Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Cold Case for Rizzoli and Isles
When the ancient Egyptians mummified their dead, they often layered amulets and jewels within the linen wrappings. Finding such treasures in a 2000-year-old mummy is not unusual, but "Madam X" is full of surprises.

After a CT scan reveals a bullet in the mummy's leg and modern dental work in the jaw, medical examiner Maura Isles and Boston PD Detective Jane...
Published on 6 Nov 2008 by Ruth King

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SAME BOOK??!!
IF YOU ARE A TESS GERRITSEN FAN, AS I AM, BUT HAVE READ "KEEPING THE DEAD" DO NOT BOTHER BUYING THE "KEEPSAKE" AS IT IS THE SAME BOOK !!??

I DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS COMMON KNOWLEDGE OR NOT, BUT I RECENTLY FINISHED READING "KEEPING THE DEAD", SAFE TO SAY HOWEVER I DID NOT ENJOY IT AS MUCH AS SOME OF HER OTHER TITLES - ANYWAY I DECIDED TO HAVE A BREAK FROM TESS AND...
Published on 18 Oct 2009 by MARYW1634


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SAME BOOK??!!, 18 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IF YOU ARE A TESS GERRITSEN FAN, AS I AM, BUT HAVE READ "KEEPING THE DEAD" DO NOT BOTHER BUYING THE "KEEPSAKE" AS IT IS THE SAME BOOK !!??

I DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS COMMON KNOWLEDGE OR NOT, BUT I RECENTLY FINISHED READING "KEEPING THE DEAD", SAFE TO SAY HOWEVER I DID NOT ENJOY IT AS MUCH AS SOME OF HER OTHER TITLES - ANYWAY I DECIDED TO HAVE A BREAK FROM TESS AND READ A COUPLE OF "LIGHTER" AUTHOR NOVELS AND WAS THEN LOOKING FORWARD TO GOING BACK TO TESS AND "THE KEEPSAKE" - I CANNOT TELL YOU MY DISAPPOINTMENT I WAS WHEN I READ PAGE ONE AND REALISED IT IS EXACTLY THE SAME BOOK AS "KEEPING THE DEAD"

IT HAS COMPLETELY PUT ME OFF BUYING ANYMORE OF HER BOOKS ON-LINE IN CASE THIS HAPPENS AGAIN.....I THINK IT SAFER TO GO INTO MY LOCAL WATERSTONES AND CHECK BEFORE I BUY......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That Rizzoli 'edge' is missing, 25 Sep 2008
By 
OEJ & SKY - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Keepsake (Hardcover)
When The Keepsake is released in the UK it will be titled Keeping the Dead, "A Maura Isles Thriller". Well, Boston medical examiner Dr Isles really plays a rather by-the-numbers part in this story, and in any case this series hasn't always featured her at all. She first appeared in THE SINNER, which was the third of the seven to date, and in doing so added a bit of softer-hearted romance to what had been until then a really excellent hard-edged crime thriller series. The character of Detective Rizzoli, meanwhile, has lost some of its depth and meaning over the years and anyone buying into Tess Gerritsen for the first time might wonder what the fuss is all about. A series such as this is built around characterisation above all else, and it is so frustrating to see a very talented writer fail to develop what she has demonstrated the ability to do. In the series debut THE SURGEON (in 2001) and even more so in the sequel THE APPRENTICE (2002), Rizzoli's character was superbly created and developed, but when Maura Isles came on the scene - a character said by Gerritsen to be similar to her own personality in real life - not only has Rizzoli had to take something of a back seat but of late she isn't even called Rizzoli at all; instead the author has decided to use her first name of Jane in the narrative and this in my opinion has further diluted what was once the strongest feature of the brand.

As for this particular story, it eventually reminds me a little of the previous Rizzoli/Isles outing THE MEPHISTO CLUB, in that the writer thought of an exotic interest around which to wrap a murder mystery, and come the conclusion the reader wonders why the esoteric backgrounds needed to be there at all. In this case the background is the Egyptian art of body preservation or mummification. There is detailed information within the story about what it is, where it originates and how it can be done, but ultimately it really hardly matters in the big scheme of things because its meaning and significance withers away to almost nothing before the rather familiar bam-bam you're dead finale. A mother and daughter have been on the run for twelve years after a life-changing (OK, life-ending) event when the daughter was but a teenager. Living separate lives under new identities, they are hiding from those who seek retribution for the acts of a dozen years earlier. Not surprisingly, the story is basically about what happens when their cover is blown and the baddies track them down. The first half of the tale, which is steeped in archaeology and vivid descriptions of mummified bodies, is very good reading and at the time I thought Gerritsen was back on top form. What I then wanted, based on past experience, was some character development of either Rizzoli or Isles, but it just never happened. Rizzoli is now a married mother, and once again it's a shame that her husband - FBI Agent Gabriel Dean - barely features at all because he was great in THE APPRENTICE but here we are four novels later and he is as good as forgotten about. There's no point to his existence any more. As for Maura Isles, well this was really the poorest aspect of the tale, because the object of her affections - dog-collared Daniel - doesn't feature at all, and this is a man who we have been struggling to get to know for four novels now of the five that Maura Isles has featured in! Basically, he's just 'not there for her', but this has been the way from the outset it seems, and it's getting rather pointless. Maura's love-life is touched upon here and there in a thread that suggests that it will have some meaning and relevance later on...but nothing happens at all, and Maura is pretty much forgotten about for all of the concluding chapters.

The writing style is of a high standard throughout, however, as I guess we should expect from an author of such fame, fortune and experience. Yes, there's a decent story here and it's well told, but what let it down for me was the surprising lack of characterisation. Most of the surprise twists were very predictable and broadly speaking this was just another 'safe' publication by Tess Gerritsen, a story without any risks or shocks apart from the imagery on and around the autopsy table, where she is always at her most confident and imaginative. I enjoyed the beginning and the middle but it rather fizzled out into a neatly-tied ending and I felt a little short-changed as a result. Tess Gerritsen can do better than this, and having read all seven novels in this series I would suggest that next time around Maura Isles is demoted to just bit-part character (as she is already, but unintentionally) and 'Jane' returns as 'Rizzoli' and in the tough-cop guise she came on to the scene as six years ago. Perhaps Gabriel Dean could return; for too long there has been too much emphasis on female characters, and this series was at its best when there was a balanced gender split among the leading players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Cold Case for Rizzoli and Isles, 6 Nov 2008
By 
Ruth King "BookishRuth.com" (Spring City, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Keepsake (Hardcover)
When the ancient Egyptians mummified their dead, they often layered amulets and jewels within the linen wrappings. Finding such treasures in a 2000-year-old mummy is not unusual, but "Madam X" is full of surprises.

After a CT scan reveals a bullet in the mummy's leg and modern dental work in the jaw, medical examiner Maura Isles and Boston PD Detective Jane Rizzoli have a murder investigation on their hands. The mummy was recently discovered in an unlabeled crate in the basement of the Crispin Museum, a small family-run museum in the Boston area. When Jane and her partner Barry Frost uncover more preserved human remains in the museum's storage area, they realize they have a very intelligent and unorthodox serial killer on the loose.

The discovery leaves them with more questions than answers. What is driving the Archaeology Killer (as the murderer is dubbed by the press)? Why does he go to such lengths to preserve his victims? What is his connection to Egyptologist Josephine Pulcillo -- a woman who, like Madam X, is harboring many secrets of her own? Most importantly, how do they stop him before he claims another victim?

As someone who has had a lifelong love of archaeology (in particular, Egyptology), I greatly enjoyed the archaeological elements in The Keepsake. The book was so vividly atmospheric and creepy that I found myself looking over my shoulder more than once during my reading - just in case.

Tess Gerritsen has created another chilling, fast-paced thriller that is sure to delight fans of the Rizzoli/Isles mystery series. Readers new to Gerritsen's writing will also find The Keepsake very accessible and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the dead, 11 Sep 2009
This book is a truly enjoyable read, It is the american 'Keeping the Dead', only the titles differ. Please be aware of that fact when looking to purchase this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE, 26 Oct 2009
By 
J. Hooker (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Beware, if you are a fan and buy all Tess Gerritsen books then you should know that this is the same as the title 'Keeping the dead'. Amazon sold me both together with their buy two together for a bit cheaper and so when I finished one i started the other and got as far as the dedication in the front when I realised it was the same book. As for the story, another Gerritsen classic and was clever with the normal twist and turns right to the last page. Would recommend the book, just not buying two books the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth losing sleep for, 6 Nov 2008
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Keepsake (Hardcover)
First Sentence: He is coming for me.

A 2000-year-old mummy has been discovered in the basement of the Crespin Museum in Boston. With much fanfare and publicity, it has been brought to Pilgrim Hospital for CT scan analysis. Dr. Maura Isles, on of those in attendance, soon realizes something is amiss. The corpse within has a modern dental filling and a bullet in her leg.

The mummy is transferred to the morgue and the case assigned to Det. Jane Rizzoli. When a second, then third corpse that has been transformed into the appearance of an ancient artifact the police realize something is out of sync with archeologist Joesphine Pulcillo, working at the museum and the focus of the artifacts.

There is a blurb on the back cover of the book which says "...likely to keep you reading into the wee hours..." Well, it certainly did that. I should know by now that a book by Gerritsen is one I have to finish the same day I start it.

She know how to hook you in, take you down a very twisty road, build the suspense and keep you going to the very last sentence. Gerritsen's medical background was in evidence through the details of ancient forms of mummification offset by present-day forensic methods. I also enjoyed the historical and archeological information, both of those being fascinating to me.

The characters are interesting and fully developed. Jane Rizzola is a tough New Yorker, married and a mother; Maura Iles is refined, elegant and in a hopeless relationship. A common theme among the characters was self-delusion--wanting what you can't have. This theme was well-played in the story with a subtlety that offset the violence. Her dialogue and sense of place supported this theme.

Gerritsen is a very good writer and always a sleepless pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On your toes, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keepsake (Hardcover)
I love the Jane Rizolli series by Tess Gerristen, and she has not failed us with this next book. Not one of her best about the mummies, but still keeps you on your toes. a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gerritsen, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Peter Joiner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Keepsake (Audio CD)
A great story line, typical Rizzoli and Isles adventure with an Egyptian twist. Story flows well throughout and is full of the usual twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Keepsake by Tess Gerritsen (Rizzoli & Isles), 19 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not read it yet as I am saving it for my holidays but I have given it 5 stars because I have read all the Rizzoli & Isles books by Tess Gerritsen and have loved them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Keepsake, 8 Nov 2009
By 
C. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very disappointed to find that this book is the exact copy of the one called Keeping The Dead - bought both thinking there were new books by Tess Gerritsen but this is not the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf4535a0)

This product

The Keepsake
The Keepsake by Tess Gerritsen (Hardcover - 9 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews