Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Basketball Bible, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Basketball: The NBA According to the Sports Guy (Paperback)
Cant put this book down , this is the stuff / intel /gossip about the NBA . You got to bear in mind here in the U.K. were very very very limited coverage of NBA games so to read about the madness / greatness by event broken down from a True Hoops about each generation of superstarsis a god send. I have read the Slam magazine since issue 3 which gives amazing insight to the stars past , present or future .

Only on page 150 and this book has already blown my mind , ( the Russell vs Chamberlain debate) all I can say is WOW !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Basketball Bible Is Here, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bill Simmons knows what he is talking about in this God-sent book.
If you are a NBA junky then you really need to buy this book. As a fan of Bill from his podcast, articles on ESPN and of the whole Grantland set up, i knew this book was going to be good, Just not this good.
From the opening chapter Bill describes his experience as a Celtics fan in the 70s-80s. With his detailed analysis and description of every big moment that happened in Boston Garden in this stretch you feel as if you are sat next to him.
He then goes on to show why Russell was better then Wilt. Him being a Boston fan he puts up great arguments for Russell but you can not doubt this man.
In the next section Bill plays the 'What-If Game' where he analyses moments in NBA history if they didnt happen or happened in a different way eg.Darko not going no.2 in the draft.
The most impressive section in the book is where Bill counts down the top 96 players of all time!! Bringing in stats and stories about NBA stars that you had no idea where real.

this is a MUST buy. I thought I knew alot about the NBA but this book has extended my knowledge x10000000000. With its funny stories and comments by Bill (footnotes galore!!) this is an insight to basketball's knowledge guru that is impossible to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An must read for all those who claim to love the NBA, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Basketball: The NBA According to the Sports Guy (Paperback)
Very well written and easy to read. It is funny and entertaining, however you still learn a lot about the NBA and the sport of basketball in general. I would recommend it to anyone who likes basketball. It is an extremely interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Basketball book I have ever read!, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely fantastic. Could read this book over and over again. So much detail, as being a basketball fan for just over 10 years I didn't truly appreciate how many great basketball players there have been. A great read and well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret, 30 Dec. 2009
By 
Karl Finn "Karlos13" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been a big fan of Simmons for a couple of years now and this book didn't disappoint. His love for the game is obvious on every page and his sense of humour permeates throughout. Essential for basketball fans and fans of The Sports Guy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love NBA basketball you will love this book., 15 Mar. 2014
By 
Sigurãur Einar Einarsson (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Basketball: The NBA According to the Sports Guy (Paperback)
Dont read this book if you dont love NBA basketball because it is full of history, what ifs, player rankings, team rankings and some funny jokes about players and teams.

But i do love those things so i am happy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Sports. Book. Ever, 15 Sept. 2013
By 
D. Salmon "domski1969" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Basketball: The NBA According to the Sports Guy (Paperback)
Basketball nut Simmons basically packs every bar room argument, every eternal who-was-better debate and creates the most definitive all-time best player list all to a soundtrack of wisecracks, pop-culture references, mind-blowing detail, backed by the sports smarts of a man who has mined every ounce of material to back his theories up.

For someone who followed the NBA from afar, it was like a crash course in the sport from its inception and what it meant culturally to the US. I literally devoured it.

800+ pages, and yet soon as I'd finished, i started reading it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for basketball fans, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Basketball: The NBA According to the Sports Guy (Paperback)
This book is informative and funny. I've mainly been reading it while commenting to work and my fellow passengers have been subjected to my laughing out loud on many many occasions.
I didn't grow up watching basketball as it wasn't really popular in the UK when I was growing up (you could be forgiven for thinking that not much has changed), so for me this book is a great trip through a history I didn't get to experience mixed with bits of nba history I have vague knowledge of.

If you like basketball and want to know more about nba history this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked!!!, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After coming across Bill Simmons via his chats with Jalen Rose and becoming addicted to his pod-casts I decided to take the plunge and spend some cash on the book. As an avid basketball fan from Scotland this is great. There is not too much to access locally so this is a massive hole plugged. It is funny and and has great analysis of some the best basketball careers past and present. The book also made me realise about the what ifs of basketball. For this just see Walton.

Thanks Bill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read for NBA fans, must have for Celtics fans, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
700 pages, kept me going for 3 weeks. It takes a while to get going in the how did we get here section. Slightly too much 50s and 60s Mikan stuff for me, but educational.

When we start getting to the 70s & 80s sections, it comes alive. The pyramid is well thought out, I get the impression Bill spent years figuring out something so many of us would love to have.

Footnotes really help get through the book, some hilarious anecdotes in there. Read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Basketball: The NBA According to the Sports Guy
The Book of Basketball: The NBA According to the Sports Guy by Malcolm Gladwell (Paperback - 7 Dec. 2010)
£11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews