Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enter the Shadow Kingdom
Less well known than Conan, and sometimes dismissed as a mere precursor to it, Kull is a great character in his own right, as is his companion, the Pict Brule the Spear Slayer.

These stories have a very different tone to the Conan ones. Set before the Hyborian Age, when Atlantis still existed, it takes place in Valusia, where Kull has become king. The world...
Published on 14 Dec 2011 by Jason

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My Songs Are Nails for a King's Coffin
I thought this book was a good read but not exceptional until I read "By this axe I rule!" There was something about his description of the poet Ridondo "a tall, wiry man in the garb of a jester, whose flaming blue eyes flared with a light not wholly sane" which made me think "whoa". This at least is a (bone) cracking story. Also more than...
Published on 31 Aug 2000 by Chorizo D'Horreur


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My Songs Are Nails for a King's Coffin, 31 Aug 2000
This review is from: Kull (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this book was a good read but not exceptional until I read "By this axe I rule!" There was something about his description of the poet Ridondo "a tall, wiry man in the garb of a jester, whose flaming blue eyes flared with a light not wholly sane" which made me think "whoa". This at least is a (bone) cracking story. Also more than worthy of note is the poem "The King and the Oak". It's a dark and captivating piece. Overall I don't think Kull is any Conan, he is not as complex a character, he has no love of language or women, he has the strength of an ox and alas the brain of one too. Kull is more of a hack and slay barbarian than Conan would ever be. Granted many Kull stories were re-written as Conan tales, but in my view they were improved on the way. The rich and mysterious world Howard weaves in the Conan stories is only glimpsed in Kull. Yet this is still good stuff and I loved the curse of the golden skull, a fitting end to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enter the Shadow Kingdom, 14 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kull: Exile of Atlantis (Paperback)
Less well known than Conan, and sometimes dismissed as a mere precursor to it, Kull is a great character in his own right, as is his companion, the Pict Brule the Spear Slayer.

These stories have a very different tone to the Conan ones. Set before the Hyborian Age, when Atlantis still existed, it takes place in Valusia, where Kull has become king. The world itself seems more strange, there are no recognisable continents, and there are hints of Deep Time before humanity evolved throughout.

Like Conan, Kull is a barbarian, and 'primitive' virtues are favoured over civilised decadence. Unlike Conan, Kull and his Pictish allies are actively defending the civilised kingdom of Valusia against threats internal and external.

The stories also have a more contemplative, philosophical tone then the Conan ones, with Kull being wracked by uncertainty and doubt. In many ways his real descendant is not Conan but Elric of Melnibone.

My only criticism is that there are not enough of Kull stories. Reception at the time was lukewarm, and the character was forgotten when Conan became a success.

One final comment, the artwork by Justin Sweet in this volume is excellent, very evocative and brings to life Kull and the world he inhabits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the beginning there was Robert E Howard, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: Kull: Exile of Atlantis (Paperback)
If you have ever wondered where writers get there inspiration from, then the answer as far as the Sword and Sorcery goes has to be Robrert E howard. He set the standard that so many have strived to reach over the years with varying degrees of success.

Howard's writing is concise and electric, he sets a scene quickly without too much boring preamble and once set, the action or suspense keeps you reading to the end of the story.

This collection is a wonderful introduction to Howard's writing and indeed the whole genre of Sword and Sorcery. When you consider how long ago these tales were originally printed they still hold their own against more modern works.

THE MASTER LIVES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy tales of a world long-dead., 17 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Kull (Mass Market Paperback)
Kull is far more thoughtful than Howard's other heroes such as Conan, but his tales are no less effective for it. The way Howard draws his characters, their world and their dialogue has amazing power to draw the reader into the world, until you feel you are actually watching the events unfold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kull, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kull: Exile of Atlantis (Paperback)
I really loved the first story The shadow kingdom, but others weren't so good. It felt that Kull is just a draf,a sketch, rather tha fully fledged character. I would recomend it to a lovers of Howard, but not much anybody else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaze into The Mirrors of Tuzun Thune, 28 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Kull (Mass Market Paperback)
Conan of Aquilonia is Kull of Valusia. Robert E. Howard wrote twenty-four Conan stories of which only fourteen were published during his lifetime. Before Conan, there was Kull. I invite you to return to the Antedeluvian Age, the time before the Great Flood, when Atlantis was real and the early kingdoms, like Volusia, were real and ruled by none other than Kull the Atlantean. The Nemedian Chronicles mention Atlantis and Kull. Robert E. Howard found them and based his ten Kull stories on them. The story By This Axe I Rule tells of an assassination attmept on King Kull. Two years later, Howard rewrote it as the Conan story The Phoenix on the Sword.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soon to be a major motion picture!!!, 22 July 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Kull (Mass Market Paperback)
Hollywood coulnd not resist a story this good for very long. All of the elements that made Conan great come into play in this group of tales about a usurper King who rules with wisdom and a resolve of iron. Contains all of the sword and scorcery you would expect from Howard. You must read this before Kevin Szorbo (TV's Hercules) puts his own spin on the tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kull The Conquerer returns again?, 11 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kull (Mass Market Paperback)
I first encountered Kull as part of the Conan phenimon back in the 1970's-forget all that rubbish hyped by comic fan boys at Wizard.It was not Wolerine or Iron Mans drinking or the return of the X-Men that rocked comics and the like-it was Conan-bar none,Forget MTV COMIC IDIOTS.Conan ruled the fantasy world at the time-predated Star Wars and kicked Marvel/DC superheroes asses.So along with Conan,came the Roy Thomas revised Red Sonja-not created by the likes of Frank Thornes as one web page claims,Solomon Kane and Kull.And thought Kull is a weaker Conan-KULL IS A MUST READ TO ALL Howard Fans and fantasy fans alike.I like Kull would love to see someone tell the tales of his pre-kings days,as I am sure Howard ment before being possessed by the Cimmerian.Kull lIVES.long live Kull the Conqueror.Kull the Destroyer.This is my spector-By this AXE I rule,By Valka and Hotath.Forget Kevin Sarbo-he's Hercules and Dylon Hunt.Kull lives here only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kull: Exile of Atlantis
Kull: Exile of Atlantis by Robert E Howard (Paperback - 15 Jan 2007)
10.23
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews