Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first of an amazing trilogy? definetly !!
This, the first of Dean Koontz's new trilogy of stories set in the town of Moonlight Bay, is another example of Koontz's ability to develop characters that you can really feel for. Another page turning experience that engrosses you into the heart of the action. Christopher Snow and his trusty dog are thrown into the heart of a government conspiracy with a twist,...
Published on 5 Feb 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Half a Book
Ive read a few Koontz books this year and this is the fourth that follows a similar theme. Scientific Experiments; yawn, its getting tedious.

On its own the book is fine but when I turned the last page I expected to see the remains of where a few hundered pages had been ripped out. It suddenly stops just when things get interestin...
Published on 28 Nov 2006 by EntertainMee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first of an amazing trilogy? definetly !!, 5 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Paperback)
This, the first of Dean Koontz's new trilogy of stories set in the town of Moonlight Bay, is another example of Koontz's ability to develop characters that you can really feel for. Another page turning experience that engrosses you into the heart of the action. Christopher Snow and his trusty dog are thrown into the heart of a government conspiracy with a twist, genetic defects with both horrific results but with a flipside resulting in characters that will leave you thinking...is that possible?!!
As you can tell i love this book, hell, i love all his books. The follow up book Sieze The Night is already available and i have read this also (see my review of that also) and again continues the saga, however it is important to note that the books are stand alone stories, reading one does not commit the reader to reading them all. Without any doubt Koontz has written a story that will captivate the reader and they, like myself, will no doubt want to follow the characters stories onwards.
A fine book from the king of horror, admittedly yes this book contains less frights than say a 'typical' Koontz novel but that's not the beauty of this book, it is the questions raised and the emotions brought on by the action of the book, a fast paced action that does indeed scare the reader at times, more than once I felt those wonderful Koontz induced shivers down my spine. Congratulations to the author on another wonderful example of how horror should be written!! BUY BUY BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, 28 May 2003
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Paperback)
Dean Koontz turns a 'freak' into a fully 3 dimensional human being and, more than that a hero. Whilst not in the same supernatural vein as many of his previous books, this is still a triumph for Koontz. Never before have I wanted to meet a character in book so much as I want to meet Christopher Snow. His condition (XP) an rare sunlight allergy makes him like a real life vampire, but without the bloodsucking. Not that your average human being cares about the fact that he is human - only that he is not normal and therefore to be feared and taunted. Chris Snow refuses to let this intolerance or hatred make him give up on himself or the rest of mankind as he battles with strange forces to save his small town and ultimately the rest of the world. Thought provoking, intelligent and absolutley hirarious in places. BRILLIANT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detective style mixed with science fiction, 28 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Paperback)
Let me begin with the best aspect of this novel, the characters: Koontz is a genius at creating characters. There are four main characters in this book, the hero being a victim of Xeroderma pigmentosum, a skin disease that limits his life to total darkness. This causes the action to take place mostly during the night - over the course of two nights exactly. I can't say that this is a fast paced story because the actions stops very often when the author pauses to engage in recalls from the past.
He had a good plot for this book, but it is actually based on a previous novel titled 'Watchers'. This is not exactly a sequel, but you will find some reference in it to Watchers. There is a dog here too, quite similiar to the dog in Watchers. Koontz has a vivid imagination which proves quite interesting when celebrating the end of the world - figuratively speaking.
Another point I would like to make is that you cannot read this book without reading 'Seize the Night' because the story continues. 'Fear Nothing' is simply an introductory novel to the real action packed book 'Seize the Night'. This one is quite wordy too, which can be annoying when you're in the middle of a spine-chilling moment; very often, you might find yourself screaming 'get to the point!'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Scary Story about a Boy and His Dog, 28 Dec 2007
By 
Maria Magenta - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Paperback)
Christopher Snow, called Snowman by his friends, is a twenty-eight-year-old writer who is doomed to a life of darkness because of a rare genetic disorder called xeroderma pigmentosum, or XP for short. He's normal in every way except that exposure to ultraviolet rays - even from fluorescent lights - could be fatal.

His father has just died. But when the hospital turns the body over to the mortuary, it's switched for one of a hitchhiker, who was a victim of a brutal beating that ended with someone plucking out his eyes. Snowman sets out to discover why and finds himself involved in a mystifying tale that involves all of Moonlight Bay, a quaint California coastal town.

Snowman goes to the mortuary but is discovered. There is a chase that wind up with Snowman following an intelligent cat into an underground drainage catacomb that's full of hundreds of animal and human skulls.

Snowman eases himself back into the darkness and goes home, where he gets his faithful dog Orson and heads out in search of answers. There are it seems, animals in town who are a whole heck of a lot smarter than they have a right to be. Some good, a troop of monkeys apparently not so good. In due course he finds out that his quiet little town has been a hotbed of DNA research and that his mother was involved in some sneaky governmental work that involved intra-species gene therapy. And he learns a little something about his dog.

This book is typical Koontz, a thriller as well as a scary read that grabs you from the first page and pulls you right into the story. I loved the characters, Christopher, Bobby, Sasha, but most of all I loved Orson the dog and I believe you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i can't believe some ppl have knocked this book!, 24 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Paperback)
this has to be one of the best books i've read. And i dont just pick a favorite author, so im not byast. i found this a very intreging book, i looked forward 2 getting a chance to find out what happened next, and was so gutted when i finished it! i would have read it again, only it wasnt mine :o( i cant really say what kind of people will like this book, but probably someone with a good imagination, an open mind and a dictionary! (well, im only 16! not an expert on 'big words' yet! :oP ) maybe i can't really judge, since i haven't read many books, but in a way that could make my opinion more valid because i didn't expect anything of this book, and i hadn't read any other books by this author, so my judgement won't have been clouded by other issues. so this is just a very good book 2 read, if you've got a week or 2 with nothing 2 do, buy this book, the time will go quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at his best, but Koontz does not disappoint., 10 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Paperback)
The book kicks off with one shock, and then follows it up with a non-stop barrage of pounding revelations which, for the first time, really did have me turning pages well into the small hours. The final confrontation is a bit of a let down, however, being overshadowed by Snow's dramatic encounter with a tormented priest. Also, the final shock is visible from a distance of roughly 4000 miles. This really let's down what might have been the first Koontz novel to rival Dark Rivers Of The Heart for sheer rip roaring entertainment. However, anyone who reads this will find themselves racing to the nearest bookstore to pick up a copy of Seize The Night within 48 hours of finishing, A very promising start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced thriller, 7 April 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Paperback)
I have now read this book 4 times during the last few years, and each time I enjoy it even more. This is Koontz at his very best, describing characters like Christopher Snow and his surfing friend with consummate skill. The relationship they have is very well described. It is genuinely frightening in parts, and the reader has no trouble empathising with Christopher in his quest for the truth in Moonlight Bay, however strange and depressing it might be. It poses many questions about the ethics of scientific research, and of the official explanation of events, and of the subsequent "cover up" inherent in many walks of life these days. Who CAN you trust?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surreal reading experience, 31 Oct 2006
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Paperback)
I had a really bizarre experience reading this, my first Dean Koontz book.

Previously, I was an avid Stephen King reader and "Fear Nothing" had been passing the time of day by gathering dust. Eventually, I dipped into it and read a few snippets here and there, just to kind of "sample the aroma". It looked a bit interesting and I started reading longer sections and from about two-thirds of the way through, I read straight through to the end. From the few bits I read, I thought it was enjoyable, but the ending was a bit weak (I hadn't even realised at that point, it was the first of a trilogy). That is how not to read a book!

Years later, having completely forgotten I'd even looked inside "Fear Nothing", I picked it up and started reading from the beginning. The book seemed to have a slow start, but then a few interesting things happened. Quite intriguing, even. Then the book made a Stephen King-style screeching, screaming left-hand turn and with it, the pages started turning rapidly. Shortly after that, I reached a section of the book I'd read first time through. I was already trying to cope with the warped reality this book was presenting, when, double-whammy, I was hit by the most amazing déjà vu. Surreal is not the word; I think I became the protagonist for a while. That's what this book does to you. It puts you right there, in the midst of its mysterious plot.

I haven't given this book a five. I perhaps would have, except it pales in comparison to the next in the series, "Seize the Night", which is just fabulous. Whilst it isn't absolutely essential to read "Fear Nothing" first, as there is repeat explanation in "Seize the Night", I'd still recommend reading this one. It fully sets the scene for the treat that is to follow. I've just finished "Seize the Night", which left me breathless, but with a single, burning question. So he'd better hurry up and write the third one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Half a Book, 28 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Paperback)
Ive read a few Koontz books this year and this is the fourth that follows a similar theme. Scientific Experiments; yawn, its getting tedious.

On its own the book is fine but when I turned the last page I expected to see the remains of where a few hundered pages had been ripped out. It suddenly stops just when things get interestin...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How many is a trilogy Dean?, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Kindle Edition)
I have read both parts of this "trilogy" now, both fairly good but still waiting an ending. I notice a reviewer in 1999 was looking forward to the third part, I guess he's getting a bit impatient by now as well. I really enjoy the first half of all Koontz books but he seems to run out of plot when it comes to the endings. Can he just not think of one for this after so many years?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear Nothing
Fear Nothing by Dean R. Koontz (Mass Market Paperback - 31 July 2012)
£6.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews