Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first fantasy series!!
Ah the belgariad, i first read this many years ago (late 80s i think) and i was hooked. Even now i reread the whole series when i'm waiting for something new to come out. (like the new wheel of time)
Some reviewers say its not as complex or "adult" as the wheel of time and/or anything by Feist, this is quite true, but if it hadnt been for the belgariad i wouldnt have...
Published on 28 Nov 2004

versus
8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start to a mediocre series
The beginning of the Belgariad definitely makes for good reading. Most characters have an air of mystery about them that makes you desperately want to discover more. Especially the first instalment, the Pawn of Prophecy, promises a good fantasy epic.

But alas, the series can not make good that early promise. Unoriginal plotlines and predictable character...
Published on 11 May 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable if predictable read, 28 April 2005
By 
A. M. Archer "wolfgirl" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
don't get me wrong i loved the tale, an enjoyable read to pass the hours but with often sterotypical characters and predictable plot lines this is not some meaty epic which you have to fight your way through. A good and witty intoduction to fantasy for anyone begining in this genre or a nice easy read for long time fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start to a mediocre series, 11 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
The beginning of the Belgariad definitely makes for good reading. Most characters have an air of mystery about them that makes you desperately want to discover more. Especially the first instalment, the Pawn of Prophecy, promises a good fantasy epic.

But alas, the series can not make good that early promise. Unoriginal plotlines and predictable character developments spoil the later books. The greatest shortcoming of this series, and even more so of the next series, the Malloreon, is the gross escalation of the main characters’ magical powers. With the biggest assembly of the most powerful magicians of all time (and tooled up to the eyeballs with magical enery) plodding through the country side on some quest or other, new reasons need to be invented constantly why they can’t just bowl in and save the world in less than five pages flat. This also makes all characters without magical endowments seem rather useless and superfluous.
Nevertheless, the Belgariad can be recommended as an entertaining fantasy read, though surely not the classic epic that some people try to make it out as. However, should you read and enjoy it, do resist the temptation to follow it up with the Malloreon which is in parts more cringe-worthy than David Brent doing his Flash Dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good starter, but not great., 5 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
As so many others the Eddings books were some of the first I read after discovering Tolkien and fantasy in general. They are easy to read, the storyline is fast evolving and most of the characters are - well - nice.
But it isn't fantasy at it highest!
The character development is nearly none-existing. I know they all improve in one ability, but it is so ... transparent. Everytime the group meet a new problem, one groupmember will have a special ability that will match that particular problem ... again it is transparent. Sometimes it is even boring.
That being said the stories still works and Belgarath is still one of my favourite characters in fantasy, but be warned - there is much better fantasy out there: Raymond Feist, George R.R. Martin, Robert Jordan, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting, yet missing the real point, 15 May 2005
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
David Eddings is an amazing creator. His characters have to be some of the best in the world of fantasy writing. Each character has his or her own personality, which is easy to remember becuase they are human. They live in their own communities, and have human relationships, and are easily loveable, despite the flaws that Eddings makes so obvious. This, in fact, is probably part of their charm.
Also, on the subject of amazing-ness, his story ideas are excellent. Or amazing. With a smidgen of Christian legends in there, and a lot of Lord of the Rings influence (let's not degrade Eddings for that, I don't think there're many fantasies which don't involve a quest and a naive questor anymore), his storyline and the general idea is great.
However, David Eddings cannot write. He is a creator. It may be safe to say that his wife, Leigh, is the writer. In his prequels, Polgara the Sorceress and Belgarath the Socerer, he adds his wife's name on the credits and admits that she was his co-writer. David Eddings, did you need your wife to write this book? Becuase yes, whilst your story ideas are genial, and your characters intense, the story lags in places, and the grammar drips with American slang just dying to be let out - as it is, in certain phrases such as 'lay down' and 'get gone.'
The story and the powerful characters deserve five stars. But two must be removed for the shoddy writing techniques. Maybe David Eddings should take up art. That way, he wouldn't have to worry about grammar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Start!, 30 Dec 2002
By 
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
heya all, this book IS the Book to start reading and be hooked on the Fantasy reading for years to come. It was the first book I started on and have not stopped, trust me its great. Im sure most readers have gone through the "just one more Chapter" problem, for manya times have gotten up in the morning with hardly any sleep because of fantasy books and it was this book that started it all, DAMN YOUUUU!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy Very Cheesy, 7 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit (Paperback)
I worry for Eddings if he thinks normal people can relate to any of the characters he creates. One minute they are hacking and slashing the next its "I love you Aunt Pol" "Yes I know Dear".....pass the sick bag. It is a shame as the background is quite good but you get the impression Eddings runs out of ideas halfway from A to B and has to fill the gap with an endless stream of drivel. Started reading Diamond Throne and GOD he goes it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Belgariad (Vol 1): Volume One: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews