Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighhearted offshoot of Highlander
This is a short novella, an offshoot of the Highlander series.

In the year 928, the Dark King of the Unseelie (the nasty fairies), tricks and captures Aedan MacKinnon of Skye, great grandson of Kenneth McAlpin King of Scotland.

The Dark King promises to spare MacKinnon's clan if Aedon pledges to stay in the Dark Kingdom for five years. Aedon agrees,...
Published on 22 Sep 2006 by LEP

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE BEST BY FAR
I failed to see how many pages were in this book (112)when reading the product info page and was looking forward to losing myself for a few hours once this book arrived. It was so short it should not be classed as a novel. I am a huge Karen Marie Moning fan, but the book was so short, it was impossible to get caught up in the 2 main characters, there was no lead up to the...
Published on 8 July 2007 by 1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighhearted offshoot of Highlander, 22 Sep 2006
By 
LEP "LEP" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a short novella, an offshoot of the Highlander series.

In the year 928, the Dark King of the Unseelie (the nasty fairies), tricks and captures Aedan MacKinnon of Skye, great grandson of Kenneth McAlpin King of Scotland.

The Dark King promises to spare MacKinnon's clan if Aedon pledges to stay in the Dark Kingdom for five years. Aedon agrees, thinking that five years is little to give for the lives of his family. However, little does he know, but the the years are not human years but faery years - so he has pledged himself for five hundred years. The Dark King wishes to turn Aedan into his human assassin to wreck vengence on humans, as the Dark Seelie can not venture into mortal realm themselves.

The Seelie Queen (queen of the Light fae), cannot overturn the dark king's action, but vows that she will win the mortal back from the Dark Kingdom by using the concession that the King has had to make in any bargain between a mortal and fairy - there must be the possibility that the mortal can win his freedom. The Dark King therefore has conceded that at the end of his sentence, Aedan can win back his freedom and home, if by the end of one month he is loved by and in love with a mortal woman.

The Seelie Queen therefore chooses a woman and in dreams has her and Aedan fall in love.

Present day USA, Jane Sillee is an aspiring novelist whose stories keep getting rejected by publishers. She writes love stories about a dark highlander that she has dreamt about since she was a child. One day a tapestry is mysteriously delivered to her door. On it is the figure of a highlander standing in front of a castle. It is of course the man she has dreamt about and his name is woven into the tapestry. That night she finds herself naked on an island by a castle and thinks that she is dreaming again.

However, there is a problem with Jane saving her highlander. In order to survive the pain of the dark kingdom, Aedan has forgotten his mortal roots, his family, his name, his dreams and even how to be mortal man. She has to make him remember and turn from ice into a mortal again.

A lighthearted, amusing, tongue-in-cheek read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars intriguing passionate plot, enjoyable characters, and the delightful sense of humor, 19 Dec 2007
I rarely read anthologies or short stories, but since it was Karen Marie Moning I simply had to read this book--short or not--and I must say I was definitely NOT disappointed! Ms. Moning again writes a phenomenal story with a hero redeemed by love and two soulmates who find each other--which is my ultimate favorite type of storyline. This book may be short, but it is chalk full of passion, romance, adventure & fantasy. The story is about a tortured soul saved by a time traveling romance writer who must break an evil spell, and has a clever and witty storyline, time travel, well written characters and a lovely bonus is that it takes place in Scotland. Intersperced in the book I also appreciated the humor and chuckled often at Ms. Moning poking a wee bit of fun at her profession and love the play on Jane's last name, and also what a hysterical name for the kitten! I do not feel bad saying that yes, I wish this had been a full length novel what with the intriguing passionate plot, enjoyable characters, and the delightful sense of humor throughout this tale, but please do not let that stop you from reading a fabulous book! Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE BEST BY FAR, 8 July 2007
I failed to see how many pages were in this book (112)when reading the product info page and was looking forward to losing myself for a few hours once this book arrived. It was so short it should not be classed as a novel. I am a huge Karen Marie Moning fan, but the book was so short, it was impossible to get caught up in the 2 main characters, there was no lead up to the love story, it just went straight for the kill,no build up whatsoever and the love between the 2 characters was not believeable, it was difficult to believe the woman could be so in love with the man after physically being in his prescence for1 day(prior to this, she'd only dreamt of him) This is the least favourite of her books, so i would only recommend it once you have read all her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars story's good. Bonus material not so hot., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Dreaming (with Bonus Material) (Highlander) (Hardcover)
The bonus material seemed irrelevant, since the full stories in the highlander series are some of the best i've ever read.why put more frosting on a cake that is allredy yummy.
I wish there were more on the way.
The story itself is great but to short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars KMM always a pleasure reading, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't realise it was a short story until the book arrived, but as always, a very enjoyable read from the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet., 8 April 2012
By 
fudggie girl (wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say Karen moning writes exciting novels about sexy Highlanders that are always choc full of romance and other worldy goings on.This was very short story as novellas usually are and i wished when reading it could go on for a bit longer.Even though the author has written many books about time travel and Highland warriors they are always different and this one would have been one of her best if it was full length.3* though because it was just too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ****, 24 Jan 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book for me was an introduction to a new author, and I was not at all disappointed. The story is quite fun, and the writer's humor attracted me quite a lot. However a few more pages could've been added easily. The last pages of the book / the story seemed a little too cramped and the reader might get the "let's get this over with" feeling by the end.
All in all I dare say that the story of Jane and Aedon, however fun yet cramped is an entertaining quicky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 17 Oct 2007
I enjoyed this book. It is not the best thing you will ever read, but if you are looking for a typical romance to read then this is for you. I would note though, that this story can be found in the anthology 'Tapesry', along with stories by Sherrilyn Kenyon, Lynn Kurland and Madeline Hunter. All the stories in the anthology are very good, so I suggest buying that and reading all of them, rather than getting this single story. Althogh this one is a good read by itself as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Dreaming (with Bonus Material) (Highlander)
Into the Dreaming (with Bonus Material) (Highlander) by Karen Marie Moning (Hardcover - 24 April 2012)
11.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews