Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 blue ribbon Romance Junkies review
Arabella and her sisters have worked hard to make a life for themselves since their parents' arranged marriage ended in a scandal that left the girls ostracized from society. They run and teach at their finishing school for young ladies. None of them have any desire to enter into a marriage like their parents had and are perfectly content to remain spinsters;...
Published on 1 Feb 2008 by C. Dionne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not convinced
This book is extremely slow and predictable as well as painfully repetitive.
Main hero is way too perfect for my liking and his love interest
frustratingly annoying almost throughout the whole story ( which makes you want to slap her senseless!.
I will certainly not be attempting another one of Nicole Jordan's books!
Published on 14 Jan 2009 by K


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 blue ribbon Romance Junkies review, 1 Feb 2008
By 
C. Dionne "Chrissy Dionne" (Cloverdale, OREGON USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To Pleasure a Lady: A Novel (Courtship Wars) (Mass Market Paperback)
Arabella and her sisters have worked hard to make a life for themselves since their parents' arranged marriage ended in a scandal that left the girls ostracized from society. They run and teach at their finishing school for young ladies. None of them have any desire to enter into a marriage like their parents had and are perfectly content to remain spinsters; unfortunately their new guardian has other plans for them. He intends to fulfill his obligation and find them each a suitable husband - he just hadn't counted on Arabella turning out to be such a worthy opponent - or such an enchanting one.

Marcus Pierce, the new Earl of Danvers, is well aware that finding the Loring sisters' spouses isn't going to be an easy task. He hasn't even met them yet and already he's butting heads with the eldest, Arabella. She insists that he release them from his guardianship and allow them to take care of themselves - like they've done for years. He has no intention of honoring her request, after all they are his responsibility and he does not shirk his duties.

Marcus isn't sure where he'll find suitable spouses for Arabella, Roslyn and Lillian. It would be very helpful if his friends and fellow escapees from the Marriage Mart, Andrew and Drew would be agreeable to consider marriage. He's having no luck convincing them to change their minds and certainly isn't about to get leg shackled himself. However, an unexpected appearance in his home by none other than the obstinate Arabella has him reconsidering his position. No woman has ever excited him the way Arabella does but she's determined not to marry and no amount of reasoning on Marcus's part is going to convince her otherwise.

Marcus is determined to persuade her to his way of thinking and so he issues a challenge. For two weeks he'll court Arabella and try to get her to accept his proposal. If he doesn't succeed then he'll release the sisters from his guardianship. Marcus isn't above using every technique in his sensual arsenal to show Arabella exactly what she'll be missing if she insists on remaining a spinster and he's very skilled in ways TO PLEASURE A LADY.

I just spent the whole day immersed in this story and don't regret a single second of the time I spent reading. TO PLEASURE A LADY beautifully showcases Nicole Jordan's talent as a writer. Readers will find themselves craving Marcus's seductive techniques, laughing at Arabella's attempts at evasion, and even gasping at the unladylike audacity of one of the students Arabella teaches. This book has so many enchanting characteristics that I simply didn't want to put it down and leave my `newfound friends.' TO PLEASURE A LADY is a book sure to be treasured by Regency romance lovers and a wonderful first book to what promises to be a delightful series.

Be sure to pick up copies of the next two books in the COURTSHIP WARS trilogy - TO BED A BEAUTY and TO SEDUCE A BRIDE which will consecutively available in March and April 2008.

Chrissy Dionne (courtesy of Romance Junkies)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To Pleasure a Lady, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an enjoyable read from a lesser known name in historical romance, and I am glad I found it. Quite an unadventurous storyline, Rake inherits title, along with title comes 3 beautiful unmarried wards, wards don't wish to marry. Rake senses challenge, enters into wager with eldest ward, falls in lust, problem in shape of ex-mistress, problem fixed, fall in love, happy ever after. However Nicole Jordan manages to take this story line, and keep it fresh and engaging and funny, so that as her reader I really wanted to read on. Marcus and Arabella were believable characters, both with endearing flaws and vices, and their relationship was at once fiery and passionate, and protective and loving. Arabella's school for girls was an interesting touch, though it did remind me a bit of Sabrina Jeffries' School for heiresses series (Never Seduce A Scoundrel (The School for Heiresses Series)), but only because they both have the same twist of eligible ladies working and independent through a unconventional school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not convinced, 14 Jan 2009
This review is from: To Pleasure a Lady: A Novel (Courtship Wars) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is extremely slow and predictable as well as painfully repetitive.
Main hero is way too perfect for my liking and his love interest
frustratingly annoying almost throughout the whole story ( which makes you want to slap her senseless!.
I will certainly not be attempting another one of Nicole Jordan's books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great first story. Eager to read the rest., 20 Nov 2012
This is the first in the Courtship Wars series with Danvers and Arabella.

Arabella is the eldest of the Loring sisters at 23. They are now looked down upon in society, for their parents' scandulous behaviours. To make ends meet, they own a school to teach young women how to be ladies. They are now resolute that because of their situations, nobody will marry them. Enter their new guardian, Marcus Pierce, the baron now turned Earl of Danvers. He's now inherited their responsibility from their cruel uncle, and wishes to find them husbands. But the Loring sisters aren't willing to make things easy for him. Arabella demands that he leaves them alone, but Danvers refuses. He considers marrying them off to his bachelor friends, Andrew 'Drew' Moncrief, the Duke of Arden and Heath, the Marquess of Claybourne, but neither want a wife. He doesn't want to get married either, although the more time he spends battling Arabella, the more he's attracted to her. So they make a deal. For the next two weeks, Danvers will court Arabella. If she doesn't fall for him, he will leave her and her sisters alone. But if she does, she must marry him.

Over the fortnight, Arabella tries to ignore her growing attraction to Danvers and tries to escape any private time with him. But soon, they get closer and give in to each other, despite her continual unwillingness to marry him. She's been hurt after the failure of her own parents arranged marriage, and worries history will repeat itself. But Danvers has fallen in love with Arabella, and has no intention of giving up. Can he persuade her to be with him?

Overall, the book was excellent. It was great seeing their story unfold, and watching them fall for each other, despite their own issues getting in the way. This is the first I've read by Nicole Jordan, and I've already moved onto book 2 with Moncrief and Roslyn, the middle Loring sister.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Smug and submissive, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second book I have read by this author and it didn't encourage me to read any more. The hero, Marcus, was smug throughout and never really challenged by Arabella. She was supposedly an expert on propriety but didn't think twice about giving up her virginity and jumping into bed with Marcus! I prefer my heroines to at least make their heroes slay a few dragons before willingly surrendering to them, Arabella more or less rolled over and begged! Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicole never fails, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story of the three sisters begins and I look forward to reading about the other two. More of the same please Nicole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great first story. Eager to read the rest., 18 Nov 2012
This review is from: To Pleasure a Lady: A Novel (Courtship Wars) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first in the Courtship Wars series with Danvers and Arabella.

Arabella is the eldest of the Loring sisters at 23. They are now looked down upon in society, for their parents' scandulous behaviours. To make ends meet, they own a school to teach young women how to be ladies. They are now resolute that because of their situations, nobody will marry them. Enter their new guardian, Marcus Pierce, the baron now turned Earl of Danvers. He's now inherited their responsibility from their cruel uncle, and wishes to find them husbands. But the Loring sisters aren't willing to make things easy for him. Arabella demands that he leaves them alone, but Danvers refuses. He considers marrying them off to his bachelor friends, Andrew 'Drew' Moncrief, the Duke of Arden and Heath Griffin, the Marquess of Claybourne, but neither want a wife. He doesn't want to get married either, although the more time he spends battling Arabella, the more he's attracted to her. So they make a deal. For the next two weeks, Danvers will court Arabella. If she doesn't fall for him, he will leave her and her sisters alone. But if she does, she must marry him.

Over the fortnight, Arabella tries to ignore her growing attraction to Danvers and tries to escape any private time with him. But soon, they get closer and give in to each other, despite her continual unwillingness to marry him. She's been hurt after the failure of her own parents arranged marriage, and worries history will repeat itself. But Danvers has fallen in love with Arabella, and has no intention of giving up. Can he persuade her to be with him?

Overall, the book was excellent. It was great seeing their story unfold, and watching them fall for each other, despite their own issues getting in the way. This is the first I've read by Nicole Jordan, and I've already moved onto book 2 with Moncrief and Roslyn, the middle Loring sister.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read!!, 18 July 2012
Im hooked what an immensley wonderful book, i look forward to the next one, thanx Nicole Jordan such a pleasure cant wait for my next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 4 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Pleasure a Lady: A Novel (Courtship Wars) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love Regency novels and have read literally hundreds, but I couldn't even be bothered to finish this one. I think the author needs to read a few Georgette Heyers to discover real romantic writing. Ms Jordan's epistle will be going down the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Auful., 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been avidly reading regency novels for the past year. I could hardly finish this, it was like a modern story, very boring, I think the wore I have read... I wouldn't recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Pleasure a Lady: A Novel (Courtship Wars)
To Pleasure a Lady: A Novel (Courtship Wars) by Nicole Jordan (Mass Market Paperback - 29 Jan 2008)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews