Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I promise you will not be disappointed in reading this or any of her series, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all the books Monica McCarty has written. I am counting down the days till Arrow comes out! I promise you will not be disappointed in reading this or any of her series. Great characters mixed with historical facts and an interesting read in the author notes on her research into the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved reading this, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Ranger: A Highland Guard Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Arrived promptly, in good condition, reasonable price. This set of books is a really good read and I would unreservedly recommend the set to anyone who loves history and romance. The authoress has done her research and they all slot together perfectly. You need the entire set to appreciate the work that has gone into these books but they are so good you can't wait to read the next one. Just get them in the right order though so as not to confuse yourself. Absolutely loved reading them and was so sad when I got to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read series, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been reading books ever since I got my 1st Kindle and I cant get enough of them.
This book took me into another world, would recommend to anyone, you get absorbed in the story.
You never know what is going to happen next, this series has you hooked so expect lots of late nights reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great book from amazing series, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is different and and original and you don't seem to be reading the same story again as you go through series. I loved that Ranger proved he deserves Anna by 'walking through fires of Hell' and the author didn't shy away from describing the physical torture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book' full of excitement, intrigue, twists and turns. Exciting and steamy two of my favourite elements for a successful book. I could not put it down loved it roll on the next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this story! Best so far in the series!, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ranger: A Highland Guard Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This is Book 3 in the Highland Guards series with Arthur 'Ranger' Campbell and Anna MacDougall.

Arthur has a unique ability to blend into shadows and has heightened senses, making him aware of dangers others can't see. He's always been regarded as a loner, preferring to keep away from relationships with women, and content with casual flings. One night, he is on his way to try to steal some money from a church for the Bruce's men, when he sees an unknown woman and her protector. Unable to let her be killed, he makes himself known, but in doing so, his own men attack and kill her protector. After she is saved, she wants to know who he is, but Arthur's face is hidden behind his helmet, and he has no intention of revealing himself, despite feeling an attraction to her.

Moving on one year later, Robert the Bruce gives Arthur the perfect excuse to reclaim his clan's stolen lands and seek revenge on the man responsible for his father's death, John of Lorn, the head of the MacDougall clan. He's eager to do it, since he's been waiting fourteen years for this opportunity. But then, he meets the daughter of MacDougall, Anna, who just happens to be the woman he saved a year ago. Sir Arthur is there with Sir Dugald, his brother, so they can fight for the MacDougalls, but only Arthur knows the truth. John of Lorn is ill, and he asks Anna to spy on Arthur, since he's grown suspicious of him. At first, Arthur is annoyed at Anna's presence; he's finding it hard to keep his distance from the first woman he's ever felt the desire to be closer to. Anna finds herself falling for him, despite his constant rebuffs. There are times she sees him weakening, which gives her hope, but it's not long before he's rude to her again. So she decides to persue an engagement with Sir Hugh Ross, a man she'd previously refused. She tells her father it's to unite the clans so they can fight Robert the Bruce, but it's also to see how Arthur would react. It's obvious he hates the idea of her marrying anyone but him, which delights Anna. But then she discovers who Arthur is, and why he's there. Arthur tells her the truth about her father, but Anna doesn't believe it. But she has another dilemma. Does she tell her father? Should she stay with Arthur? But when Anna decides, she realises what a mistake it is, and goes out to save the man she loves.

Overall, the book was amazing! It reminds me of a Scottish Romeo and Juliet story; forbidden love etc. Arthur is a character you can really feel for, who just needs someone to love him for who he is. Anna does appear like some lovestruck teenager when she follows him around, but she is only doing what her father asks. In doing so, she finds she's fallen in love with him. She tells him, and despite the fact you know he loves her, he won't confess himself and continually rebuffs her. You just want to grab them and bang their heads together.

The only point I would make is the reference to Catherine, Arthur's former lover. He's with his comrades at camp and they are discussing women and someone makes a reference to Arthur's former lover, and Arthur says her name is Catherine, but we learn no more about her. Were they in love? Did she hurt him? Did he hurt her? It seemed a bit pointless referring to her, and even disclosing her name, when nothing else is mentioned afterwards. This is something the author has done in book 1 with Tor's sons, which I mentioned in that review. However, I ignored it, and it didn't change my opinion of the story. (I actually didn't want it to end!)

On with book 4 now with Lachlan 'Viper' MacRuairi and Bella MacDuff. Not sure if it'll be as good as Arthur's story, but here's to hoping!

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really like this series, 15 Mar 2011
By 
listrev "lisa" (Blackburn, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ranger: A Highland Guard Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I recomend you read them in order but even as a stand alone book it's a good historical romance. I like the way the author ties in with the story of Robert the Bruce rise to the throne and the cloak and dagger tale of being a spy in love with the enemy and vice versa. A good curl up in front of the fire and shut the rest of the world out novel, thanks Monica you did it again for me and I can't wait for Vipers story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!, 8 Jan 2012
By 
S. Hall "book lover" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ranger: A Highland Guard Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Loved it! Man torn between his loyalty to his king and love for a girl!!! SUPER!!! Hope she writes more!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ranger: A Highland Guard Novel
The Ranger: A Highland Guard Novel by Monica McCarty (Mass Market Paperback - 28 Dec 2010)
5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews