Customer Reviews


291 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another entertaining instalment in the Peter Grant series
It's three months after MOON OVER SOHO. Peter Grant is still working for ECD9 and learning magic and now he has the company of fellow apprentice Lesley May, who's still recovering from the events in RIVERS OF LONDON and wears a mask to hide her ruined face. When a young man is stabbed to death at Baker Street station, Peter's called to evaluate the scene for magical...
Published 19 months ago by I Read, Therefore I Blog

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but it lacks a little magic....
Yes, it was good, but not great. There was just not enough magic in it! Peter needs to move on, to learn more from his master, Nightingale, but we didn't get to see much of that.

The idea of the people living underground is nicely delivered, loved all the quirky Irish navvy type detail of their dwellings.

The overwhelming feeling for me, though, was...
Published 22 months ago by L. Bretherton


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If this series of books isn't dramatized for TV some time soon, I'll eat my hat. It will be a shame when it is dramatized, however, because no mise en scene could do justice to the colour, pace and humour of the book. Above all, it is the narrator's voice which makes the whole crazy ride so hugely enjoyable: witty, dry, cynical and rude as only a half-Nigerian London copper could be, he's a first class companion and a real pick-me-up after a hard day's graft in Realityville. If you like a bit of escapism, it's got it in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book 2, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book. Keep writing Ben. Interested to read what you will think up next.looking forward to hearing about Peter,s next magic foray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent series well worth a read, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoying this series which is a combination of police work and alternative magic. Highly recommend and looking forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very easy, fun read. I would recommend the entire series if you want to have a ride through modern and ancient london.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These books are so compulsive! As a Londoner I adore reading Aaraonvitch' s descriptions of the city, and as a fan of the fantastic I'm thrilled that a writer has made such an amazing array of characters who are all three-dimensional and believable. Keep them coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm happy to have found a series of books I love; it has been a while. Now I can't wait to read the next in the series... Broken Homes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange but satisfying, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good pace interesting characters in a well known setting .
The police could use a little magic and the humour in these stories .
Looking forward to starting the next in the seriers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 12 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whether you know London or not, you'll love this series of books by Ben Aaronovitch, who writes well, and with a wry sense of humour. It's a fantasy series and not the only one of course but I read them all in a week and am looking forward to the next one if were lucky enough to get one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good fun, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bit crazy at times but a a good fun romp about magical London. I've enjoyed the full series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whispers underground, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this read, it is different and quirky and led me to want to read the others by the same author in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whispers Under Ground
Whispers Under Ground by Ben Aaronovitch (Mass Market Paperback - 31 July 2012)
Used & New from: 1.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews