Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best!
Have just read Monica McCarty's The Viper and highly recommend. If you have not read her work previously I recommend you start the series with The Chief. This gives you the back story of the two main characters in this book as well as key background to who The Highland Guard were and how they were formed. Within this book, I think Monica has created her strongest...
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by FELLRUNNER1964.

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Viper (Highland Guard Novels)
I have read the first 3 books and they are really good- but not this one.

This book goes on and on and on about Bella and her daughter- so much that it leaves little space for a good romantic story because it's all the time about Bella thinking or talking about her daughter and it made the whole book boring.

I quit reading it about 3/4 didn't want to...
Published on 4 Dec 2011 by Hawks922


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best!, 27 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have just read Monica McCarty's The Viper and highly recommend. If you have not read her work previously I recommend you start the series with The Chief. This gives you the back story of the two main characters in this book as well as key background to who The Highland Guard were and how they were formed. Within this book, I think Monica has created her strongest characters to date. The story moves at pace throughout. The sex scenes are steamy. Monica leaves you wanting more.
Monica's stories are well researched. Her knowledge of the Bruce era is sound. Where she has taken liberties with history, she informs you (post-script). Some of the language used is Americanised and not true to period. However, this can be forgiven - as the genre is historical romance. For detail of the story link to Monica's own site. Highly recommended. PS I am Mr P Minshull's wife! Mr. P Minshull remains somewhat put out at his wife's penchant for kilt clad Scottish heros!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another book you just can't put down, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Viper (Highland Guard Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read all of the Highland Guard novels by Monica McCarty. I forget how good they are, and then another is published and I read it within a day, I just can't put these books down. They are well written, have a story to tell, are full of Scottish history and human emotion and the tension is gripping. Added to this the passion that the author describes so well makes you weak at the knees!!! Can't wait for the next in the series.......I hope there is another in the pipeline! I have never been disappointed by any Monica McCarty book,I just wish there were more writers with her talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read series, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been reading books ever since I got my 1st Kindle and I cant get enough of them.
This book took me into another world, would recommend to anyone, you get absorbed in the story.
You never know what is going to happen next, this series has you hooked so expect lots of late nights reading.
Cant wait for the next one......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could be my favourite, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this. Loved Lachlan, loved Isabelle. When I've come across Lachlan in some of the others books, prior to reading this, I always wondered how Monica was going to handle his story. He's not portrayed as that likeable in some of the prior books, but in the end he's gorgeous! Think this one is my favourite so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Viper, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every book from this series I read is better than the previous one...the author is not repetitive in her story and every single member of Highland Guard is different as are their ladies and their stories.
The story of Lachlan MacRuairi and Isabella MacDuff is Amazing!! So full of action, a bit more crude and realistic with Isabella's punishment, Lachlan's torture, their 'bad' luck, getting caught and punished for treason....The suffering of mother in tower cage, struggle to stay composed and strong when she's taken from her daughter....As with other stories, I couldn't put the book down...
Both Isabella and Lachlan are stubborn and proud so it ends up in the most precarious story...
GREAT GREAT GREAT - read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 6 Aug 2013
my favorite so far.Exciting steamy fast pace. i loved the characters loved it loved it loved it roll on the next one This book had everything the author is bfilliant. i love her style and enjoy her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as The Ranger, but not quite, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Viper (Highland Guard Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is Book 4 in the Highland Guard series with Lachlan 'Viper' MacRuairi and Bella MacDuff.

I'd been looking forward to this one, after reading a little about him in the previous books. He has a 'don't give a damn' attitude, so it makes you wonder why he's like that.

The story begins with Lady Isabella MacDuff's imprisonment for her role in crowning Robert the Bruce. She misses her daughter, Joan, and longs to be reunited, fearing what her cruel husband, the Earl of Buchan, may be telling her. But she is also angry at the man who she believes offered her to the English, Lachlan 'Viper' MacRuairi. He comes back to free her. At first, she refuses to leave, believing she has no reason to trust him. But he later explains that he's been trying to free her since she was captured, but it proved more difficult.

The 'Viper' has a fierce reputation. It is believed he killed his wife and his behaviour does nothing to diminish those reports. As a hired sword to the highest bidder, no wonder Bella has doubts. But when she's freed, she tells him she wants her daughter back. He tries to act like he doesn't care, but there are times when he shows he does. He sends messages to Joan from Bella, but lies about it, just to give her an excuse to hate him. He doesn't want to trust Bella, nor does he want to break down his defences and open up to the woman he's now falling for. But over time, they get closer. He gets jealous when another man touches her, no matter how innocent. He later tells her about what happened to his wife, but it doesn't put Bella off. Even in some scenes when they are getting closer, he still tries to make her hate him, by using crude language, despite knowing deep down he feels more than that. Bella is hurt, but senses it's all an act. Instead of hating him, she uses her wiles to get him to help her save Joan. During this, they get closer again, and Lachlan realises he loves her. But Joan's uncle still poses a threat, and won't let Bella be reunited with her daughter. Can Lachlan do it?

Overall, the book was very good. Something I want to point out might not interest everyone, but for me, knowing their ages is important. It was hard in the beginning to be able to tell Bella's age until later on. We know at the start she was 16 when she had Joan, but we aren't made aware of Joan's age at that point, so you have to guess, until you find out later on. By the end of the book, you know she's 36. Lachlan's age isn't revealed until later on too. We know he's paying off debts and has to for a few years, but from what I worked out, he's 32 when he's saved Bella, so by the end of the book, he's older. There is a 3-4 year age gap between them.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Viper ( Highland Guard), 5 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Viper (Highland Guard Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was very very happy with this book and could not put it down.Im on the 3rd book in series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Viper (Highland Guard Novels), 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Viper (Highland Guard Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read the first 3 books and they are really good- but not this one.

This book goes on and on and on about Bella and her daughter- so much that it leaves little space for a good romantic story because it's all the time about Bella thinking or talking about her daughter and it made the whole book boring.

I quit reading it about 3/4 didn't want to waste my time on reading it. Like someone else said Bellas character was immature and the story just didn't do anything for me. At all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab186a44)

This product

The Viper (Highland Guard Novels)
The Viper (Highland Guard Novels) by Monica McCarty (Mass Market Paperback - 18 Oct 2011)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews