Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!
Highland outlaw is the story of ELizabeth Campbell & Patrick Mcgregor(murray), if you've read the preceeding books you'll know that the McGregors are the highlands notorious outlawed clan & the campbells are the law enforcers for the King. This is a great story - Lizzy is a great female lead intelligent & capable dispite previous failed romances / engagements & she's not...
Published on 6 Mar 2010 by J. McNamara

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice way of wasting an afternoon(if you like historic romances)
Historic Romances are by definition rarely high literature and this certainly isn't, but it is written Ok, has halfway believable characters and makes for easy reading. If you need a brainless afternoon off, you could do worse.
Published 12 months ago by Angharad Gask


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 6 Mar 2010
By 
J. McNamara "Jen Mc" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highland Outlaw: A Novel (Ballantine Books Mass Market Original) (Mass Market Paperback)
Highland outlaw is the story of ELizabeth Campbell & Patrick Mcgregor(murray), if you've read the preceeding books you'll know that the McGregors are the highlands notorious outlawed clan & the campbells are the law enforcers for the King. This is a great story - Lizzy is a great female lead intelligent & capable dispite previous failed romances / engagements & she's not the typical historical romance female - 17 yr old maiden wedding a 30-35yr old man - but a 26 year old woman who runs the keep for her family. Patrick is a great hero - strong, passionate & honorable. You get pulled into their struggles & the author has you realy hoping and rooting for them! Of course all works out well in the end!. The pace of the story was great moved along very quickly especially when they go on the run from their families. Some of the usual characters from previous books also apppear which is always great! DEfinately the most romantic of the campbell trilogy books. EVeryone should read this book!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love theese books, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: Highland Outlaw: A Novel (Ballantine Books Mass Market Original) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have never been disapointed by a Monica McCarty's book, and this is no exception! There's romance, adventure e passion and a plot that balances everything. If you are a romantic girl, you will love her books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scottish Romance and Historical Fiction, 23 Feb 2012
By 
A (Annan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highland Outlaw: A Novel (Ballantine Books Mass Market Original) (Mass Market Paperback)
If you love Scottish Romance and Historical Fiction marrying together with another brilliant author Diana Gabadol Outlander Series or you will love this book not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice way of wasting an afternoon(if you like historic romances), 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highland Outlaw: A Novel (Ballantine Books Mass Market Original) (Mass Market Paperback)
Historic Romances are by definition rarely high literature and this certainly isn't, but it is written Ok, has halfway believable characters and makes for easy reading. If you need a brainless afternoon off, you could do worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 14 Jun 2012
By 
The Demon Librarian (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Highland Outlaw: A Novel (Ballantine Books Mass Market Original) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another great highland romp from Monica McCarty. This time, there was just as much emotion and drama as the first book in the trilogy, Highland Warrior, but whereas that all came from external forces, this time, the heartache comes from within.

I really just wanted to shout at the two main characters from the very first pages because there was so much deception going on, and it was so obviously all going to end in tears and upset, that it was like watching a slow motion train wreck. And I really felt for Lizzie when she found out the truth. I also have to commend McCarty for writing Patrick's character in such a way that although he did something awful, when you learned of his plight and the terrible history of his clan, you forgave him.

"God knows why with the way you are acting right now, but for some reason you make me happy. I love you and I'd rather endure hell with you than hell without."

The love scenes were very hot as I'm coming to expect from this author, and the ending totally satisfying. A great read- highly recommended!

4 Stars! ''''
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good story but why the tiny heroines?, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an enjoyable read, especially if you have read the Macloed series and the first Campbell book. However what is with all these 'tiny' heroines? Lizzie has two full brothers, both oover 6ft tall and built like the proverbial barn door, so how do the same parents manage to produce a daughter who is a 'tiny thing' , ' a wisp' with 'delicate bones' ? This is seriously annoying! Oh and she has golden hair while both brothers are dark. Just a bit stereotypical - why does no one ever have moosy broon hair as we say in Scotland? Despite these irritations it was a good story with lots of historical background from a period that doesnt appear often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh so good, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every time i pick up a book from Monica McCarty I am secretly hoping that she'll be repeating herself, that she cannot come up with another great story...Dead wrong!
I loved that fact that Lizzie Campbell was the 'main' character in this book...She was not only the fragile stammering girl...
Absolutely loved the story, historical facts, little stories of characters, past history of character and what shaped them into what they are at the present of the book...not all authors are doing this as I found out recently...
Again - page turner, captivating, not possible to put down...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 1 Sep 2013
This author is fantastic. Her stories are so gripping I can't put them down. The stories are so different I don't know how she has so many ideas and then the relationships seem so doomed I have a ache In my chest for them but she manages to have a believable happy ending Wonderful author loving all her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7ef7528)

This product

Highland Outlaw: A Novel (Ballantine Books Mass Market Original)
Highland Outlaw: A Novel (Ballantine Books Mass Market Original) by Monica McCarty (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Aug 2009)
5.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews