Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Inimitable Bryant and May
My husband and I have a relatively short list of authors whose books we always buy without inquiry or waiting for the reviews; we know without a doubt they'll be worth reading. After reading the first Bryant and May book, Christopher Fowler took his place on that list and has since been in no danger of removal. Bryant and May are delightfully unlike any other fictional...
Published on 13 Sept. 2012 by Susannah

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bryant & May and the search for a plot
I've followed Bryant & May 's adventures from their beginning in Full Dark House and have always loved the quirky mix of esoteric knowledge of the capital and and humorous exchanges between the characters. Each episode in the series has contributed towards building what we see as an alternative London, based firmly in reality but not of it, with likeable characters and...
Published 20 months ago by Mrs. C. A. Mikolj


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch!, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excelleet continuation of the advenures of the two detectives, well worked plot and I can't wait to see what the pair of them get up to next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun as always, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admire Fowler's ability to think up these extraordinary stories. I've grown so fond of the two detectives and their assistants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Newest Bryant & May, 20 July 2013
By 
Kathylene Privitera (Augusta, WV United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can never wait until the new one comes out....I always love their stories...keep em coming Christopher Fowler!!! THANK YOU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fowler does it again., 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series just gets better and better. Really good stories which are most unusual. And, as usual, very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bryant & May and the search for a plot, 6 July 2013
By 
Mrs. C. A. Mikolj "Carol M" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've followed Bryant & May 's adventures from their beginning in Full Dark House and have always loved the quirky mix of esoteric knowledge of the capital and and humorous exchanges between the characters. Each episode in the series has contributed towards building what we see as an alternative London, based firmly in reality but not of it, with likeable characters and strong sense of place. This latest episode, however, is not so satisfying and for the first time I found my attention wandering. There is a feeling of old ideas being recycled here. The plot meanders all over the place, the sudden transformation of their arch enemy into vulnerable supplicant is unconvincing, and the ending is so unlikely that I felt cheated.
If this is your first introduction to Bryant & May, don't start with this book. Start with Full Dark House or The Water Room; they're much better books, and you're more likely to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars present, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
Kathleen willis (cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought this book as a present for my son and he really enjoyed it. i thought it was quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid new addition to a strong series, 2 Oct. 2012
Christopher Fowler's Bryant and May return for their latest adventure in The Invisible Code. The eccentric and increasingly decrepit Peculiar Crimes Unit is handed their strangest assignment yet, a personal request from their arch-enemy Oskar Kasavian to protect his wife. As usual their investigation takes some obscure turns, leading them into the history of insanity and witchcraft. I liked it, but have a suspicion that the series is running out of steam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful series. Thanks for the swift transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great book, 26 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this story. Some Bryant and May books are better than others in my opinion but all are entertaining. This was right on the mark and I couldn't put it down until I had finished it.Some series of books taper off, this series goes from strength to strength. can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a fun read as usual for Bryant and May
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Invisible Code (Peculiar Crimes Unit Mysteries (Bantam Hardcover))
The Invisible Code (Peculiar Crimes Unit Mysteries (Bantam Hardcover)) by Christopher Fowler (Hardcover - 17 Dec. 2013)
Used & New from: £6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews