Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Anne Perry's best but...
A really enjoyable and gripping book, written with a tolerant view of both sides of the Civil War The war part is a terrific piece of writing and the story does not tail off after what could have been a central climax, but I found the ending very complicated and a couple of minor issues left , to me, unexplained.
Published on 4 Aug 2001 by Mrs. Rachel Derrington

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a patronising lecture on slavery badly disguised as a novel
I am a great fan of Anne Perry's novels but this one was so poor that I just could not be bothered to finish it.It felt as if the author had asked herself which politically correct cause she could lecture her readership on this time,decided on slavery,and written a novel to fit around it.A good story flows from good characters and plot not a desire to please the literary...
Published on 2 Mar 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Anne Perry's best but..., 4 Aug 2001
By 
Mrs. Rachel Derrington (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slaves and Obsession (Paperback)
A really enjoyable and gripping book, written with a tolerant view of both sides of the Civil War The war part is a terrific piece of writing and the story does not tail off after what could have been a central climax, but I found the ending very complicated and a couple of minor issues left , to me, unexplained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a patronising lecture on slavery badly disguised as a novel, 2 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Slaves and Obsession (Hardcover)
I am a great fan of Anne Perry's novels but this one was so poor that I just could not be bothered to finish it.It felt as if the author had asked herself which politically correct cause she could lecture her readership on this time,decided on slavery,and written a novel to fit around it.A good story flows from good characters and plot not a desire to please the literary establishment by promoting fashionable causes.Anne Perry should go back to doing what she is good at,writing cracking detective novels.Her readers are intelligent enough to make up their own minds on political questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great way to spend a rainy afternoon, 23 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Anne Perry's William Monk novels had their dramatic climax when Monk and his love-hate interest Hester Laterly announced their engagement. Now that they have a perfectly pleasant marriage, the mysteries are still interesting, but the special zing Monk novels had is all but vanished. The case Monk faces this time involves both gun running, the civil war, and fratricide, and Monk does his patented asking-around-until-the-last-possible-minute schitck with his usual aplomb. It's very predictable, what provides most of the dramatic tension in this book is the way Hester gets to face up to her trauma from the Crimean War when she finds herself nursing soldiers at first Manassas (aka. Bull Run). There are also some touching bits with Hester and Rathbone, but I think I've spoiled this book enough. If your a fan, enjoy, if you're not, read an earlier Monk - preferably one published before "The Twisted Root". "Defend and Betray" was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kindle edition, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaves of Obsession (William Monk Novels) (Paperback)
a very good book except for the fact that there are not always spaces between words making it hard to make it out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slaves and Obsession, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaves and Obsession (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading the Monk series of mystery book and have now read them all. It is a nice twist reading a mystery set in another era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slaves and Obsession Anne Perry, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaves and Obsession (Paperback)
Anne Perry has written a well thought out series of adventures featuring William Monk. The work use of language is excellent and takes us back to the period, with wonderful descriptions of the manners and rules of expected bahaviour of the time in which the book is set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Can do better, 13 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Slaves and Obsession (Hardcover)
This book is a reasonably good read - the pace of the plot encouraged me to keep going and the section set overseas was more engaging than the rest of the story. However the characterisation was disappointing and I did not feel as involved in the outcome as I have in some of Anne Perry's other books. The structure of the book followed a predicable pattern which would have been acceptable had the characters been the motivation behind the plot rather than the impression it is the other way round. The relationship between Hester and Monk is a lot of what made the earlier books entertaining for me and I do not feel that this was explored in a sufficiently absorbing way. If this had been the only Anne Perry book I had read I might not bother with another, which is a shame as some of the earlier books especially are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An historical novel which all the history is correct, 6 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Slaves and Obsession (Paperback)
Ms. Perry has successfully achieved the most difficult task to the writer of historical fiction. She got all the known history correct. This book is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0279fe4)

This product

Slaves of Obsession (William Monk Novels)
Slaves of Obsession (William Monk Novels) by Anne Perry (Paperback - 28 Jun 2011)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews