A Nice Day in Town' sees Laura Morland battling with rationing and a series of errands on a trip to London. This collection is an entertaining and relaxing read showing ways of life which have virtually disappeared in the twenty first century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas at High Rising Angela Thirkell, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book. I have only just discovered Angela Thirkell and so glad I have. She is very amusing and I readily indulged in reading the book. I do recommend this to anyone. It is full of funny social comment and witty conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NICE LITTLE SAMPLE!, 18 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
As a newcomer to Angela Thirkell, this little book is a good first read to get the flavour of High Rising and the characters therein. I have also read the first novel, High Rising, so far, and I very much like Mrs. Morland and her son Tony, who is quite an upfront schoolboy, especially when it comes to trains and his model railway, etc. There is a good cross-section of residents in the villages that make up the storylines. Reading an author from a past period is always interesting as it is also of historical interest, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book, the plot, the period in which the story takes place and the fact that this was a new author for me with more books to read! Always a great discovery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars evocative read, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
I bought this to complement some other Christmas themed books I am laying by to read over the festive season but having already dipped into it I find myself very impressed with Angela Thirkell's writing. She brings the period to life so beautifully and I plan to start collecting the other books available by her,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing collection, 8 Feb 2014
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
This is a set of eight pieces, most of which are set at High Rising, the home of Laura Morland. It's a very slim volume and of the stories, two are very weak (the ones not set at High Rising, proving that Thirkell was right to remain loyal to Barsetshire in her novels) and a third is a non-fiction humorous essay on Shakespeare.
I loved the best of the stories though, especially Pantomime and St Valentine's Holiday. It's nice that Stoker the char lady has a bit of fun too, instead of remaining inside all the time. Here she joins the children, sliding along the frozen lake.
In the last installment, A Nice Day in Town, there is a hint of sadness as, towards the end and despite the jokes, we realize that Tony is a train-mad schoolboy no longer. A thin volume - I wish it were more chubby like Laura or indeed as stout as Stoker - but despite the acerbity, some of these tales are warm and witty mini-masterpieces and indeed it would be mean to deprive Laura, her family and friends of a Yuletide present of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Very Poor Buy., 17 Feb 2014
By 
M. N. Tanner (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) (Paperback)
Just some short stories written for certain publications.

Of the eight stories three were nothing to do with High Rising,or it's characters and I felt a bit cheated. Also the book was very short at 146 pages long. Not my best Angela Thirkell buy, so reader be warned.

Mac Tanner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC)
Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) by Angela Thirkell (Paperback - 21 Nov 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews