Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
14
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2013
this is a typical "write a book of a film" instead of the other way round.Good plot but was a bit tame in places.Obvious there was going to be a series of books and I expect a t.v. series.Neverthe less a good read and value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I really enjoyed reading this book. It's my first into sy fy, and really enjoyed it. It gave you insights into the reason why they left earth, and the father and son relationship that gets stronger as the book goes on. It's a thrilling read and the the extra three stories at rear of the book are good too. This is my first review and do hope it's helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
A couple of the reviews promised a page-turner. It isn't, and what's more I often had to put it down feeling irked by the juvenile content. A futuristic human race with worm-hole travel abilities can't come up with a better weapon than a swiss-army sword? Even when annihilation threatens? Should they have stayed on Earth- the rest of the planet seems to have evolved sentience in a few hundred years..?

Too many holes, incongruities and B-movie story-lines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
Starts bad, goes down hill.
I Like M. Night Shalyalaman films like The Happening, The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable and now "After Earth", I'm not sure I want to see another one.
This is awful.
The Start is clumsy "You will call me Sir because I'm your dad and this sets the tone of the film".
The Setup of a meteor storm is unbelievable,
The Setting of Earth is just plain rubbish,
The Danger of the dad dying after being the only other person to survive a spaceship crash is lazy.
At the end you're routing for the monster (that they obviously had to have on board just in case they crashed with an young boy and his dad on board).

Seriously, watch this and tell me you're not rooting for the monster to eat the pair of them, you care that little about Smith and Smith Jr.

Awful film.

I don't care about my money, I want 2 hours of my life back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Initially a good storyline, I found it hard to put the book down. But it did'nt go into enough detail about the alien Skrel, and I was dissapointed with the abrupt ending of the main story, a bit of an anti-climax
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
This was bought for my daughter after we watched the movie together and she thinks it's better than the movie. It's re-lit her desire to read again, so I'm happy with this for that reason alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I bought this book and was amazed by the thrilling content

I have been reading all the time I have got because I wanted to complete the book and if you bought it which I`d really recommend you will be in the same situation
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
I really enjoyed it and would definately recommend it to a wide range of readers as there is something for everyone here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Disappointing. Not very believable. Probably works ok as a film where you don't have to think about the actual story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
this book keeps you on your toes from beginning to end,very well written.i look forward to more from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.