Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars You see... I liked it.
Ok, this may not be a popular review but I liked it. I know its not the normal high quality we've all come to know and love from Timothy Zahn but it was still a good read.
I liked the pretense of the Stormtroopers deciding to say "No" to evil acts and the consequences of choosing morals over orders, yeah they were a little under used but still a good device.
I...
Published on 6 Aug 2009 by Chris Sams

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not brilliant
This is not a bad "Star Wars" book. For that, you'll have to read "The Bounty Hunter Wars" Trilogy or "The Crystal Star." No, wait . . . you shouldn't. "Star Wars: Allegiance" is an okay sort of book, with a decent idea behind it, but unfortunately, the author tries to cram too much into it. Many different intertwined plot lines along with a LOT of the many main...
Published on 28 Dec 2007 by Beedo Sookcool


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but not brilliant, 28 Dec 2007
By 
Beedo Sookcool (Torbay, Devonshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars: Allegiance (Paperback)
This is not a bad "Star Wars" book. For that, you'll have to read "The Bounty Hunter Wars" Trilogy or "The Crystal Star." No, wait . . . you shouldn't. "Star Wars: Allegiance" is an okay sort of book, with a decent idea behind it, but unfortunately, the author tries to cram too much into it. Many different intertwined plot lines along with a LOT of the many main characters just missing meeting each other and grabbing the wrong end of the motivational stick make it resemble a French farce.

I can't speak for the rest of the fans, but as for myself, I'm getting tired of seeing novels centered around Luke, Han, and Leia all the time. By now, EVERY SINGLE SECOND OF THEIR LIVES FOR THIRTY YEARS STRAIGHT has been used up in one adventure or another. When do they get to sleep, fer Pete's sake? No, this started a step in the right direction by looking at some Empire-Era background characters with their own stories to tell. But unlike the unsurpassable Old-Republic-Era "Republic Commando" novels by Karen Traviss, you don't get to know the members of The Hand of Judgment very well. There is SOME character development there, but not enough, mainly because the many different plotlines don't allow for much time spent on any given group. As for the rest of the Imperials -- including Vader -- they seemed more or less incidental, with very little development. One or two stand out, the rest seem pretty standard cookie-cutter bad-guy types. Other reviewers have made their own points about character development and inconsistencies, and I'll let them speak for themselves, because I pretty much agree with them, and there's not much else I can add.

The book has several very good moments, though. The best for me was the cameo appearance of X-Wing Pilot Stacy, call sign: Pink Five. (It's a fan-film thing. What can I say? I like a little cheese now and again.) The idea of a bunch of rogue Stormtroopers setting out into the galaxy to right wrongs is an instantly appealing one, because who DOESN'T like those white-armoured goons? On the whole, "Star Wars: Allegiance" was a good idea that I think wasn't as executed as well as it could have been. But still worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Allegiance, Timothy Zahn, 20 Jun 2007
By 
Dr. Martin L. Thomas (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Allegiance (Hardcover)
This is a good read if you're a fan of Star Wars. The action is well paced and there is a nice little plot connecting the various groups of characters. On the down side I didn't feel that the main characters had a great deal of depth to them and as a consequence didn't feel particularly attached to them, with the exception of Zahn's creation Mara Jade. Whilst the story flows well and is enjoyable I personally feel Zahn has written much better. Allegiance just felt like a bit of a rushed job. However, if you love Star Wars, you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not up to standard, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read all but one of Timothy Zahns books and I can't help but feel he put in a lack lustre shift with this book. The plot is improbably intertwined and some of the main enemies lack a real depth of character. This coupled with the liberal exploitation of the force (see Luke's interaction with Ben and Mara's Yoda like control) just makes the book lack a sense of realism (in the sense of realism in the Star Wars universe). For years I have longed for a good book to be written from a stormtroopers perspective, and this fulfilled this a little - I liked the characters from the Hand of Judgement, but I'd like to see more from them while they were inside the Empire. I only persisted in reading this book out of loyalty to Zahns other books. If it had been written by anyone else I would have given up after about 5 chapters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You see... I liked it., 6 Aug 2009
This review is from: Allegiance (Star Wars (Del Rey)) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ok, this may not be a popular review but I liked it. I know its not the normal high quality we've all come to know and love from Timothy Zahn but it was still a good read.
I liked the pretense of the Stormtroopers deciding to say "No" to evil acts and the consequences of choosing morals over orders, yeah they were a little under used but still a good device.
I quite liked the fact that the main characters were underused. It meant that it was time for someone else to have a story and an input into the Starwars universe and there is always time to read about Mara Jade.
Personally i didn't find the plot to complex and interwoven and i liked the way it all came together.

Not the best Timothy Zahn but still Pretty damn good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It aint the 'Thrawn Trilogy' thats for sure!!!, 24 May 2008
This review is from: Allegiance (Star Wars (Del Rey)) (Mass Market Paperback)
As the previous reviewer stated, anyone who's enjoyed Timothy Zahns previous work will be left scratching their head in bewilderment.
I like many SW fans was thrilled with the Thrawn Trilogy and thought them most worthy of a place in the Star Wars galaxy. This offering however is sadly not.
The general premise sounded promising and I enjoyed the story of the Rogue stormtroopers, unfortunately that was as good as it got. Han grumbles his way through the story like a young Victor Meldrew clone and Luke has all the boyish charm and ability of a manaquin. That coupled with the fact Vader is made to look inept and Mara Jade is some sort of Jedi Master who is more powerful in this book than at any other stage in her life, made for a really sluggish read.
In the few pages she appeared, Leia was more like her true character but that did nothing to save the book.
In summary: A dissapointing offering from an author capable of so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Zahn's best, 9 Feb 2007
By 
V. Nilsen (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Allegiance (Hardcover)
Been a SW fan for what seems like ages, have read most of the expanded universe books, and have been an avid fan on Zahn's SW books since his first. However I was disappointed at Zahn in this case. The book is well worth the read, but it is not up to Zahn's earlier SW stories, not by a long shot.

I will not go into the plot to prevent spoilers, but the story just don't have the "rich" feel and the "just one more page" thrill of his earlier books.

Let me close by again pointing out that this is a fair SW book, written by anyone but Zahn and I'd have rated it higher, but IMHO it's not up to Zahn standards! (In a way the man is a victim to his earlier successes)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Thrawn books but well worth the effort, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Robert Hogg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegiance (Star Wars (Del Rey)) (Mass Market Paperback)
that might sound bad but it is a good and interesting book, considering it has to take into account well documented story lines, it does a really good job of expanding but not breaking the start wars story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD READ, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A welcome return to the Star Wars Galaxy. I am sure you will enjoy it, I did very much. ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Zahn book ever, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Ga THATCHER (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegiance (Star Wars (Del Rey)) (Mass Market Paperback)
A horrible book and certainly the worst Zahn has ever written. Not only is he ripping off scene's from his previous books and simply copy and pasting them in here, Leia gets a job as a waitress, Luke acts like a shallow fool with Obi-wan on ghost speed dial, before being left locked in a cupboard by Han and Darth Vader web-surfs on Google and pretty much acts out of character and get's pawned by an 18 year old girl. Yes all those things actually happened and are as bad I make them sound.

As for his own character well Mara despite being the best-est Imperial agent ever still seems just only go after pirates and for some reason have other Imperial officers try to kill her for absolutely no reason, except the author feeling he needs to try and introduce some excitement in an otherwise boring book. Long gone are the days when Zahn made this character really interesting with great development, now she is nothing more than a computer game cut out.

As for the Storm-trooper A-Team (who are wanted for a crime they did not commit !), well they do not act like Storm-troopers but then these are Zahn-troopers since they seem to be able to shoot straight and are able to survive multiple blaster shots. They also incredibly generic and you could switch the names around and still not tell the difference between any of them as characters.

As for the plot its a big mystery that starts off with pirates and leads too.... more pirates seriously that's it, all in all it's a terrible book and I am struggling to see how anyone could rate it so high especially when compared too Zahn's original trilogy which was great that great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A decent expansion of the time between Empire and Return, 10 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Braintree, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegiance (Star Wars (Del Rey)) (Mass Market Paperback)
I liked this, the story of the Stormtrooper squad deserting whilst still holding their sense of duty to the people and their oath to serve makes a very interesting read. The lines between good and bad blur and you sense the grey areas all military conflict throw up. Mara Jade's presence and her sense of morals despite being the Emperors Hand lays the foundation for her later growth, excellent stuff!

I like that these novels, along with the Republic Commando series take you out of the somewhat false Good guys/bad guys clean lines and immerse you in the humanity and moral issues that are there in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Allegiance (Star Wars (Del Rey))
Allegiance (Star Wars (Del Rey)) by Timothy Zahn (Mass Market Paperback - 26 Dec 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews