Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRAVA!
Set in the year 1275. Lady Ariana of Clairmont had no idea of what she carried in the satchel. She only knew that the papers in the satchel were the ransom demanded for the life of her brother, Kenrick. Ariana was to leave England and deliver it to Kenrick's unknown enemies in Rouen France. However she would never have made it alive if she had not been rescued by Braedon...
Published on 23 Feb 2004 by Detra Fitch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Like-able and well-described characters, although the plot strains credibility in places (how come the Medieval characters don't all get freaked out and start screaming about witchcraft and the devil's work when the paranormal bits happen?). Overall a decent historical romance with a little bit of non-essential paranormal thrown in (the chalice is essentially a mcguffin).
Published 27 days ago by A-Canadian-in-London


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRAVA!, 23 Feb 2004
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heart of the Hunter (Mass Market Paperback)
Set in the year 1275. Lady Ariana of Clairmont had no idea of what she carried in the satchel. She only knew that the papers in the satchel were the ransom demanded for the life of her brother, Kenrick. Ariana was to leave England and deliver it to Kenrick's unknown enemies in Rouen France. However she would never have made it alive if she had not been rescued by Braedon le Chasseur, one known as The Hunter.
Braedon thought he had left the darkness behind eighteen months ago. But Ariana brought it back into his path once again.
Her brother knew of The Dragon Chalice. The chalice had been torn into four pieces, each with a priceless stone. The stones were purported to have powers beyond imagination. It was said that if those four stones were reunited the Dragon Chalice would become whole again and whoever held it would have all the powers. Kenrick had studied it thoroughly and wrote his findings down before he was taken.
Braedon would be forced to confront old and powerful enemies in a quest to locate a myth and rescue his lady's brother.
***** Author Tina St. John blends the Middle Ages, dark sorcery, and a bit of a fairy tale to make a novel of stunning intensity that it left me on the edge of my seat the entire time. It is the first book in this series, but did not leave me hanging. The book can stand alone as a story. However, I find myself eager to begin the next in this magical series! BRAVA, TINA ST.JOHN! BRAVA! *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heart of the Hunter, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is predominantly a historical romance with teasers of the paranormal genre inserted here and there.

The author has done a good job of writing about the two main characters, Arianna and Braedon. It is a case of insta-lust on both sides but, of course, Arianna is a virgin and a lady so she would never act on such shameful feelings ... will she? The relationship as it progresses shows a building of trust and love which makes a nice change from insta-love.

There are enough open endings in this to make you want to continue with the series but to be honest, I'm not sure if I will. It was enjoyable but I'm just not sure if I found it compelling enough to continue. I would read more by this author though so it's not all bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Chalice Book 1, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It may have contributed to my enjoyment, as I bought all three books together, if there had been someway of telling which order they were meant to be read in.I like simple and a Book number on the appropriate book would be nice. This is well thought out trilogy of books. For the first-time paranormal romance reader it's a good one. The books (whilst being a series) share one consistant character "THE BAD GUY" and a small satellite of "GOOD GUYS". As Lara Adrian is one of my favoured authors she provided a good, believiable storyline. A fair amount of excitement and a few twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like-able and well-described characters, although the plot strains credibility in places (how come the Medieval characters don't all get freaked out and start screaming about witchcraft and the devil's work when the paranormal bits happen?). Overall a decent historical romance with a little bit of non-essential paranormal thrown in (the chalice is essentially a mcguffin).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant adventure !!, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book had me gripped all the way through. From the action to the romance all the way to the fantasy elements .I love the 'holy grail' undertones and the characters. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 27 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another quality book for Lara and I will be reading the rest of the series.I think you would get away with out doing so but it was exciting enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book could not put this book down the legend of the chalice, the characters kept me pinned to my kindle until the end. For those who love knights, magic and a well written medieval tails this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book with its many twists and turns the only negative comment I will make, was it really necessary to have explicit sex, The heroine was a sheltered virgin yet on the second time of having sex she was performing oral sex without instruction or encouragement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Now this is the kind of romance I like.

A gorgeous, if dark and tormented hero, strong and intelligent heroine (well fairly intelligent if a bit naive), plenty of action and adventure, a great storyline, fabulously vile baddie and not only a bit of steamy sex and some fantasy paranormal trickery but a hook for another few books without there being a nightmare of a cliffhanger in this first instalment.

Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb book that is easy to read and keeps the reader engrossed to continue reading. Enjoyed every minute of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heart of the Hunter
Heart of the Hunter by Tina St John (Mass Market Paperback - Jun 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews