Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USA Hardback Edition of first 3 books in Temeraire Series
USA Hardback Edition of first 3 books in the excellent Temeraire Series. Printed on standard USA paper and paper cut (which is very different to UK paper/paper cut), this is a great edition for anyone who hasn't got (or hasn't yet read) the original hardback editions issued in the UK - they were only issued in paperback in the USA, except for some limited editions...
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by Matthew Davis

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very misleading
Before you purchase please be aware that this is not a new Temeraire novel, it is a compendium of "His Majesty's Dragon" (Temeraire), "Throne of Jade" and "Black Powder War." I pre-ordered this quite a while ago assuming that it would be the latest instalment and was very surprized when it turn up today and it wasn't. Technically I suppose you could click on the picture...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by K. Gale


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USA Hardback Edition of first 3 books in Temeraire Series, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Matthew Davis (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In His Majesty's Service (Hardcover)
USA Hardback Edition of first 3 books in the excellent Temeraire Series. Printed on standard USA paper and paper cut (which is very different to UK paper/paper cut), this is a great edition for anyone who hasn't got (or hasn't yet read) the original hardback editions issued in the UK - they were only issued in paperback in the USA, except for some limited editions.

It is not possible to do the book(s) justice in this truncated space and I suggest you read reviews of the individual books (links below). An outstanding series of books that is now five strong, with at least two and possibly four more to follow. Peter Jackson, of 'The Lord of the Rings' fame, has bought the film rights to the series.

Temeraire (Temeraire 1)
Temeraire: Throne of Jade (Temeraire 2)
Temeraire: Black Powder War (Temeraire 3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very misleading, 28 Oct 2009
By 
K. Gale "Kate" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In His Majesty's Service (Hardcover)
Before you purchase please be aware that this is not a new Temeraire novel, it is a compendium of "His Majesty's Dragon" (Temeraire), "Throne of Jade" and "Black Powder War." I pre-ordered this quite a while ago assuming that it would be the latest instalment and was very surprized when it turn up today and it wasn't. Technically I suppose you could click on the picture to enlarge it and read the otherwise unreadable subtitles but I can't even remember if there was a picture when I ordered. There certainly wasn't, and still isn't as I write, any written summery to indicate this.

It does say on the book that there is a new short story but I won't be reading it since I will be returning this book immediately. It's rather a lot of money to pay for one short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flies high, 24 Mar 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In His Majesty's Service (Hardcover)
Imagine if the Napoleonic wars had been fought using an air force... of dragons.

That idea is the root of Naomi Novik's Temeraire series -- an alternate-history fantasy that explores the idea of a Horatio Hornbloweresque navy officer who suddenly finds a dragon uprooting his life. And in the first three books of her series, compiled in "In His Majesty's Service," Novik stretches credibility here and there, but her stories are a solid, intelligent, often amusing adventure story. Oh, and having seen the new omnibus edition, I would like to add that I only saw paperback copies.

"His Majesty's Dragon" enters the scene when Captain William Laurence's Reliant captures a French ship -- which turns out to have a dragon egg in its hold. And when the baby dragon hatches, it decides it wants Laurence and no other to be its rider. But accepting the dragon (now named Temeraire) means giving up his Navy commission and joining the Air Corps -- especially since Temeraire violently rejects the idea of accepting another rider. Both rider and dragon have a lot of learning to do. But as the bond between them grows and Temeraire grows rapidly to maturity, the Napoleonic Wars are raging -- and Temeraire's true power hasn't yet been shown.

And in "Throne of Jade," an ill-tempered Chinese prince demands that Temeraire be returned to the Imperial family. Temeraire and Laurence are having none of that -- and when they can't tempt away Temeraire, both dragon and rider are sent to China, along with the prince and his entourage. But the journey is full of storms and assassinations, and China turns out to be no less dangerous as Laurence learns of plot around Temeraire.

Having returned from China, Laurence and Temeraire don't even get to go home before being thrown into "Black Powder War." They're sent straight to Istanbul to pick up three dragon eggs sold to England by the Ottoman Empire -- only to deal with deal with wild dragons (who alone make the book worth reading) a treacherous Sultan, and the vengeful albino Celestial Lien.

Then there's a special short story unique to this omnibus -- the story of Lien's first weeks among Napoleon's forces, and her haughty disgust with everything about it (including the less refined European dragons, whom the generals want her to breed with). But she's determined to stick it out, so she can revenge herself for her prince.

The Temeraire series is what Christopher Paolini's books SHOULD have been -- a richly-drawn, intelligent series about the bond between a young man and his dragon. Novik still has some rough spots in her first three books ("His Majesty's Dragon" is rather short on plot, "Black Powder War" short on characterization) but they are undeniably fascinating meshes of what 19th century war would have been like if there had been dragons.

She conjures up a pretty fascinating world, giving dragons different breeds, quirks, biological features (they blast acid, fire, even sonic waves), and relationships with their riders (one poor little dragon whose rider treats him like a disposable vehicle). There's even some delving into dragon rights -- are the dragons being treated like slaves?

And despite long stretches of traveling over land and sea (often for months), Novik keeps it interesting with lush, detailed writing and some truly thrilling aerial battles aboard the vast dragons. On land, there's plenty of gentle comic relief ("I am afraid that some of them go there to drink, and keep low company." "Oh, you mean whores!") and lots of messy eating.

Temeraire and Laurence are a study in contrasts. The human is mannered, thoughtful and very tied to society's mores, while the dragon has a child's enthusiasm, curiosity, honesty and stubbornness (and frankly he's an adorable little dragon). There's also a colorful collection of supporting characters -- fellow Corps dragons Lily and Maximus, the malignant Prince Yongxhing, the mysterious Tharkay, and many others.

"In His Majesty's Service" is a solid trio of alternate history stories, with plenty of adventure, humour and a lot of lovable dragons. Definitely worth flying with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very unfair to call it Temeraire 6, 28 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In His Majesty's Service (Hardcover)
I was so looking forward to the sixth book only to find it is the first three books in one. The paper was poor quality too and the edges uneven so not even suitable to use for a gift.
I have since checked the author's webpage and the six book has not even been written yet although she has been to Australia to research it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, 29 Oct 2009
This review is from: In His Majesty's Service (Hardcover)
I feel I was mislead into believing this to be the next book in the series.
I certainly had on idea that it was a compemdium of three already published books plus a short story.
For someone who has not read the three books, then it is a good buy.
Although the book I received looked impressive,my copy was badly cut on the edges, very jagged.
It could have been a one off, so would recommend it to first time readers as a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In His Majesty's Service
In His Majesty's Service by Naomi Novik (Hardcover - 27 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: 44.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews