Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Romp...
This is not a 'celebrity' autobiography, a ghost-written TV tie-in, or a C-list Christmas stocking-filler luvvy fest. Rather it's a beautifully nuanced, elegantly written, and effortlessy moving memoir from an actor who really deserves to be more highly regarded in his profession - and our affections - than he currently is. That he can act AND write so beguilingly is...
Published on 17 Oct 2012 by Boot-Boy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bitter and cynical
I heard Rupert Everett reading a bit of this on the radio and it was very funny. Unfortunately, en masse, it really isn't funny any more, just sad and cynical. He does share some interesting insights into the whole Holywood thing, but without warmth it just feels like a building bitterness. Very disappointing. In fact, one of the few books I haven't finished in my life.
Published 17 months ago by Edie Reedie


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never a dull moment, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanished Years (Kindle Edition)
A very well written book which shows what a mixed up but delightful person he is - good company but not someone to rely on. Lots of very funny episodes described beautifully. He needs to grow up though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanished Years (Hardcover)
This is as good as Rupert Everett's first book and continues the fascinating insight into the man behind the name and what makes him tick. A great read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an entertaining well written book, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanished Years (Kindle Edition)
I read Rupert Everett's first book a couple of years ago. This is equally as good. He writes very well, has an excellent sense of humour, often used against himself, and is a careful observer of all that goes on around him.

Could have done without the graphic descriptions of what some of his friends and acquaintances get up to. However, all done with kindness and a tolerant attitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A LIFE!, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanished Years (Kindle Edition)
This well-written, occasionally outrageous, often outspoken,but poignant memoir contains more wonderful stories about the unconventional lifestyle of this gay British stage and TV actor, former Hollywood,movie star and somewhat reluctant charity worker. I could not put it down..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vanished Years Vanished Talent, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanished Years (Kindle Edition)
Such a disappointment after his wonderful early autobiography. I found the next instalment of this great actor's life story a mixture of rambling and self-indulgent recollection of trivia. A few moments of the great honesty and humour which lit up the author's first volume of autobiography were apparent but not enough to counterbalance the dross that dominates this second volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two stars vanished, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanished Years (Kindle Edition)
Vanished Years was a disappointment to me after Banana Skins. It was a rambling account of various episodes in his more recent life. This guy can write but Vanished Years gave me the impression of somewhat self-indulgent and excessively stylish writing. I didn't rush to resume reading in the way I did with his earlier more structured work - more of an autobiography than this one. Don't give up Rupert but a sharper focus and context next time please. Also a little less lewd would be preferable for me. Some of the heavy stuff made one feel uncomfortable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rupert Bare, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanished Years (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed "Red Carpets..." (Everett's first vol of autobiog) and looked forward to him getting his writerly act together a bit more with this. But, rather like his acting, after delivering a good half page he suddenly frumps it, apparently through lack of interest or energy. Long sections devoted to Nicky Haslam (!) and Issie Blow (??) aren't worth the candle, as he can't communicate what made them special to him – both come over as pains in the butt and a waste of his and our time. A shame, as he's bright, quirky, irreverent and honest. Will he gradually become the next Quentin Crisp? That'd be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanished Years (Kindle Edition)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanished Years (Paperback)
Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing folow up, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanished Years (Hardcover)
After Red Carpets etc I was really looking forward to this book. Sadly it is not a patch on the first and I am struggling to get through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vanished Years
Vanished Years by Rupert Everett (Paperback - 2 May 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews