Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2003
I've read a lot of movie and TV tie-ins in my time, and this is a good one! With the world of the X-Men being so large after all these years, it's obviously hard to get all the history and development of the characters into the movie itself.
But this novel adds all the character development that the movie was unable to due to time constraints, and for die-hard X-fans, has some lovely little knowing nods to the great Marvel canon. So for all those who wanted a little more on Nightcrawler, Mystique, Jason and the rest - read this.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2003
Normally, I'm not a big fan of novelisations. I tend to steer clear of them because they suffer from lack of substance. But this one's a little different. For a start, it's always interesting to read the extra little bits that were in the original screenplay, but dropped from the movie during production. But mostly *gasp..shock horror* this novel actually fleshes out the plot, the characters, and the action. This is a book written by someone who has absorbed the whole X-Men universe and is not afraid to use it. If you're an X-fan, you'll love the knowing little nods to other events/characters in the Marvel universe - and even if you're not, it's still well written and well worth the effort.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2003
With returning characters, Wolverine, Cyclops, Jean Grey, Storm, Rogue, Professor Xavier, Mistique and Magneto, aswell as new characters such as Nightcrawler, Ice-man and Pyro. The X-men battle together to fight the new enemy, William Stryker. this book is a great novelisation of the film, it is by far one of the best books i have read this year. It has action, love, and ethics to consider. it also does very well in staying true to the comics. this is a book well worth a read!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
After watching the films I decided to read the books. These books are an easy read but good if you fancy delving into fantasy world for a few days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having really enjoyed X-Men 1, I was looking forward to its sequel but I do have to admit that I did find it a bit disappointing.
It does follow on from X-men, but if you have not seen the first one do not worry as it is very easy to pick. All the main characters are there Professor X, Wolverine, Storm etc, plus some very interesting new characters espically NightCrawler.
One of the main disappointments is the disapearance of Cylops in the first couple of chapters. He does not make an appearance again until the very end and as they were trying to build on the romance between Jean Gray, Wolverine and Cylops this is a bit of disapointment. Also the ending of the book is totally different from that of the Film, which I will not give away incase you have not seen the film.
Overall good story, but could do better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2003
I ordered this and it arrived the day the movie was out so i read it when i got back and its brilliant. It adds more depth to the movie as it focuses on some characters a little more and explains things in greater detail which i found very good.
It will spoil it if you havnt seen the film so i would advise you to read it afterwards. Also the ending is VERY different to the film but overall this is a must buy for X-men fans casual or die-hard. The writing is of a very high quality.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2003
I ordered this and it arrived the day the movie was out so i read it when i got back and its brilliant. It adds more depth to the movie as it focuses on some characters a little more and explains things in greater detail which i found very good.
It will spoil it if you havnt seen the film so i would advise you to read it afterwards. Also the ending is VERY different to the film but overall this is a must buy for X-men fans casual or die-hard. The writing is of a very high quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2003
For those of you who may have read the Marvel graphic Novel, "God loves, Man kills" this may seem a little familiar. For those of you who saw the movie first then read the book. the endings are totally different i wont spoil it for you but it is worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2003
To start, it was action packed,taking you deeper into the movie,explaining what happens.It even contains scenes that are not even in the movie, especially the totally different ending,youll have to read it to find out what happens.I Wasnt really looking forward to reading it because of the 4oo+ pages, but when i did,i couldnt put it down, and i read it within a week.So this is a superb novel to an amazing movie sequel.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2009
I think that the product is pretty awesome and I'm enjoying it very much =)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.