Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun....
This Sterling novel is great fun to read.

After reading Zeitgeist, Holy Fire, Heavy Weather and Visionary in Residence, I'd lost interest in Sterling.

He seemed to have forgotten the fun and adventure of Schismatrix, Difference Engine, Good Old Fashioned Future and Distraction.

I came across Zenith Angle and really enjoyed it. Sure, it...
Published on 30 May 2011 by N

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dry satire or dissapointing thriller?
I've struggled to describe why I don't like this book, and the best way I can describe it is to say that this book is like "Stephen King meets sci-fi." The writing is weak, and the characters are shallow. What I found particularly grating was the definite shift from the author's previous works with their vaguely counterculture characters to the straightlaced, flag...
Published on 28 Mar. 2005 by Michael Owen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dry satire or dissapointing thriller?, 28 Mar. 2005
By 
Michael Owen (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Zenith Angle (Hardcover)
I've struggled to describe why I don't like this book, and the best way I can describe it is to say that this book is like "Stephen King meets sci-fi." The writing is weak, and the characters are shallow. What I found particularly grating was the definite shift from the author's previous works with their vaguely counterculture characters to the straightlaced, flag salutin' ones of Zenith Angle. Here we have a "geek" who basically drops all his interest in cool technologies to become a fed, because by golly, it's the right thing to do. Hello, Tom Clancy.
If it had contained more humour, or been somewhat worse, I would have called it failed satire. As it is, it's simply an ordeal to read. It should have been released straight to pulp paperback with a cover showing the main character holding a baby with a rippling American flag in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sterling's only really un-brilliant book, 12 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zenith Angle (Mass Market Paperback)
Zenith Angle was perhaps cursed by being marketed as a post 911 novel when, typically, Sterling had already written the best of all post 911 novels, Zeitegeist *before* 911. Zenith Angle is a curiously unresolved book, neither thriller nor satire - if it was cinema you'd suspect that the director, studio, and writers had all been trying to make very different films. If you haven't read Sterling - perhaps the best living SF author - before start with Schismatrix (avantegarde punk space opera) or Zeitegeist (politics and deconstructionism) or Distraction (truly literary SF)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless, dumb plot with a few geek references thrown in., 24 Aug. 2005
By 
K. Hartnett (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zenith Angle (Mass Market Paperback)
I was very disapppointed by this book - as a bit of a geek myself, I figured I was right in the target audience for this tale of geek heroics, but frankly it never really took off and towards the end just collapsed completely with all sorts of crap about turning spam emails into lasers and the like. I guess that was meant to be funny, but it was really just dumb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Geek humour and 7/11 do not mix..., 4 Aug. 2011
By 
A. J. Poulter "AP" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Zenith Angle (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a disappointing book. The author has always had the knack of channeling the future and this power does not desert him here. Set in the fall out of the dot.com boom, Derek 'Van' Vandevere and his long-suffering, long-distance wife Dottie are both geeks. Dottie is an astronomer while Van is an all round technical genius, inventing the concept of the secure network at one point and later in the novel he solves all the technical problems plaguing the latest American spy satellite. Just about every paragraph raises a smile with a punchline of a technical in-joke. The bureaucrats, business tycoons and military men are all seen as power-hungry buffons. The humour/satire is what makes this book.

What unmakes it are two other elements. One is a minor secondary thriller theme about a revolutionary rifle, which one of the dunderhead hardmen Van encounters gets involved with. This seems superfluous. The second is that the novel opens with the fall of the towers on 7/11. Humour and horror simply do not work together here. What tries to be a "Catch 22" for techies is fatally blighted by an atrocity carried out using nothing more sophisticated than wire cutters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun...., 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zenith Angle (Mass Market Paperback)
This Sterling novel is great fun to read.

After reading Zeitgeist, Holy Fire, Heavy Weather and Visionary in Residence, I'd lost interest in Sterling.

He seemed to have forgotten the fun and adventure of Schismatrix, Difference Engine, Good Old Fashioned Future and Distraction.

I came across Zenith Angle and really enjoyed it. Sure, it won't be everyone's favourite. Personally, I loved the absurdity of it all. The hyperbolic cyber-warrior; confused and directionless, but feared and respected regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seriously disappointing, 1 Aug. 2012
By 
R. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Zenith Angle (Mass Market Paperback)
Really, this is unbelievably bad writing from an otherwise excellent SF writer. The plot starts out quite well, but it seems like he got bored after the 1st chapter and let a 10 year old boy finish it off. The charecterisations are so weak and the subsequent plot (if you can really call it a plot) is just ... so hopeless its almost laughable. slave your money and time and buy one of his earlier books. Really Bruce. Why did you bother?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Zenith Angle
The Zenith Angle by Bruce Sterling (Mass Market Paperback - 1 April 2005)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews