Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The tidy up has started, all those loose ends are starting to come together.
This felt like a much shorter story than the others, but it does finally clear up Flinx's parentage and set the stage for 'Flinx Transcendant', the end of the series. Its been a romping good yarn through all the books.
Published 19 months ago by J. E. Garrett

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Formula 1A Pip and Flinx novel
I'll start this review with an appeal: PLEASE DON'T BUY THIS BOOK UNLESS IT'S USED. Not that the writing changes but because some writers (Foster being the most blatant), needs to be hit in the head (or wallet) by an ACME-sized financial club before they stop milking their readers. I't is such a pity because mr. Foster is truly a gifted writer who in this book yet again...
Published on 21 Feb 2009 by BAT


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Formula 1A Pip and Flinx novel, 21 Feb 2009
By 
I'll start this review with an appeal: PLEASE DON'T BUY THIS BOOK UNLESS IT'S USED. Not that the writing changes but because some writers (Foster being the most blatant), needs to be hit in the head (or wallet) by an ACME-sized financial club before they stop milking their readers. I't is such a pity because mr. Foster is truly a gifted writer who in this book yet again has Flinx go off on a tangent rather than dealing with the mysterious evil that he is supposed to save the universe from. Not that the book is bad. It's just that is formula 1A. In Reunion Flinx traversed a desert and was disappointed he would die of something so ordinary as dehydration, in this book it's a frozen forest and he is disappointed he will die by something so ordinary as cold. In Sliding Scales he is hunted by insane fanatics, in this book by a sleazy bountyhunter working for the fanatics. And so on and so on... This book is still readable but you are better off buying Trouble Magnet or Sliding Scales - both are strong three-star or maybe even weak four-star books. Oh, and a note to the writer: You can save the universe and still publish more Flinx novels. By now that particular story plot cannot possibly boost sales, rather the opposite...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still readable, 25 Jan 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrimony (Pip & Flinx Adventures) (Hardcover)
I've followed the Pip and Flinx adventures since they began. I've actually found another series where the characters are pretty identical to these two. What a compliment to have your work copied.

Pip and Flinx have landed on the planet Gestalt. There they find a remarkably laid-back population. Flinx is still looking for his father and he believes that this is the place to look. As with all of the other books, Flinx and Pip experience life-threatening situations that hinder them in their search. At the same time they find helpers all along the road. The ending gives some sort of closure while ensuring that the reader understands that there will be further installments.

I like following the lives of characters I meet in books. This series is becoming a yawner (cannot stay awake). "Gestalt" is a well-written book. It's just that there are so many of the Pip and Flinx books. When is Flinx going to go hunting for the means of destroying the evil waiting to destroy mankind? Hopefully soon. This isn't Foster's best book. Still readable though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another filler, 12 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Julian Davis "Jules" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been reading the Pip & Flinx books for more years than I care to remember. The most recent books have tended towards the angst-ridden, with Flinx struggling to come to terms with his almost non-human status and the responsibilities thrust upon him. With this book Foster appears to want to show Flinx's vulnerabilities rather than his strengths and much of the book seems to be plot devices to make this clear, situations where Pip, Flinx's natural ability nor his special talents can protect him.

Once past this, it is a reasonable page turner just not one of the best in the series. It does however finally seem to move the plot forward towards the big threat we've had hanging over Flinx for the past few books. Hopefully after Quofum Foster and Flinx will be back to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The tidy up has started, all those loose ends are starting to come together., 6 Jan 2013
By 
J. E. Garrett "bookwormess" (Hereford U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This felt like a much shorter story than the others, but it does finally clear up Flinx's parentage and set the stage for 'Flinx Transcendant', the end of the series. Its been a romping good yarn through all the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pip&finx patrimony, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the adventures of pip&flix have kept me entertained for many years,alan dean foster writes great books, if you have not read his spell singer books please give them a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patrimomy (Pip & Flix Adventures), 27 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed as I have always done all of Flix books. I would have liked to have found out more about Flix parentage but I don't think we will ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Patrimony., 26 May 2009
By 
D. M. Ash (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patrimony (Pip & Flinx Adventures) (Hardcover)
PATRIMONY maintains the narrative of a young man out to save the galaxy but who would rather find out who his father is first! A product of genetic manipulation he is desperate to determine where he came from and how his Talent originated.
Tossed from one dangerous situation to another he endures until a slightly downbeat end. A desperate fan, I now await the next and last, book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great sci fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patrimony (Pip & Flinx Adventures)
Patrimony (Pip & Flinx Adventures) by Alan Dean Foster (Hardcover - 16 Oct 2007)
Used & New from: 0.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews