Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VICTORIAN ATMOSPHERE AND VIVID IMAGERY
THE SOLITARY HOUSE by Lynn Shepherd conjures up so many vivid images that it is like taking trip back in time to Victorian England ala H.G. Wells time machine. The writing is so descriptive you can almost smell the aromas pouring from the sewage laden streets which are inhabited by their equally filthy residents. Add to this scenario a former policeman turned private...
Published on 21 Jun 2012 by Red Rock Bookworm

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If Lynn Shepherd cares about writing she should stop doing it!
Or so she tells JK Rowling. Who has inspired a generation (or two) to lift their heads from their i-pods/smart phones and actually read books. I actually haven't read Lynn Shepherd. But she hadn't read JK Rowling. She just suffers from sour grapes. I won't be reading such a small-minded petty author now however. NO WAY!!! Plenty of other choice out there from authors who...
Published 10 months ago by Natasha


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VICTORIAN ATMOSPHERE AND VIVID IMAGERY, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Solitary House (Hardcover)
THE SOLITARY HOUSE by Lynn Shepherd conjures up so many vivid images that it is like taking trip back in time to Victorian England ala H.G. Wells time machine. The writing is so descriptive you can almost smell the aromas pouring from the sewage laden streets which are inhabited by their equally filthy residents. Add to this scenario a former policeman turned private detective (Charles Maddox), a less than ethical lawyer named Tulkinghorn, some perverted and unscrupulous "fine gentlemen" who will go to any lengths to conceal their secrets, and a couple of mysteries waiting to be solved and you have the makings of a great read.

While pursuing the case of a missing woman for his one and only client, Charles is hired by lawyer Tulkinghorn to discover the identity of the culprit sending threatening letters to one of his rich patrons. We accompany Charles in his journey down the gas lit streets of London as his investigation turns up more information than he had anticipated and he uncovers a plethora of foul deeds perpetrated on the innocent and unaware. Like a bloodhound on the scent Charles pursues these leads, and death, brutality and bodily harm result.

Relationships are the order of the day in this novel and two play pivotal roles in this story. Charles relationship with his uncle whose appears to be suffering from Alzheimer's, and the bonds described in a separate narrative supplied by a young woman named Hester. The reader knows that all of these items somehow tie the mysterious storylines together but is not exactly sure of the "how, who and why" nor the location and purpose of THE SOLITARY HOUSE of the title.

While this novel may not appeal to every reader and some of the pronunciation of words employed by the less educated individuals who appear here and there in the story may be difficult to discern, overall this book is a real treat. If you are a lover of the works of Charles Dickens, this book delivers an atmospheric adventure that will be right up your alley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read, atmospheric and well written., 26 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Solitary House (Paperback)
I've read other reviews of this book, and clearly it lies in parallel with Dickens's Bleak House which I confess I haven't read, ditto The Woman in White. Therefore I came to The Solitary House, as it were, from scratch. It's a really interesting read, dense with atmosphere and action, which held my attention throughout. The writing is excellent, and although I'm a lazy reader and don't strive to work out what's coming, I was able to keep in mind the initial task set for former detective Charles Maddox to accomplish while other more pressing and dramatic events were unfolding and links were uncovered. Oddly, I didn't have a mental picture of the protagonist's appearance, but I could feel the dread in the grim London streets of Dickens's time very clearly. A very enjoyable read, and I'll go on to seek out more of Lynn Shepherd's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars same book as tom all alone!, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solitary House (Hardcover)
LOVED THE BOOK BUT REALLY ANNOYED AS I ALSO BOUGHT TOM ALL ALONE AND THEN FOUND OUT IT IS THE SAME BOOK. HAVE NOTICED THAT BEFORE ON AMAZON AND FEEL THERE SHOULD BE INFORMATION IF BOOK HAS BEEN ISSUED PREVIOUSLY UNDER ANOTHER TITLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Dickensian Homage!, 1 Jun 2012
By 
F. S. L'hoir (Irvine, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Solitary House (Hardcover)
I made the mistake of reading the first couple of pages of this novel as soon as it arrived in the mail--a mistake, because I could not tear myself away from it for the next eight hours.

Lynn Shepherd has crafted a superb mystery, which will sweep you back through time, into the fog-bound streets of mid-Victorian London. From the outwardly-respectable barrister's chambers of Lincoln's Inn Fields to the gin-soaked stews of Seven Dials, she conducts her readers on a tour that is as vivid as it is detailed. "The Solitary House" is not merely a mystery that has been plopped willy-nilly into a pseudo-period setting. Ms Shepherd is so steeped in both the history and the literature of 19th-Century London that her exceptionally well-written novel possesses an authenticity that is rare in mysteries nowadays.

I especially enjoyed the manner in which Ms Shepherd's narrative crossed paths with that of Charles Dickens in "Bleak House" (my favourite Dickens novel). The detective, Charles Maddox, in fact, is sent on his investigation by Edward Tulkinghorn, the hardhearted attorney of "Bleak House" (but I shall say no more in order not to spoil it for you). The narrative is so rich with imagery that evokes Dickens that you may very well get your copy of "Bleak House" off the shelf to reread, not only because Dickens' novel becomes more enjoyable with each reading, but also because you will then appreciate Ms Shepherd's allusions fully. Moreover, her twists and turns of plot are guaranteed to keep you reading until the end, which should reward all readers generously, and delight lovers of 19th-century literature absolutely.

Highly recommended.

Reviewed for Vine; Amazon.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If Lynn Shepherd cares about writing she should stop doing it!, 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Solitary House (Paperback)
Or so she tells JK Rowling. Who has inspired a generation (or two) to lift their heads from their i-pods/smart phones and actually read books. I actually haven't read Lynn Shepherd. But she hadn't read JK Rowling. She just suffers from sour grapes. I won't be reading such a small-minded petty author now however. NO WAY!!! Plenty of other choice out there from authors who don't think literature is to stop OTHERS writing out of jealousy! How such small-minded pettiness could translate into good writing of a epic variety I very much doubt. So I won't bother with your books, Lynn. Grow up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If Shepherd cares about writing she should stop it!, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Pam (Watford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Solitary House (Paperback)
Never read it and never will after shameful comments about JK Rowling who has inspired a whole generation. Hang up your pen Ms Shepherd and allow a truly good writer to continue to entertain us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An average book by a literary ignoramus, 9 April 2014
This review is from: The Solitary House (Paperback)
The very notion that this book is in anyway comparable to the works of Austen from which it allegedly draws inspiration, is laughable. Dull trite and mind numbing stuff.
I read it when it recently, then scanned through it coincidentally a day or two before reading her terribly bitter amd ungracious comments toward JK Rowling (a woman who has done more to open up literature to people of all generations than anyone since Dickens).
I can only recommend she take her own advice and stop writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Written, 22 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Solitary House (Paperback)
If Lynn Shephard cares About Writing, She Should Stop Doing It. But by all means keep writing for her own personal pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't read it.....you don't have to apparently, 9 April 2014
This review is from: The Solitary House (Paperback)
This woman made a big mistake in her career. Hopefully her publishers will realize this. I had a few of her books in my basket beforehand...they are obviously gone now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars solitary is right!, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Solitary House (Paperback)
Describes well the state in which Lynn Shepherd will find herself after such a shameful letter about jk Rowling. I won't ever read her books now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Solitary House
The Solitary House by Lynn Shepherd (Paperback - 30 July 2013)
£10.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews