Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good collection of stories from across the genre
For over a century time travel has remained one of the most enduring categories of science fiction. Authors such as Mark Twain and H. G. Wells established many of the ideas that were subsequently encapsulated in numerous stories that have entertained millions of readers. This anthology bring together eighteen stories from many of the giants of the field. Some, such as...
Published on 17 Nov 2007 by Mark Klobas

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price of Oranges!
As in most collections of short stories, there are good ones, bad ones, indifferent ones, and plain odd ones.

A time-travel addict, I managed to find some rewarding tales here, and my favourites were:

Henry Kuttner's "TIME LOCKER".

Jack Finney's "I'M SCARED", which contained interesting mini-tales within it.

Richard Matheson's...
Published on 29 Oct 2006 by Mr. John Frank Herbert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good collection of stories from across the genre, 17 Nov 2007
By 
Mark Klobas (Tempe, AZ, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century: Stories by Arthur C. Clarke, Jack Finney, Joe Haldeman, Ursula K. Le Guin, (Paperback)
For over a century time travel has remained one of the most enduring categories of science fiction. Authors such as Mark Twain and H. G. Wells established many of the ideas that were subsequently encapsulated in numerous stories that have entertained millions of readers. This anthology bring together eighteen stories from many of the giants of the field. Some, such as Theodore Sturgeon's 'Yesterday was Monday' and Ray Bradbury's 'A Sound of Thunder' are true classics, while others like Connie Wills's 'Fire Watch' are destined to join them as among the greatest stories of the genre.

With a collection like this, it is easy to criticize some of the selections. Many longtime readers will complain about the exclusion of a favorite tale or the inclusion of one that they do not like (my personal complaint is with the inclusion of Robert Silverberg's 'Sailing to Byzantium', which while one of the best novellas ever written is not really a time travel story per se). Yet it is hard to complain about the collection as a whole, which has a good balance of stories from different premises, authors, and stories. Fans of the genre will find much to enjoy in this book, while anyone seeking to learn what the field has to offer will be impressed with the imagination and the writing contained within these pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price of Oranges!, 29 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. John Frank Herbert (Greenwich, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century: Stories by Arthur C. Clarke, Jack Finney, Joe Haldeman, Ursula K. Le Guin, (Paperback)
As in most collections of short stories, there are good ones, bad ones, indifferent ones, and plain odd ones.

A time-travel addict, I managed to find some rewarding tales here, and my favourites were:

Henry Kuttner's "TIME LOCKER".

Jack Finney's "I'M SCARED", which contained interesting mini-tales within it.

Richard Matheson's "DEATH SHIP", where inevitability rears its ugly head.

R A Lafferty's "RAINBIRD" was riveting, showing us a man re-visiting himself in order to improve his life's goals and successes.

Robert Silverberg's "SAILING TO BYZANTIUM" takes us on a fascinating journey to the fiftieth century, where we marvel as ancient cities, long since dead, are resurrected for mere pleasure.

But far and away my favourite of them all is Nancy Kress's "THE PRICE OF ORANGES", where an interfering grandfather finds a suitable suitor for his granddaughter, kidnapping the hapless chap from fifty years in the past. The end result is a majestic belly-laughing piece of poetic justice.

But it's the park bench discussions between the grandfather and his old friend Manny which tickled me, and it was a real shame that the story had to come to an end.

So, all in all, eighteen stories, six - top notch, seven or eight - so-so, and about four that were just odd.

That's pretty good, so I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Tales of Time Travel, 5 Jun 2011
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century: Stories by Arthur C. Clarke, Jack Finney, Joe Haldeman, Ursula K. Le Guin, (Paperback)
I'm not sure I would pick the same 16 stories Harry Turtledove and Martin Greenburg did as my favorites from the twentieth century. But they have selected some very good ones to share with us. They hit the mark on an important feature of story collections, too--the introductions. Each intro in this anthology is a well-crafted balance between a brief author bio, overview of primary works, and a story set-up that whets expectations without spoiling. Nicely done!

The offerings are of two kinds: great stories and classic stories. While a few fall into both camps, the reader does get a sense that most were selected to fit only one category. The great stories speak for themselves, with interesting ideas, unexpected twists and memorable characters. The classic stories are sometimes less complex or polished, but have important places in the historical development of time travel fiction. They are the good-for-us vegetables to be eaten along with the tastier main course items.

My favorite two classics are:

Henry Kuttner's "Time Locker" has the feel of a mid-twentieth century detective story told from a criminal's viewpoint. Its mystery is complicated by an uncalibrated time machine in a nondescript piece of office furniture.

L. Sprague de Camp's "A Gun for Dinosaur" is one version of the now-cliché hunting expedition to the prehistoric past story. It's still an enjoyable trip, with one or two surprises for first-time readers.

My favorite two "great" stories:

Robert Silverberg's "Sailing to Byzantium" introduces us to a man from the 1980s who must cope with society tens of thousands of years in the future. We learn this new world along with him as he slowly discovers who and what is real. And what can be done about it.

Ursula K. Le Guin's "Fisherman of the Inland Sea" follows a man who gives up much in his quest for other worlds--and finds that his regrets both drive him forward and draw him backward. This is good writing, imaginative anthropology, and innovative technical speculation all in one. It's a good introduction to this talented author, in case you've been needing one.

The collection is highly recommended. Fans of good time travel shorts may also enjoy Time Twisters and Time Pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stories, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century: Stories by Arthur C. Clarke, Jack Finney, Joe Haldeman, Ursula K. Le Guin, (Paperback)
Quality time travel stories. For years I found I couldnt finish a novel and so started reading short stories instead. The older writers have a special quality that modern writers lack. This book is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Good Some Bad, 5 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century: Stories by Arthur C. Clarke, Jack Finney, Joe Haldeman, Ursula K. Le Guin, (Paperback)
Not what I was hoping for. I think I must have read all the great and good Time travel stories and took a punt on this which left me dissapointed overall. Some good stories and lots that were not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Time Travel Stroies, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century: Stories by Arthur C. Clarke, Jack Finney, Joe Haldeman, Ursula K. Le Guin, (Paperback)
The book is solely about stories connected with time travel. For myself I only found about 3 of the stories to my liking, although of course others may enjoy all or most of them. If you like the 'modern' type of science fiction then this book may well appeal to you. (This is of course only my perception of the book). If, however, like me, you prefer the older type of story such as The Time Machine, Forbidden Planet, War of the Worlds, then your opinion may be closer to mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best Stories?, 29 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. B. M. Phillipson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Time Travel Stories of the 20th Century: Stories by Arthur C. Clarke, Jack Finney, Joe Haldeman, Ursula K. Le Guin, (Paperback)
a range of stories that cover all aspects of time travel and quality of story. Some are very good others are disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews